SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 2969 (Misses' Topper (coat))

Review submitted in Refashion Contest Contest
Viewed 740 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 1:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Beautiful coat! I love the simple lines, the shoulders and also the way you styled the whole outfit. I really enjoyed your slide show too!
11/30/11 1:36 PM
canei said...
Very nice!!!!
11/30/11 1:42 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great Job! Wouldn't it be wonderful if pattern instructions were as complete as the older ones. Love the pad stitching and construction.
11/30/11 2:09 PM
SondraG said...
The coat is lovely. I hope Cousin Cathy appreciates it as much as your readers do.
11/30/11 2:28 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful coat!
11/30/11 3:13 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Simply elegant! Love the color! Your attention to detail really paid off. Beautiful coat!
11/30/11 3:17 PM
Huntwoman said...
Stunning. Hm, I have an old pink blanket. Very inspiring. Hope you win your contest, very deserving entry.
11/30/11 4:27 PM
Patti B said...
Great results and I loved seeing your process from start to finish.
11/30/11 5:06 PM
JillyBe said...
Fabulous! As always. Of course. ;-D
11/30/11 6:15 PM
NancyZL said...
Lovely !!
11/30/11 6:22 PM
marykpfist said...
Great project and even better due to the series of photographs covering your progress!
11/30/11 7:48 PM
Elona said...
Cripes, Peter; this is just too cool. What a great topper!
11/30/11 7:58 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everybody!
11/30/11 11:12 PM
Margaret said...
Just the perfect reuse for that style of blanket! I love the huge shoulders and softly tailored look! Cathy looks great, as always.
12/1/11 4:46 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Always a treat to see your work. I appreciate the step by step pics on your site. Makes me want to make a coat too.
12/1/11 8:00 AM
cindyann said...
Nice work! It's beautifully made.
12/1/11 8:50 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Good grief Peter your talent never ceases to amaze me. You never fail to make a silk purse from a sow's ear! Awesome work.
12/1/11 9:14 AM
Nurse Jane said...
Beautiful tailoring, Peter. Your reviews always delight me. You must have a strong family gene back there somewhere- you have come so far in such a short time and you make it look effortless. Carry on!!!
12/1/11 9:34 AM
GwenH said...
Classic coat in a gorgeous color! As usual, I enjoyed your slideshow.
12/1/11 10:10 AM
MidnightBleu said...
Gorgeous coat!
12/1/11 11:00 AM
whomper said...
Beautiful!
12/1/11 11:15 AM
Aroura said...
Amazing, I never would have guessed a vintage pink blanket. Love that you used the blanket edges for the sleeve hems. Great use of recycled fabric! Fun slideshow, as usual.
12/1/11 11:21 AM
ElizabethDee said...
This is fabulous, Peter! Your work is beautiful (no surprise) and I bet if you don't tell "cousin" Cathy, she will never guess you've made it from a blanket!! Hope you enjoy it!
12/4/11 9:45 AM
Peter in NYC said...
When it gets damp, you definitely know it's an old blanket!
12/4/11 9:51 AM
fourkid said...
Loved the Cathy photo shoot! You are so creative...Oh, and the fashion was excellent as well!
12/4/11 6:09 PM
annakeeton said...
This is a fabulous transformation of an old blanket.
12/4/11 7:21 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Fantastic! I love it! :-D
12/4/11 8:22 PM
Moxie Carol said...
What a delightful conclusion to my weekend! Love the topper, love the fabric, great review as always, and the slideshow! What fun!
12/4/11 9:10 PM
HolleyM said...
Peter you have so much guts! I'd be afraid to use an old blanket for such a time consuming vintage pattern... and not printed! It's great! You're inspiring. I need to tackle some more challenging projects.
12/12/11 0:48 AM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful work and beautiful coat!!
12/29/11 11:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Trust you to use an old blanket! It's just right for the purpose, too. A very fine effort. As usual, the quality of your work is as remarkable as your originality and creativity.
1/25/12 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8463

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review