SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6674 (Misses Wrap Dress)

12 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 5:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
If you haven't already-- you should enter it into the refashion contest too! Great re-make! :-)
11/30/11 7:41 PM
marec said...
Cute and very inventive. I agree, enter it in the refashion contest too.
11/30/11 7:44 PM
Terri A said...
Great! Definitely enter it in the refashion - you certainly did that!
11/30/11 9:07 PM
Renren said...
Yes, I saw that chair in the gallery at first and then it disappeared! Very nice dress!
11/30/11 10:48 PM
Cerisa said...
This is a terrific garment and I am with the others who say that you should enter it in the refashion contest
12/1/11 0:54 AM
Cerisa said...
This is a terrific garment and I am with the others who say that you should enter it in the refashion contest
12/1/11 0:54 AM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks so much for your praise ladies ! Yes I did enter it in the Refashion Contest at the last minute before it closed yeasterday..whew barely made it
12/1/11 6:13 PM
MidnightBleu said...
What a way to reuse a old slipcover! Great job. Thanks for you comments on my beret. To answer your question about my hat form: It is really old styrofoam--but heavy, not the lightweight stuff around now. I think I have had it for at least 15-17 years. It has a 1.5"-2" hole in the bottom underneath the base. I believe it was meant to fit on top of some type of holder. I turned it upside down, stabilized it, and put some clear silicon caulk in the bottom of the hole. I then added new, large, heavy washers (after I scrubbed them with dish lotion to remove any machine oil)--adding caulk between layers of washers. And sealed the opening with caulk. Think I added 6-8 washers. This made it incredibly stable and I don't think very tippy even with a wide brim--my beret was out of heavy sweater material and I had no problems with it. Best recollection is I paid around a dollar for it at a jumble sale to benefit charity! Hope this helps.
12/2/11 1:57 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Wow -- I never would have guessed this dress was once a slipcover! It looks great! You really did some clever thinking in combining the various patterns, too.
12/4/11 9:41 AM
Norsecross said...
Utterly transformed! Well done!
12/4/11 2:58 PM
annakeeton said...
Using an old slipcover to make a lovely dress is surely one of the definitions of resourcefulness.
12/4/11 7:23 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress and nice reuse of the fabric!
12/18/11 1:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1059

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now