SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8217 

9 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 268 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
Friend of PR

About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 311 (patterns: 289)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/11 9:45 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Kayseri said... (1/3/12 3:35 PM) Reply
Great review and a nice result. I've got this pattern & a nice stripy knit for it; but your experience reminds me I WILL need to make a muslin.
MidnightBleu said... (11/17/11 10:19 AM) Reply
Love the top. Photos in your review were helpful to understand the alterations you made. Very detailed review is quite helpful.
Heatherrique said... (11/15/11 10:08 PM) Reply
What a sleek looking top, Margaret! Your attention to detail is admirable!
Margaret said... (11/15/11 8:08 AM) Reply
Thanks for all the nice comments! Vintage Joan, if you still wanted to raise the neckline, I think the best way might be to just add (an inch, or whatever amount) all the way along the diagonal edges of both fronts and the same amount to the back neckline (it's not high, so I think adding a bit there would be fine). If you wanted to raise the front neckline but not make the neckline narrower at the shoulders or higher at the back, you could make the addition angled rather than an even amount, and taper it to nothing at the shoulder, but keep in mind that the neckline would then not be on the straight crossgrain, unless you changed the grainline. You could also shorten on the L/S line printed on the pattern at mid-armhole, but again, you'd have to carefully true if you wanted the entire neckline to stay on the cross-grain. HTH!
ChristmasHills said... (11/15/11 1:46 AM) Reply
Thank you for all that effort in writing this review. I think your top looks very nice and is the nicest one I've seen of this pattern.
marec said... (11/14/11 7:34 PM) Reply
The very best review I have read recently!! I love the top and think it is very flattering. Thanks for an exhaustive review.
Rhonda in Montreal said... (11/14/11 6:14 PM) Reply
WOW!! You'd be a wonderful sewing prof, my DFF Margaret!!
FreyaStark said... (11/14/11 5:28 PM) Reply
Your perseverance and attention to detail is impressive, and the result is worth the effort.
Terri A said... (11/14/11 2:09 PM) Reply
What they said... and really great review!
Vintage Joan said... (11/14/11 12:53 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for this! It's very helpful. I have this pattern but wasn't sure how to raise the neckline. Your other adjustments are very helpful, too, especially the sleeve adjustment. :)
renren said... (11/14/11 10:59 AM) Reply
Yes, the neckline isn't as low as you would expect from the pattern photo. And yes, I like that there is an asymmetrical sleeve cap since that's just the way bodies are built. Thanks for your very detailed review--I know you could have another top almost sewn in the time it took to write a review like this! Oh, by the way, I like your top. Interesting pattern. I recognize the model from one of my early Burda pants patterns.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6210

by: grays08

Simplicity 9825

by: SewLibra

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Pattern Details