Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6674 (Misses Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 322 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo
About HatBuddystar
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 5:10 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
If you haven't already-- you should enter it into the refashion contest too! Great re-make! :-)
11/30/11 7:41 PM
marec said...
Cute and very inventive. I agree, enter it in the refashion contest too.
11/30/11 7:44 PM
Terri A said...
Great! Definitely enter it in the refashion - you certainly did that!
11/30/11 9:07 PM
Renren said...
Yes, I saw that chair in the gallery at first and then it disappeared! Very nice dress!
11/30/11 10:48 PM
Cerisa said...
This is a terrific garment and I am with the others who say that you should enter it in the refashion contest
12/1/11 0:54 AM
Cerisa said...
This is a terrific garment and I am with the others who say that you should enter it in the refashion contest
12/1/11 0:54 AM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks so much for your praise ladies ! Yes I did enter it in the Refashion Contest at the last minute before it closed yeasterday..whew barely made it
12/1/11 6:13 PM
MidnightBleu said...
What a way to reuse a old slipcover! Great job. Thanks for you comments on my beret. To answer your question about my hat form: It is really old styrofoam--but heavy, not the lightweight stuff around now. I think I have had it for at least 15-17 years. It has a 1.5"-2" hole in the bottom underneath the base. I believe it was meant to fit on top of some type of holder. I turned it upside down, stabilized it, and put some clear silicon caulk in the bottom of the hole. I then added new, large, heavy washers (after I scrubbed them with dish lotion to remove any machine oil)--adding caulk between layers of washers. And sealed the opening with caulk. Think I added 6-8 washers. This made it incredibly stable and I don't think very tippy even with a wide brim--my beret was out of heavy sweater material and I had no problems with it. Best recollection is I paid around a dollar for it at a jumble sale to benefit charity! Hope this helps.
12/2/11 1:57 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Wow -- I never would have guessed this dress was once a slipcover! It looks great! You really did some clever thinking in combining the various patterns, too.
12/4/11 9:41 AM
Norsecross said...
Utterly transformed! Well done!
12/4/11 2:58 PM
annakeeton said...
Using an old slipcover to make a lovely dress is surely one of the definitions of resourcefulness.
12/4/11 7:23 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress and nice reuse of the fabric!
12/18/11 1:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by Sweetheart... on 2/22/11
Read Review

Burda 7148 Pattern
Burda 7148 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5456 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5456 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6515 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Nancywin on 3/23/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us