SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3407 (Misses Tops)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 255 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/11 1:01 AM
Last Updated:11/17/11 1:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said...
Well done Renren! Looks like you've done really well with the bindings. Could the armhole also be gaping because the armhole is too long - this is usually the problem for me?
11/17/11 2:07 AM
jannw said...
Great bindings!! Interesting solution to the underarm gaping problem..I usually just sew it in tighter..will have to consider yours for the next time. A very nice useful top! Shall we see lots more?
11/17/11 6:05 AM
Renren said...
treefrog, I think you are right about the armholes. I remember you always fold out some in the chest region (armhole to armhole) and that you also do a narrow shoulder adjustment. I forgot about those things as well as the high round and the forward shoulder. Next time I will try to incorporate them. Also, when I came off the lower part of the armhole, I jumped from an L to part way between an L and an XL and this would have added some additional width. So thanks for the reminder about the too long armhole. As a matter of fact, I did take up the shoulder seams by 5/8 inch to help lift up the armhole, but I couldn't take much more because I would lose needed length. I probably better add this to the review!
11/17/11 11:35 AM
Renren said...
jannw, I believe that's what two of the other reviewers did, too. The 3rd reviewer did not have trouble with any excess fabric there. The technique of sewing the binding snugly was offered in the comment. I think I just had too much excess fabric/gaping for the snug binding method to work. Yep, I'll definitely be sewing lots more. I'll keep refining the fit. This fabric is so sheer the top will probably end up being used as a camisole. Until the flash exposure I did not realize how sheer!
11/17/11 11:37 AM
Kayseri said...
A very useful looking tank, and the pattern looks like a great basic
11/17/11 6:56 PM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks for a very informative review. This is a great top to use as a shell or for workout attire. I'm still peaking and tweeking a pattern I have (#108) from Pamela's Patterns, trying to get that perfect fit for the tank top. I'll probably be making version 3 for the Fabric Stash contest since I'm so busy with Christmas gifts right now. Maybe I'll finally have a TNT in January.
11/17/11 10:56 PM
Margaret said...
Great review! This is a nice looking top and I hope future versions go well. If you decide to shorten the armhole in the pattern, you could also lengthen at the hem next time so you don't lose the length. Often I find KS tops are a bit shorter below the waist than I'd like.
11/18/11 6:06 AM
marykpfist said...
Very nice! Clever thoughts on the underarm seams, will have to try that. I think I actually have this pattern! (Running to check....)
11/30/11 6:46 PM
Terri A said...
Nice - the type of knit makes such a huge difference in the difficulty level of the pattern don't you think? You did a great job with yours.
11/30/11 9:05 PM
cerulean said...
Great job, Ren! You did a great job with the bindings! It will be a good summer top! I've had this pattern and I've been meaning to try it! Thanks for reviewing it!
7/30/12 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8582

photo
by: iSewQuiltA...

Review
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now