SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 3138 (Tank Leotard and Biketard)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 398 times 
Reviewed by:JEF
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JEFstarstarstar
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews: 107 (patterns: 99)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/11 7:52 PM
Last Updated:10/18/11 7:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Activewear    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.99 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PeepSews said... (10/4/12 11:45 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review! It boosted my confidence in trying to sew my first leotard. I had to choose between this and the Kwik Sew one, and I chose this one. I am excited about trying it!
agympro said... (8/19/12 1:30 AM) Reply
Ok, thanks!
JEF said... (8/18/12 9:25 AM) Reply
Yep, you're right. The neck and armholes just have binding. It works well...I think it's easier to sew and I have had no complaints from my gymnast.
agympro said... (8/17/12 12:31 PM) Reply
I am learning to sew leotards as my first sewing project- ever. Its quite the learning process. This is the pattern I bought. I don't understand the elastic though. It looks like they only tell you to put elastic in the leg area? All of the other leotards my daughter has have elastic around all of the opening- legs, arms, neck and back area. Is that correct?
Passion4Sewing said... (12/11/11 6:21 PM) Reply
I just used this pattern, too. I like the band application. I had to recut them because I used fabric that wasn't stretchy enough. Nice job on dd's leos! I had 2 dd's in gymnastics and they let me know, very vocally, when their leotard needs were not being met :-)
pterion said... (11/8/11 1:05 PM) Reply
Great looking leotards! Just ordered this pattern and it can't come too soon - my daughter has grown out of her old ones too!
isakswings said... (10/25/11 10:44 AM) Reply
Looks great! I need to figure out the binding thing. I have wanted to add it for contrast on a few skating dresses...
JEF said... (10/20/11 9:33 PM) Reply
kittykate - except for having a little too much length (b/c of my sizing choice) the back looks great on my daughter...but she doesn't have a notable swayback.
kittykate said... (10/19/11 2:04 PM) Reply
Excellent job and great review ! You beat me to it! It was lower down in my list anyway. Question, how do you think this would work with some of the very sway back girls without having a CB seam or at least a back V join?
SheBear0320 said... (10/19/11 10:36 AM) Reply
Thanks for your quick review of this new Jalie pattern -- this leotard is on my sewing list for this week so glad to hear it does up quickly. Isn't the Jalie binding technique great? Your DD looks very happy with the results.
jenleeC said... (10/18/11 10:09 PM) Reply
I have never been game to tackle leotards for fear of the 'homemade jane' look but yours are great! They fit her well and look very professional!
Julia C said... (10/18/11 9:47 PM) Reply
Very nice & your daughter looks very happy with the new leotards.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-119

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review
StyleArc Wallis Pant

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Towne Purse Paper Pattern

Towne Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Pattern Details