Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 22733 (Wraparound dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest    printable version
Viewed 243 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/25/11 9:59 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Looks very interesting--I think this is the one you showed us at Stash SAL. Is it possible to get the picassa link to the photo fixed so we can get a better look? Congratulations on completing your Think Pink! entry!
10/25/11 10:24 AM
Aroura said...
I agree, I'd love to see a bigger photo, I hope you get the link fixed! :) The thumbnail is intriguing though, the fabric looks very cool.
10/25/11 11:10 AM
MNBarb said...
I'd also like to see it in full-form. It looks like a great dress. It also seems like something that would work for a trip to the beach.
10/25/11 12:23 PM
kkkkaty said...
here's a link to the images: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-bU_2r1fYwHQ/TqXiUYbo1CI/AAAAAAAAHBw/zAX7PHI1v0k/s500/front1.jpg
10/25/11 1:39 PM
jannw said...
That does look very '20's to me..you did a great job and it does look fun to wear. Is your linen glazed or is that the lighting?
10/25/11 2:16 PM
treefrog said...
Lovely dress Margaret and as always a very extensive review. I like the way you added the back stay to counter the weight of the extra fabric on the front of the dress. I'd have never thought to do that. Excellent work all round!
10/25/11 4:17 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Check out this dress by Etna Maar, it works on the same concept of wrapping to the front: http://www.etnamaar.com/data/images/variations/content/174.jpg I saw this dress in a local store and copied it last week. I love the way it wraps to the front. Your dress looks great! If you think its too baggy, you might consider putting in a few darts as you mentioned and pulling in the rest with a belt.
10/25/11 5:17 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about the link -- I changed it and also added an https one in the review just in case removing the s has stopped working (or stops working in future). The linen isn't glazed -- it was just difficult to get good lighting without going outside, and it was too cold for that :) Arianamaniacs, thanks for linking the Etna Maar dress. I was afraid belting this dress wouldn't look good, but since it works on that one, maybe it would be fine on this one too. Were you able to look at the dress closely in the store? It looks like it wouldn't be too easy to copy otherwise!
10/26/11 4:38 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I'll post a review of my dress maybe tonight. It was so easy to copy, you'll see when I show how I cut mine out :) I'll send you a link to it
10/26/11 1:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Margaret!! So nice to see you "in the pink" ;D
10/26/11 4:01 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for adding the photos. They tell so much about the pattern. You were so clever with your back stay addition. I have to say the pattern envelope would lead you to believe this was an easy-sew, easy-wear dress and it doesn't appear to be either.
10/26/11 8:23 PM
Scheryka said...
Cute color and different concept. Good job.
10/27/11 4:15 PM
Terri A said...
How unique and interesting! Thanks for the review.
11/1/11 3:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
An intriguing project.
11/2/11 5:48 AM
fourkid said...
Very pretty and very interesting. I think that come summer you will be very happy you made it up.
11/2/11 7:31 PM
petro said...
Looks like the perfect dress for hot days, relaxed and easy, but with interesting styling.
11/7/11 11:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 8627
photo
Review by PatCSM on 6/29/10
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 72819-1000 TNT Slacks
photo
Review by CTBarb on 3/23/11
Read Review

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7264 Pattern
Burda 7264 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us