SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5611 (Misses's Shirt)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 365 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 230
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 227
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/11 9:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said...
Ooo, I just noticed how well the buttons match the fabric! Great job there!
11/12/11 9:38 PM
barebear said...
You did a great job matching the plaid! Too bad the top doesn't suit you, but hopefully you can get some wear out of it (or find someone who will?). It looks lovely in the picture!
11/12/11 9:38 PM
MidnightBleu said...
You did a really great job on this top--especially with the plaid. Sorry it didn't work out for you. On the up side, you know what doesn't work for you. Just as important as what does (maybe even more so).
11/8/11 11:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience. Your shirt looks nice enough for casual wear even if you are not very happy with it.
11/4/11 4:21 PM
Terri A said...
I like the tweaks you made to it. Nice top with lots of work you put into it - I am sorry it didn't work. It really does look so nicely made, especially with plaid.
11/4/11 3:55 PM
carolynw said...
Am sorry this does not work for you because it is a very nice looking shirt. I made it and agree with you on the length of the sleeve tab - way too long. I have very wimpy shoulders so I used shoulder pads in this (I usually have to) and it worked out fine - this be a fine work shirt when your weather gets hotter
11/4/11 10:35 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice job with the plaid... too bad it isn't a style that works well, but it's good it saved you from spending time on other similar patterns. Maybe it can be a useful work shirt, if nothing else?
11/4/11 7:34 AM
jannw said...
Learning how you feel about dropped shoulders probably made this project worthwhile...saved you from more mistakes...it will probably be nice to wear out in the paddock, if its a cool material!
11/3/11 10:14 PM
Renren said...
As I recall, you generally make a narrow shoulder adjustment. I also have narrow shoulders and it seems the dropped shoulders somehow emphasize that. Too bad this does not work for you because it's really well done. Other scary thing (for me) about this envelope front is the lack of a photo, just those artist illustrations. Well, it helps to figure out which categories work. Better luck with the next project!
11/3/11 9:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

McCall's 8525

photo
by: Graca

Review
Kwik Sew 3344

photo
by: megumi

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info