Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-111 (High-Neck Wrap Blouse) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 507 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/11 9:07 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wino said...
Super cute! Very flattering. Love the olive.
12/30/11 9:20 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
I never even noticed this top in the magazine, but you've convinced me. Love the ties.
12/30/11 11:03 AM
Elona said...
Both of your tops came out looking great (lots of work involved), and the underarm billowing is not visible. Underarm billow is kind of a deal breaker, isn't it, but your results are so pretty that I am almost tempted--almost--to trace this one off.
12/30/11 11:55 AM
SewWil said...
I think both tops are very pretty in their own way. Great review. Thanks!
12/30/11 12:05 PM
Mufffet said...
Love these. Very nice style for almost anyone, not just the prime suspect here! ;) I love that this can be casual or dressy.
12/30/11 12:13 PM
French.Seam said...
I love your reviews. I avoided this top because the photos make the drape look much lower (and so revealing) than the illustration appears
12/30/11 12:25 PM
cleverkitty said...
really nice tops both fabrics I love, your fabric stash or I should say your Carol collection is amazing. I had a similar experience with finding a treasure of wool fabrics and another occasion of silk thread ( every color ever made) that I'm still using. Oh the happiness of that experience and yes I laid it all out like you did, I could not be happier. Happy Sewing nicegirl...
12/30/11 12:41 PM
Izzie said...
Both of your tops are lovely. I made this top as well and, after seeing yours, I realize mine would look better with ties too. Thanks for the idea and the detailed photos of how you did the ties...genius.
12/30/11 3:42 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful blouses! The tie was a perfect add on!
12/31/11 6:26 AM
olgarosita said...
I know this pattern, but I avoided it because, like you, I am small-busted. I like how they look with the ties, I think they are a great addition!
12/31/11 9:40 AM
JoyceP said...
Y'know, I really love the look of that plaid version. It seems a bit more structured surely than the flowy green. But it looks really sharp! Nice job with the fabric and the pattern adjustments.
12/31/11 9:57 AM
Lizz said...
I, too, avoided this blouse because it looked very low in front. Now I will give it another look. As a 38DD it may suit me very well! Happy New Years!
12/31/11 12:59 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Genius tie solution. The soft drape of the olive version is perfect for this style.
12/31/11 5:58 PM
Sewingelle said...
Both tops are lovely. I have just finished this pattern too, in a very light cotton-silk without sleeves (not yet reviewed or blogged). I was planning to add ties to my next version and you've confirmed that! How do yours look tucked in?
1/1/12 0:33 AM
stitchnz said...
I think both these tops look gorgeous on you, no hint of too much fabric under the arms!
1/5/12 3:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 8672 Misses' Skirt
photo
Review by knottygnom... on 1/25/12
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6901
photo
Review by aminat on 1/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 6606 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6606 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us