SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8710 (misses top)

16 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 404 times 
Reviewed by:lesliez
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lesliezstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/12 2:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhey said...
I think it looks great, wear it with a smile and that's all people will see. This comes too late to help you but might help someone else, I've found that very narrow stripes draw the eye the opposite of what you would expect, so verticals emphasize width instead of height which can cause an unflattering illusion where it shouldn't.
1/7/12 3:10 AM
marec said...
It looks great on you, especially paired with your hair and wonderful earrings. How about if you shorten it by an inch? I like it very much on you and I am not just being "nice". I have this pattern and have not made it up for the very reasons you stated. I just do not see those concerns with your picture. :-)
1/7/12 11:06 AM
carolynw said...
When I saw the photo I thought "just like the pattern" - and I think it looks lovely on you but you are the wearer and if you don't feel comfortable in it then it will have to be a PJ top - maybe you should reconsider?
1/7/12 12:55 PM
SewWil said...
From the picture your top looks great on you. Maybe you need to put it away for a little while and try it on at a later date. If you still feel strongly about then you will have a stylish pajama.
1/7/12 1:52 PM
lesliez said...
Thanks, everyone for the comments and tips. marec, I wondered if shortening it might make a difference. I'll give that a try to see if I like it any better. Rhey, that's an interesting insight about the stripes. I'll keep that in mind in the future.
1/7/12 2:29 PM
Frozzy said...
When I look at the picture, the sleeves and the bottom of the top are the same length, and I think the eye follows that unbroken horizontal line of the sleeves AND the top accross. If you either shortened the top or shortened the sleeve to 3/4 length, maybe that would help break that up. Otherwise it is really cute, so it would be worth trying to save! Great review, by the way.
1/17/12 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-1999-115

photo
by: GBK

Review
Simplicity 1723

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now