SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 2969 (Misses' Topper (coat))

Review submitted in Refashion Contest Contest
Viewed 741 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 1:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Trust you to use an old blanket! It's just right for the purpose, too. A very fine effort. As usual, the quality of your work is as remarkable as your originality and creativity.
1/25/12 11:06 PM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful work and beautiful coat!!
12/29/11 11:22 PM
HolleyM said...
Peter you have so much guts! I'd be afraid to use an old blanket for such a time consuming vintage pattern... and not printed! It's great! You're inspiring. I need to tackle some more challenging projects.
12/12/11 0:48 AM
Moxie Carol said...
What a delightful conclusion to my weekend! Love the topper, love the fabric, great review as always, and the slideshow! What fun!
12/4/11 9:10 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Fantastic! I love it! :-D
12/4/11 8:22 PM
annakeeton said...
This is a fabulous transformation of an old blanket.
12/4/11 7:21 PM
fourkid said...
Loved the Cathy photo shoot! You are so creative...Oh, and the fashion was excellent as well!
12/4/11 6:09 PM
Peter in NYC said...
When it gets damp, you definitely know it's an old blanket!
12/4/11 9:51 AM
ElizabethDee said...
This is fabulous, Peter! Your work is beautiful (no surprise) and I bet if you don't tell "cousin" Cathy, she will never guess you've made it from a blanket!! Hope you enjoy it!
12/4/11 9:45 AM
Aroura said...
Amazing, I never would have guessed a vintage pink blanket. Love that you used the blanket edges for the sleeve hems. Great use of recycled fabric! Fun slideshow, as usual.
12/1/11 11:21 AM
whomper said...
Beautiful!
12/1/11 11:15 AM
MidnightBleu said...
Gorgeous coat!
12/1/11 11:00 AM
GwenH said...
Classic coat in a gorgeous color! As usual, I enjoyed your slideshow.
12/1/11 10:10 AM
Nurse Jane said...
Beautiful tailoring, Peter. Your reviews always delight me. You must have a strong family gene back there somewhere- you have come so far in such a short time and you make it look effortless. Carry on!!!
12/1/11 9:34 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Good grief Peter your talent never ceases to amaze me. You never fail to make a silk purse from a sow's ear! Awesome work.
12/1/11 9:14 AM
cindyann said...
Nice work! It's beautifully made.
12/1/11 8:50 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Always a treat to see your work. I appreciate the step by step pics on your site. Makes me want to make a coat too.
12/1/11 8:00 AM
Margaret said...
Just the perfect reuse for that style of blanket! I love the huge shoulders and softly tailored look! Cathy looks great, as always.
12/1/11 4:46 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody!
11/30/11 11:12 PM
Elona said...
Cripes, Peter; this is just too cool. What a great topper!
11/30/11 7:58 PM
marykpfist said...
Great project and even better due to the series of photographs covering your progress!
11/30/11 7:48 PM
NancyZL said...
Lovely !!
11/30/11 6:22 PM
JillyBe said...
Fabulous! As always. Of course. ;-D
11/30/11 6:15 PM
Patti B said...
Great results and I loved seeing your process from start to finish.
11/30/11 5:06 PM
Huntwoman said...
Stunning. Hm, I have an old pink blanket. Very inspiring. Hope you win your contest, very deserving entry.
11/30/11 4:27 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Simply elegant! Love the color! Your attention to detail really paid off. Beautiful coat!
11/30/11 3:17 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful coat!
11/30/11 3:13 PM
SondraG said...
The coat is lovely. I hope Cousin Cathy appreciates it as much as your readers do.
11/30/11 2:28 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great Job! Wouldn't it be wonderful if pattern instructions were as complete as the older ones. Love the pad stitching and construction.
11/30/11 2:09 PM
canei said...
Very nice!!!!
11/30/11 1:42 PM
rivergum said...
Beautiful coat! I love the simple lines, the shoulders and also the way you styled the whole outfit. I really enjoyed your slide show too!
11/30/11 1:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3818

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

More Info