SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3658 ( Misses' Dress & Top)

26 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern Many Looks Contest
Viewed 2116 times 
Reviewed by:marjoriekh
photo

 
 
About marjoriekhstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/28/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/11 10:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bebro said...
This is a terrific review. I just got this pattern, and know i will use many of your suggestions. Wish i had a lovely long neck!
5/11/13 4:26 PM
workinonit said...
fabulous effort. great dress. and what a patient family!
8/19/11 9:58 PM
cleverclogs said...
Lovely dresses- congratulations on winning the contest! I've made the top and like it but thought the dress would not suit my distinctly apple shape. After your very helpful review I will give it a go- possibly including your lovely draped belt.
8/18/11 8:31 AM
Coastal Connie said...
I love your belt/angled trim addition! it adds alot. I have to admit that I don't see the issue with the matching seams for your 1st dress...
8/13/11 7:17 PM
purplebouquet said...
Phantastic. You did an excellent job on all three (four?) versions. I particularly love the belt detailing on the cinnamon dress and was most amused to find out is was just a piece of fabric wrapped around. If you end up designing one very much like it, please post instructions. Just looking at the pattern envelope, I wouldn't have guessed the styles would sew up so flattering. You've inspired me for some of my fall and winter wardrobe.
8/12/11 9:04 PM
Sharon1952 said...
You deserve to win with these 3 stunning dresses. Congratulations.
8/12/11 7:04 PM
ggf2005 said...
AWESOME!!!!
8/12/11 1:58 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your dresses. I agree with the patience comment ;-). I have this pattern and have only made the top, but I'm definitely going to steal . . er, copy your belt idea - a nice touch. Thanks for a great review. Congratulations on the win!
8/11/11 11:38 AM
montanachic said...
I love this, your versions look so much better than the envelope! I want the navy one!!!!!!
8/9/11 10:04 AM
KaSchu said...
Thank you for a very detailed review. Your dresses are beautiful!
8/7/11 6:36 AM
whistlin dixie said...
I really like how different your dresses are from one another. By using different types of knits, and by adding different design elements, you were able to create three unique looks. Nice job!
8/6/11 3:44 PM
marjoriekh said...
Thank you so much for your kind comments, everybody! And a special recognition to those of you who slogged through the whole review! :)
8/4/11 10:46 PM
marieds said...
Your review inspires me to make my own dress! And I haven't tried that in many years! Thank you!
8/3/11 10:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your navy blue version. I can see this being a winter staple. Great job and wonderful review. Thanks for taking the time to share.
8/2/11 6:57 PM
Nursebennett said...
Wow! Elegant and fantastic job sewing. I'm determined to get fit, style and pattern/fabric marriage worked out to make such lovely garments. Thank you for the inspiration!
8/2/11 6:22 PM
ElizabethDee said...
These dresses look fantastic on you. You did such an amazing job on the fit, and each of your three three versions is distinctive and so beautiful.
8/2/11 4:34 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, great dresses!! The cinnamon wool one is awe-inspiring. And your review is also awe-inspiring -- you must have spent ages getting it this clear and thorough. :) Thanks!
8/2/11 11:01 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love, love, love those dresses! Nice, nice work on these!
8/2/11 8:24 AM
homewerk said...
Great job! You really captured the essence of this contest, achieving totally different looks with the same pattern view. I'm impressed and, being an apple, may have to give this 3-piece pattern a try.
8/1/11 3:00 PM
sew2little said...
You have achieved quite distinct looks with this becoming dress.
8/1/11 1:14 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful dresses! Each looks totally different...and you really put in some work on this project! Great job!
8/1/11 10:26 AM
Kim12469 said...
These are all great! I love this pattern on you.
8/1/11 7:01 AM
kremmer said...
Thank you for writing this review. I enjoyed reading it. You have made 3 wondeful dresses. Good luck in the competition. You are a very strong candidate!
8/1/11 4:25 AM
JillyBe said...
I would not have guessed these dresses came from that pattern! I would call them a vast improvement over the envelope pics - what a great job, & they all look SO good on you!
8/1/11 3:26 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Love the dresses! Great job :)
8/1/11 3:11 AM
Lori V said...
These are such beautiful dresses.
8/1/11 2:33 AM
Aroura said...
These are all just beautiful!!! I read the entire review, and I think the draped belt you made to cover your cutting mistake on your original wearable muslin is SUCH a great design element! If I ever get this KS pattern, I would incorporate that myself. I'm not sure I could make all those fitting changes you made (what patience!), but these are so beautiful, I'm willing to try!!
8/1/11 1:03 AM
Immelu said...
wow, i love all of them. I need to get this pattern!
7/31/11 11:24 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Your versions are very cute! Well done!
7/31/11 11:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2401

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review
Simplicity 2584

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now