Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8710 (misses top) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 396 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:lesliez
photo
Friend of PR
About lesliezstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/12 2:49 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhey said...
I think it looks great, wear it with a smile and that's all people will see. This comes too late to help you but might help someone else, I've found that very narrow stripes draw the eye the opposite of what you would expect, so verticals emphasize width instead of height which can cause an unflattering illusion where it shouldn't.
1/7/12 3:10 AM
marec said...
It looks great on you, especially paired with your hair and wonderful earrings. How about if you shorten it by an inch? I like it very much on you and I am not just being "nice". I have this pattern and have not made it up for the very reasons you stated. I just do not see those concerns with your picture. :-)
1/7/12 11:06 AM
carolynw said...
When I saw the photo I thought "just like the pattern" - and I think it looks lovely on you but you are the wearer and if you don't feel comfortable in it then it will have to be a PJ top - maybe you should reconsider?
1/7/12 12:55 PM
SewWil said...
From the picture your top looks great on you. Maybe you need to put it away for a little while and try it on at a later date. If you still feel strongly about then you will have a stylish pajama.
1/7/12 1:52 PM
lesliez said...
Thanks, everyone for the comments and tips. marec, I wondered if shortening it might make a difference. I'll give that a try to see if I like it any better. Rhey, that's an interesting insight about the stripes. I'll keep that in mind in the future.
1/7/12 2:29 PM
Frozzy said...
When I look at the picture, the sleeves and the bottom of the top are the same length, and I think the eye follows that unbroken horizontal line of the sleeves AND the top accross. If you either shortened the top or shortened the sleeve to 3/4 length, maybe that would help break that up. Otherwise it is really cute, so it would be worth trying to save! Great review, by the way.
1/17/12 2:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3693 Cardigans
photo
Review by pfaffkj on 2/13/10
Read Review

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other UFO Contest 2009
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 1/31/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us