Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 3138 (Tank Leotard and Biketard) thumbsup - Type:Activewear
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 376 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JEF
photo
Friend of PR
About JEFstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/11 7:52 PM
Last Updated:10/18/11 7:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Activewear    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia C said...
Very nice & your daughter looks very happy with the new leotards.
10/18/11 9:47 PM
jenleeC said...
I have never been game to tackle leotards for fear of the 'homemade jane' look but yours are great! They fit her well and look very professional!
10/18/11 10:09 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Thanks for your quick review of this new Jalie pattern -- this leotard is on my sewing list for this week so glad to hear it does up quickly. Isn't the Jalie binding technique great? Your DD looks very happy with the results.
10/19/11 10:36 AM
kittykate said...
Excellent job and great review ! You beat me to it! It was lower down in my list anyway. Question, how do you think this would work with some of the very sway back girls without having a CB seam or at least a back V join?
10/19/11 2:04 PM
JEF said...
kittykate - except for having a little too much length (b/c of my sizing choice) the back looks great on my daughter...but she doesn't have a notable swayback.
10/20/11 9:33 PM
isakswings said...
Looks great! I need to figure out the binding thing. I have wanted to add it for contrast on a few skating dresses...
10/25/11 10:44 AM
pterion said...
Great looking leotards! Just ordered this pattern and it can't come too soon - my daughter has grown out of her old ones too!
11/8/11 1:05 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I just used this pattern, too. I like the band application. I had to recut them because I used fabric that wasn't stretchy enough. Nice job on dd's leos! I had 2 dd's in gymnastics and they let me know, very vocally, when their leotard needs were not being met :-)
12/11/11 6:21 PM
agympro said...
I am learning to sew leotards as my first sewing project- ever. Its quite the learning process. This is the pattern I bought. I don't understand the elastic though. It looks like they only tell you to put elastic in the leg area? All of the other leotards my daughter has have elastic around all of the opening- legs, arms, neck and back area. Is that correct?
8/17/12 12:31 PM
JEF said...
Yep, you're right. The neck and armholes just have binding. It works well...I think it's easier to sew and I have had no complaints from my gymnast.
8/18/12 9:25 AM
agympro said...
Ok, thanks!
8/19/12 1:30 AM
PeepSews said...
Thanks for the review! It boosted my confidence in trying to sew my first leotard. I had to choose between this and the Kwik Sew one, and I chose this one. I am excited about trying it!
10/4/12 11:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2004-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 1/6/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4136
photo
Review by DianaVodo on 4/20/11
Read Review

McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us