SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6674 (Misses Wrap Dress)

12 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 5:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
If you haven't already-- you should enter it into the refashion contest too! Great re-make! :-)
11/30/11 7:41 PM
marec said...
Cute and very inventive. I agree, enter it in the refashion contest too.
11/30/11 7:44 PM
Terri A said...
Great! Definitely enter it in the refashion - you certainly did that!
11/30/11 9:07 PM
Renren said...
Yes, I saw that chair in the gallery at first and then it disappeared! Very nice dress!
11/30/11 10:48 PM
Cerisa said...
This is a terrific garment and I am with the others who say that you should enter it in the refashion contest
12/1/11 0:54 AM
Cerisa said...
This is a terrific garment and I am with the others who say that you should enter it in the refashion contest
12/1/11 0:54 AM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks so much for your praise ladies ! Yes I did enter it in the Refashion Contest at the last minute before it closed yeasterday..whew barely made it
12/1/11 6:13 PM
MidnightBleu said...
What a way to reuse a old slipcover! Great job. Thanks for you comments on my beret. To answer your question about my hat form: It is really old styrofoam--but heavy, not the lightweight stuff around now. I think I have had it for at least 15-17 years. It has a 1.5"-2" hole in the bottom underneath the base. I believe it was meant to fit on top of some type of holder. I turned it upside down, stabilized it, and put some clear silicon caulk in the bottom of the hole. I then added new, large, heavy washers (after I scrubbed them with dish lotion to remove any machine oil)--adding caulk between layers of washers. And sealed the opening with caulk. Think I added 6-8 washers. This made it incredibly stable and I don't think very tippy even with a wide brim--my beret was out of heavy sweater material and I had no problems with it. Best recollection is I paid around a dollar for it at a jumble sale to benefit charity! Hope this helps.
12/2/11 1:57 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Wow -- I never would have guessed this dress was once a slipcover! It looks great! You really did some clever thinking in combining the various patterns, too.
12/4/11 9:41 AM
Norsecross said...
Utterly transformed! Well done!
12/4/11 2:58 PM
annakeeton said...
Using an old slipcover to make a lovely dress is surely one of the definitions of resourcefulness.
12/4/11 7:23 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress and nice reuse of the fabric!
12/18/11 1:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-2

photo
by: Yakityak

Review