Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2921 (Scarf-Collar Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 570 times 97 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:11/20/11 5:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Love your top. Perfect fabric choice. I just made my 4th version of this top. It's a favorite of mine.
11/20/11 5:59 PM
Renren said...
I have not sewn it! I think yours is beautiful. Congrats on getting your new PR Day fabric sewn up so quickly. And right now there's a second review of this Jalie in the gallery--this pattern has got legs! Wonder if it will be a Best of for a 2nd year running (if they allow that).
11/20/11 6:08 PM
Cerisa said...
Your top looks great. I cannot believe that I have sewn five and I am about to make a couple more. It's easy to vary the look with different fabrics, buckles etc and sleeve lengths. More short sleeved striped one looks so different from my 3/4 sleeve plain one with a large buckle carved from a shell.
11/20/11 6:14 PM
Sharon M said...
It IS a great pattern isn't it? I can see now why so many sew it again, and again, and again. Renren - it should be best pattern for the 2nd year!
11/20/11 6:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Don't tell me you bought the fabric yesterday and today it's a top?! Can't be! LOL! All jokes aside, great top and I do love the fabric. I hope you had a great day at the PR Brithday yesterday. :)
11/20/11 6:59 PM
Levone said...
Love your version of this!
11/20/11 7:00 PM
Teeavilnor said...
Looking Good, I have just started using Jalie pattens, and love them. Great job.
11/20/11 7:48 PM
marec said...
Wow, this is wonderful, and I appreciate your review here and the info on your blog. Awesome fabric.
11/20/11 8:16 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful top! I agree with you that it should be a best pattern for a second year.
11/20/11 8:41 PM
kangafrog said...
I am one of the few people who has not yet sewn this top because we cannot buy Jalie patterns in Australia. I have ordered the pattern and washed my fabric so that I will be ready to go when the pattern arrives. Your top is really beautiful. I note that you say you did not do any alterations, but the neckline on your top looks higher than the one on the pattern envelope. Did you raise the neckline?
11/20/11 9:38 PM
Sharon M said...
kangafrog - Ah! Good catch. I completely forgot about that! I'm so used to having to do a FBA on everything that I completely blanked out on the raised neckline! Yes indeed, I raised it about 2" based on feedback from Lori. Now I need to correct my review!
11/20/11 9:53 PM
khurtdvm said...
I love the print! A really pretty shirt!
11/20/11 9:57 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking top.
11/21/11 7:17 AM
yogaa said...
Nice top, Sharon! Way to go on sewing up that fabric. Makes me feel guilty...
11/21/11 9:19 AM
cleverkitty said...
Sharon M you look great in your Top I love this pattern, every time I see a review I want to make it again, maybe one for each month :)
11/21/11 9:20 AM
becca a said...
Great top! I love the fabric. Good idea to raise the neckline.
11/21/11 11:18 AM
JEF said...
Super!
11/21/11 11:29 AM
homejewel said...
Love your top! FYI - Jalie mentioned your blog on their Facebook notifications :)
11/21/11 11:33 AM
pdiddly said...
Having made this myself the first thing I noticed was the raised neckline when I make the next one. Love your fabric nice looking top
11/21/11 12:57 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very good looking! I loved your blog entry on this.
11/21/11 6:31 PM
MNBarb said...
I didn't see anywhere in your writing that you had to drive through a BLIZZARD to get this fine fabric! You look terrific in this top. I must have another.
11/21/11 7:50 PM
Sharon M said...
MNBarb - how could I have forgotten the dedication it took to get this fabric - i.e. the blizzard. LOL
11/21/11 9:41 PM
MidnightBleu said...
Love the top. And what a great how-to on your blog. Kudos.
11/25/11 12:06 PM
Terri A said...
Super top. Perfect and gorgeous!
11/25/11 7:19 PM
Curly26 said...
What did you do to raise the collar?
12/1/11 3:56 PM
Sharon M said...
Curly26 - to raise the collar all I did was redraw the front neckline - I brought it up from the center front by about 2" from the pattern piece and gradually curved it back to the original cutting line
12/1/11 8:55 PM
Sharon M said...
Curly26 - to raise the collar all I did was redraw the front neckline - I brought it up from the center front by about 2" from the pattern piece and gradually curved it back to the original cutting line
12/1/11 8:55 PM
BettyMike said...
Love your top. I'm waiting on this pattern to arrive in the mail. Think I'm going to use fabric purchased at PR weekend 2011 Austin! Your top is fab!
12/3/11 8:46 AM
Deepika said...
Beautiful top and the fabric is so pretty. That's a great challenge to follow up the fun you guys had at the PR Day.
12/3/11 10:40 AM
Margaret said...
Looks great in this print! Nice that it worked out with almost no changes!
12/19/11 7:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1778
photo
Review by rachellea7... on 3/20/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us