SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2489 (Misses' Bra and Boxer Shorts)

15 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern Many Looks Contest
Viewed 931 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/11 4:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bananaoil said...
Thanks for the review. I'd like to know whether you can achieve really good comfort by making it yourself? I'm out of mine the minute I come through the door.
7/31/11 5:44 PM
Renren said...
Astonishing! I'm probably 2 yrs away from making something like this and I am in awe at your new bra collection.
7/31/11 6:14 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Sewing Buddy!! NOW you make bras... in Germany, eh!! You must be proud of your accomplishments. (Don't tell my DH we could save $$$ by sewing, OK!!) LOVE the red one the best, of course!! ;)
7/31/11 6:20 PM
treefrog said...
Wow! I'm so impressed! I love the embroidery on the red one.
7/31/11 7:11 PM
becca a said...
Wow! Terrific bras and fabulous review. I love your tutorial and explanations of each picture. You make bra-making look doable.
7/31/11 7:28 PM
Aroura said...
These are all amazing! I love them all, but have to agree the red one really stands out, though I also love the blue denim, blue with anchor buttons, and cream lace versions. I am very intrigued, and will keep this pattern in mind when I feel I have the skill to make my own bras. I also agree, I hate the comfort of most RTW bras, and would LOVE to make my own like yours, better fitting and more comfortable, and prettier!!
7/31/11 8:19 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Great review and pictures with commentary. So much to admire--the red with the embroidery, the blue/denim, the lacey white, the cross stitched etc.
7/31/11 8:40 PM
jannw said...
Great collection!! Love the interesting fabrics and the embellishments...what a fun project!
7/31/11 9:25 PM
marec said...
Off to investigate this pattern and see if I can make my own cotton bras. Thanks so much for the inspiration-your work is terrific.
8/1/11 0:55 AM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing. A highly original lingerie wardrobe, and a fine effort.
8/1/11 3:26 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all your kind comments! Yes, my favorites are the more decorated linen and ramie ones too. For some reason, the cotton ones didn't turn out as smooth. Perhaps starching them before sewing would help.

bananaoil, yes, I did get good comfort, as long as the elastic I used was wide enough (1cm or 3/8" is the width this pattern uses, and I would say that is a bare minimum, except maybe for an A cup size or smaller). Making these yourself does allow you to choose your own materials, so you would be able to use whatever fabric and elastic you would find most comfortable. Also, if you have a very large cup size and small band that's hard to find in RTW, or vice versa, making your own might be a way to get a better fitting size. The downside is, fitting is definitely a trial and error process and you might have to make several before you get one that really fits well.

becca, it's definitely doable -- most RTW seems to use only straight stitch, zigzag and three-step zigzag. The only thing they have that we don't is a machine to stamp out molded cups (like on T-shirt bras).

I just remembered, I have another few pics that show fitting the cup onto an existing RTW bra... will add those to the album.
8/1/11 8:04 AM

loti said...
Fabulous job, what a great selection of bras, the cross stitch detail was lovely... and the guipure.
8/1/11 9:21 AM
marjoriekh said...
Seven bras-- a real achievement! I love the embroidery and decorative stitching, and your fabric choices. Inspiring.
8/1/11 11:41 AM
Cuffs said...
Excellent review! I'm getting ready to attempt bra sewing, and this is just what I needed for inspiration. Very impressed with what you've accomplished here. Thank you!
8/1/11 12:02 PM
chicagochef said...
What a tour de force - beautiful work - I love the red one best. You added unique details to each one. I am really inspired.
8/1/11 8:43 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Oh my goodness! I'm totally awed. I was going to say how RTW your bras look, but really they are much prettier. And then there's your skill at fitting yourself! I can't imagine ever being able to sew a bra for myself, but if I did, I'd be bookmarking your review for your tips and for inspiration.
8/2/11 4:22 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW-WEE! You reall went to town with this pattern! I LOVE all your new bras, and you've provided us all with another GREAT review. :o)
8/2/11 4:47 PM
kremmer said...
Great review! You have done a fantastic job on all your bras. Well done!
8/3/11 0:21 AM
quixoticpixels said...
These are incredible!
8/3/11 2:00 PM
valkyrie01 said...
I am coming to this review abit late, having only recently become interested in bra-making.I have to say this is a tremendous effort, and what gorgeous results! you have really inspired me; i just ordered he pattern, and forgot that I had scrap embroidered red silk dupioni leftover that would make a divine bra! Thank you fro a very informative review, I have taken a lot of it to heart. fortunately I am pretty average in fitting but will make a muslin frst as you suggested. Again, they are gorgeous!
4/2/12 11:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5502

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now