SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3030 (fast & easy Tshirt tops)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:jannw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 1:39 PM
Last Updated:11/22/11 2:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Myspirit4 said...
Thank you so much for the tip on sewing the fusing to the facing and flipping it! I will definitely try this next time!
4/2/13 5:28 PM
treefrog said...
Looks like this pattern will be getting a lot of use. Your top looks great under the jacket.
11/23/11 5:15 PM
RLL said...
This IS nice for a woven top. I have had the pattern for probably 10 yrs and never used it. Looked at it many times and pass it up. I think it is time to get it out thanks to you.
11/23/11 1:26 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Love your set! I agree about the tees though I do wear the knits. I am always wanting a better looking shell. I am glad it is still in print and I can catch it at a pattern sale.
11/23/11 8:33 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice top... great with the jacket too! This looks like it will be a very useful basic.
11/23/11 4:35 AM
Terri A said...
Annoying when those little things happen - but the good news is it looks fab anyway! I am always sewing when I am really tired and it is too late for me to be doing anything technical!!!
11/22/11 10:30 PM
khurtdvm said...
Looks really nice! I might have to pick it up. I haven't tried woven Tshirts so far, but I might need to as I suspect they look a little more professional. (Someday when I'm working again, they might want me to dress better than I currently do...)
11/22/11 8:28 PM
jannw said...
Marec.. take your fusible, place it on the right side of the fabric piece, glue side up and then sew the outside edge. I usually use a quarter inch seam. Then turn it to the inside(wrong side) of the facing piece. Finger press the seam line and then iron it. You end up with a beautiful finished edge to your facing. In this case, the back facing is part of the main pattern piece and folded under and the front facing is sewn to the two sides. I got confused and fused to the wrong side, so when I flipped it inside, the fusible was on top instead of between the two fabric layers.
11/22/11 7:34 PM
katlew03 said...
Very nice. Look great together. I'll have to get this top. Looks like a great basic.
11/22/11 6:51 PM
marec said...
Awesome coordinates!! Explain again about the fusible??? :-)
11/22/11 3:23 PM
Renren said...
Very nice top in a woven. I know how hard it is to figure out which side of the facing will eventually end up away from the skin AND also which end will be on the left zipper side. I can't even explain the problem, but I know it is tricky and I get right about half the time--no better than flipping a coin. You should think about putting the picture of the jacket and top in the gallery and then link to the jacket in the review! That's one sharp picture.
11/22/11 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-124

photo
by: FrenchColl...

Review
Serendipity Studio Jacket

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now