SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1107 (MISSES' DRESS AND BELT)

Review submitted in Think Pink Contest
Viewed 2190 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/11 8:01 PM
Last Updated:11/2/11 11:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 39 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
78 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
I'm tired already just reading your efforts. Can't wait to see the finished product.
10/7/11 8:54 PM
sewtofit said...
Wow! The work included in this is dizzying. I'll leave this one to you. Good work so far.
10/10/11 10:46 AM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! This is intense! My shoulders are all knotted up just reading about it...kudos for taking on such a challenging project. I know it will be beautiful and can't wait to see it!
10/19/11 10:56 AM
Gail in Western WA said...
Nice! I love to get absorbed into a complicated project and make it the best I can, when I have the time to take to enjoy my perfectionist tendencies (I don't let them out of the box very often). This is just the kind of project it would happen on. I hope you are enjoying the process! I think the pull lines on the model garment is because the model herself isn't the same shape as the dress -- she probably has more sloping shoulders than the dress is designed for.
10/19/11 3:02 PM
redrockcity said...
Wow. I love this dress and I am looking forward to seeing your finished product!!
10/21/11 3:45 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks! It isn't really "hard" as much as really lots of work and time consuming. The actual sewing isn't bad - just lots and lots OF it. :-) I will be ever thankful when it is done:-)
10/26/11 7:25 PM
manola6176 said...
What a beautiful project !!!! But so much work ! I can't wait to see it finished ! Good Luck !
10/27/11 4:03 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I agree with what everyone else has said. I am wore out just looking through your pictures. Great tip on the bound buttonholes. Look forward to you modeling the finished dress. The shaped collar band is one I've never seen!
10/28/11 7:40 AM
lmg said...
Thank you for the great review. Lots of work but it will be beautiful. Can you see it as a floor length gown?
10/29/11 1:26 PM
Renren said...
I'm pullin' for ya', Terri!
10/29/11 5:08 PM
rozzybabe said...
You're a gutsy lady to have poured SO much work & detail into this dress, not to mention, you are very talented to boot! I've enjoyed all the stages of your review!
10/29/11 10:04 PM
Terri A said...
You are all really sweet! Thanks Ren- you are motivating me on! I am still working slavishly! Today I made the buttons and the belts... and there is a fine line between gutsy and insane I'm thinkin'! I don't know that I see it as a floor length gown, to answer (lmg)your question, because the buttons go all the way down the front. I would do something different with the buttons if I made it floor length. Really, I love the idea of this as a vintage short wedding dress. It would be really posh!
10/30/11 1:11 AM
Jacqui315 said...
I cannot wait to see this dress finished! Thank you for the amazing details.
10/30/11 8:08 PM
AbaDabaD00 said...
Oh my goodness, that is lovely!
10/31/11 8:13 PM
miausiau said...
Oh my, what an accomplishment! The color is lovely. It may look chic with a black jacket.
10/31/11 8:16 PM
Camerio said...
Thank you for you very detailed review. I have this pattern a looking forward to sew it. Sharing these pointers will help me a lot.
10/31/11 8:20 PM
jannw said...
You did it!!! It's beautiful!! and I love the buttons!!
10/31/11 8:24 PM
Renren said...
Oh, my goodness--perfection and artistry in one sweet package. Congratulations on finishing this masterpiece and on your Think Pink entry!
10/31/11 8:29 PM
Marge99 said...
Wow.
10/31/11 9:37 PM
Christas said...
An amazing masterpiece! You should be so proud of your work - impeccable & extremely beautiful!
10/31/11 11:14 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh my GOSH, Terri, I've never SEEN such a work of art! This qualifies as COUTURE. :o) I enjoyed reading about and seeing EVERY LITTLE DETAIL, and I can't WAIT to see it on you. :o) I hope I don't miss the update -- ha! As for a "long" review, don't ever apologize, because we all appreciate the time and effort it takes to post such a VERY HELPFUL review. :o)
11/1/11 0:17 AM
mesewlot said...
You have certainly put a lot of work into this dress, it is absolutely beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing the video for the fabric ball buttons, as I have been looking for a source to make these same buttons for two asian inspired tops that I made a while back~ I'm definitely gonna refer back to it. Great review, great work!
11/1/11 0:21 AM
pdiddly said...
can't say anything more than the others have said - wow .......beautiful and the time its taken phew.... thanks for the video for the buttons will give them a try.
11/1/11 6:15 AM
Fran G said...
Awesome! What a fabulous, informative review and gorgeous dress! I think you need to re-think your 'intermediate' sewing level and raise it a few notches.
11/1/11 6:53 AM
MichelleE said...
You did an absolutely stunning job on this dress. I made a Pamela Rolland dress a few months ago so I can appreciate the difficulty and amount of work it took. What a fabulous result, though. Bound buttonholes still frighten me, but I may give this dress a try. Can't wait to see it on!!
11/1/11 12:26 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, this was a tour de force... great work! I really love the color and accessories you chose, too. I wonder if that weird curving in the collar stand is so that it will curve down at CB, which seems to be happening on the model. Looks like Vogue might have had some problems with it, though.
11/1/11 1:53 PM
manola6176 said...
Thank you for the video. I just love the dress.
11/1/11 3:02 PM
jaeng said...
Amazing, love this pattern.
11/1/11 4:51 PM
Janiki said...
This is a wonderful dress. I've seldomly seen anything home sewn look this good. Well worth the effort you put into it.
11/1/11 4:53 PM
allycovey said...
exquisite dress I absolutely love it. The details are great
11/1/11 5:17 PM
Renren said...
Quite stunning--I hope she loves it and I'm sorry those darn shoulders weren't 100% to your satisfaction.
11/1/11 5:44 PM
Terri A said...
Yeah - I am a bit disappointed. I make a lot of dresses and I have never seen anything quite like how these shoulders act... so, i guess I wish it would have beena cheap simple dress that did this and not this one with all the hard work. I still like the dress and think the wrinkles can be ignored. I doubt most people would fixate on it the way sewists do.... anyway thanks bunches everyone who left a sweet comment. I appreciate it. I AM a little bummed, but happy it will be worn...
11/1/11 6:15 PM
Annette1 said...
I just got one question: WHAT WRINKLES? :O) Believe me, no one is going to be noticing any wrinkles. All we see is the beautiful fabric, figure, workmanship -- the whole package! :o)
11/1/11 7:16 PM
Vellela said...
Geat dress - I think yours looks better than the pattern photo. You have made a better fabric choice...great dress!
11/1/11 9:55 PM
JillyBe said...
Can I just not say much, because I'm too blown away? Your DD must be one of the best-dressed young women in town!
11/1/11 10:43 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress looks amazing on you. You did a great job. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/2/11 0:46 AM
CynthiaSue said...
it's almost vintage-like with the color and amazing detail. Amazing artistry. amazing talent.
11/2/11 1:02 AM
KathleenS said...
Um. How crazy is this pattern! However, well done - lovely dress. Most of all, congratulations on finishing!! :O
11/2/11 4:07 AM
a life in stitches said...
Admirable work, and hope the finished result is enjoyed. But it sounds a nightmare pattern and I think you are being generous with your rating! P.S. There is a super-simple diagram for making Chinese ball buttons (and frog fastenings) in my old faithfull Vogue Sewing Book. No need for videos. It was what we used years ago in the Zandra Rhodes studio.
11/2/11 6:42 AM
a life in stitches said...
PPS. sorry, just re-read my comment and realised I might sound rude about your video, which was actually a very thoughtful thing for you to take the trouble over - I expect it will help lots of people to make sense of the instructions!
11/2/11 6:49 AM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the helpful review. I saw a similar instruction about 'sew invisibly' to mark a foldline in V1054. Worked it out eventually, but why don't they just say 'mark line with basting" ? That pattern also has the itsy bitsy bound buttonholes which completely defeated me. I'll try your tip next time!
11/2/11 7:33 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh my goodness... Your dress is fabulous, actually remarkable, as it should be! Thanks for the review!
11/2/11 7:45 AM
DorothyK said...
A masterpiece!
11/2/11 11:07 AM
Aroura said...
That is absolutely amazing! I would never notice the wrinkles around the shoulders either. The rest of the dress has so much gorgeous detail, not to mention how pretty your daughter is in it, that who would be looking at shoulder wrinkles? You did an absolutely incredible job! And thanks for all the great tips on bound buttonholes. I have never made them, but hope to give one a try soon. Great review, and beautiful dress. :)
11/2/11 11:17 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
A Masterpiece Indeed! You've got my vote!
11/2/11 11:19 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
This dress is perfection! I love it and you should be so proud of yourself. It looks like a lot of love and work went into this project. Your DD is one lucky lady!
11/2/11 11:37 AM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful job. You put in a lot of work on this one and the results were worth it. Thanks for a very informative, detailed review.
11/2/11 11:40 AM
devviePuu said...
i think it is too fabulous for words...what a huge effort that paid off!
11/2/11 3:24 PM
Claverie said...
The end result is beautiful. I appreciate the thorough review, but sadly I'm not likely to put in that kind of effort. Be proud. It's a beautiful dress and looks great on. Your effort paid off.
11/2/11 7:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your efforts paid off to create such an impressively beautiful dress, Terri! I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the details you provided.
11/3/11 0:05 AM
dorothyann2 said...
Really lovely!
11/3/11 1:20 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
Your dress is beautiful, slow and steady wins the race!
11/3/11 7:50 AM
becca a said...
What an amazing dress! I have had this pattern for ages but it looks like so much work that it keeps getting shifted to the bottom of my to do list. Your version is stunning on your daughter. Thanks for the very detailed review.
11/3/11 8:13 AM
waltzqueen said...
As Claverie, I'm tired just from reading the review!! What an amazing amount of detail and just plain work to make this dress - which is gorgeous!!!!! Love the fabric, the pleats, the button holes and buttons - everything about this dress shouts quality, couture, hand work and lots of love.
11/3/11 1:23 PM
ggf2005 said...
absolutely amazing, something you would find in Neimans.
11/3/11 4:02 PM
noodlesew said...
I really love it! I want to sew one too. Thanks for sharing.
11/5/11 7:31 AM
petro said...
Chic dress! I like the inverted pleats in the skirt and the neat collar.
11/7/11 11:31 AM
fourkid said...
Very beautiful and congratulations on a well deserved win.
11/12/11 6:02 AM
sarah121haras said...
I have been waffling on whether or not I want this pattern but after seeing your version I absolutely must get it. This dress turned out to be very stunning! All of your hard work paid off.
11/12/11 9:26 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks all - wow... You are all so nice to leave these comments. I had a thought regarding the shoulder area. Thin shoulder pads might help with the excess at the shoulders. It's possible that the pattern was designed with shldr pads in mind and then they were ommited. I am going to try this and see. Anyway, thanks again everyone. I needed the motivation to finish on time:-)
11/12/11 11:37 PM
MissCelie said...
Beautiful!!
11/18/11 8:58 AM
purplebouquet said...
This is phantastic. After all your wonderful workmanship, I hope this dress makes you feel like a queen (or a million dollars) every time you put it on. Great idea to use water soluble sticky tape. Never heard of it--where do you get it? Please share. Enjoy your dress!!! Also many thanks for your detailed review, the photos and the tutorial of how to make fabric buttons.
11/21/11 10:54 AM
Terri A said...
Sorry - I meant any product like Wonder Tape. YOu can buy it at JoAnns or online. It is double sticky and then disappears when the garment is cleaned. It helps set anything too fiddly for pins :-)
11/21/11 4:06 PM
Silknmore said...
Absolutely a masterpiece, Terri. Your sewing level is well beyond "Intermediate"!
11/25/11 8:07 AM
Terri A said...
That's so nice of you - honestly though I feel that my experience level with sewing seems very limited. I would need to spend more years and do more varieties of projects before I would consider myself advanced. :-) But thanks for the vote of confidence!
11/25/11 7:08 PM
Phillis2 said...
Thank for the explicit step-by-step through this very advanced dress and also the buttons. I'm going to try them. You did a beautiful job. It'll be a garment to treasure for years to come.
11/29/11 10:14 PM
Fairclaire said...
The material is perfectly feminine and that blush shade looks like it was meant to be made into that specific dress! Well done!
12/20/11 11:27 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review. Outstanding work.
12/20/11 4:44 PM
ybdull said...
I've had this in my stash for a while, but the belt worries me. How did you do yours?
1/9/12 12:33 PM
Terri A said...
I had no desire to put that much yardage into a macrame belt. I purchased various pretty cords and cut several lengths of cord and braided them together with a normal braid. I made the loop by tying a knot in one end (three strands of cord) and then working the loose ends into the braid as I went so they were not visible. When I got to the end of my cords, I tied another knot to secure the ends of the belt. in this picture you can see I made one with a single cord, not braided, I made one with three cords and finally made one by sewing a loop on one end of a length of pre-made rosette ribbon - which was the easiest of all. Any way you do it will look pretty. Braiding is easier if you can hook the loop on something so you can pull and put a little tension on it as you braid... HTH Terri. Photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/perfecting-my-craft-by-a-thread/6293938230/in/set-72157627715665921 I will try to take another photo to add, but the belt was easy and I just made up how I wanted it...:-) The macrame belt looked hard, mainly because you had to sew and turn so many tubes for it... feet and feet of it! Here is a close-up of the belt. You can see the loop at one end and the knot at the end that hangs down: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7023/6669911601_f7e3b6cfed_o.jpg
1/9/12 6:29 PM
couturemom said...
Thanks for all of the info and photos. This is on my list of things to make, although I don't have fabric yet. I will definitely keep in mind the time required! And I will come back and watch the video on the buttons - thanks for that as well.
2/28/12 10:25 AM
salsera7 said...
You did a wonderful job and thanks for the detailed review. I want to make this dress as a top with matching slacks.
4/22/12 10:19 AM
Loverabbits said...
See the process is amazing! Was just wondering how long it took you from cutting out the paper pattern to finished dress. It is beautiful and the welt pockets and bound buttonholes look so neat. Your video on ball buttons are so much more easy to follow than some other videos on youtube.. LOL. Would you suggest to reduce the excess fabric at neckline and armhole instead of the wrinkle look?
5/5/12 11:53 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you and to answer - I worked on it during the contest month - however I did the bulk of it in the last two weeks. I think two weeks is adequate. If redrafting the top part to get rid of the excess fabric there - maybe three... The fine details are a bit time consuming:-) Thanks again! @salsera7, I also think this would be a cute top. Looking forward to seeing it.
5/7/12 0:11 AM
AmyLT said...
Beautiful dress. I'm tempted to try it, though it sounds so lengthy.
8/21/12 11:32 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! Gorgeous!!! Thank you for all the detail. Please don't apologize for giving us details!!! Very helpful - whether I ever make this or not. I DO have the pattern, and if I DO make it, I probably WON'T make a couture version. Heck I probably won't even line the thing as I live in AZ, and that would make it too hot!!
8/14/13 7:57 PM
dreamdesigner said...
PS: Where did you get your gorgeous fabric? and what did you use for lining? And how tall is your dd?
8/15/13 0:11 AM
Terri A said...
@dreamdesigner - thank you ;) I found the fabric at (I think) Fabricana in Canada, though I believe any good quality online peau de soie (not sure I spelled that right) of medium weight would be similar. My daughter is 5'11" ;) thus the need to lengthen as it's all in her legs... The lining was Bemberg because I felt it went well with this satin. I prefer a cotton lining in natural fabrics if possible though. Thanks again for your kind comments :)
8/15/13 1:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Contest Mini wardrobe Challenge

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now