Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants
Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 538 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:fractal
photo
About fractal
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/18/09
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/29/12 1:03 PM
Last Updated:1/30/12 8:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitters Delight said...
You did a fabulous job on this jeans, especially with the bar tack.
1/29/12 1:08 PM
coudcoud said...
This review came at the right moment for me. I have the pattern and my fabric, and am about to start cutting, so reading your comments will be a great help. I, too, plan to reduce the flare at the bottom. I will refer to your helpful tips as I cut and sew. They look great on you.
1/29/12 1:21 PM
JEF said...
Love your jeans and especially what you did with the back pocket - very creative.
1/29/12 2:24 PM
Ejegmama said...
They look great!
1/29/12 2:51 PM
Zacky said...
Very, VERY! Nice jeans. They came out perfect!
1/29/12 2:52 PM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW - fabulous fit! Very RTW look as well.
1/29/12 3:34 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic jeans! Love the changes you made and the personal touch of adding a fractal design to the back pocket. And another pair already in the planning - told you it was addictive ;-)
1/29/12 4:19 PM
Raye Ann said...
Awesome jeans! They look great on you. I agree, sewing jeans is actually not that hard, especially with a great pattern lik this one.
1/29/12 4:46 PM
KG2 said...
Love your back pockets, you did a great job!
1/29/12 5:47 PM
nea826 said...
I need to just go and buy this pattern. I don't think I have ever read a bad review about the Jalie Jeans!
1/29/12 6:29 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very nice, perfect timing for the review. I'm working on my second pair today and forgot about the zipper lining up. They look great on you, hope mine turn out as nice.
1/29/12 7:34 PM
cmcarr said...
Great looking jeans. Your topstitching and bar tacks look perfect.
1/29/12 9:21 PM
margk said...
Great job on these jeans. Your work is beautiful! I have made some of the same changes to mine.
1/29/12 9:39 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jeans! I love the embroidery you added to the pockets.
1/29/12 10:51 PM
Elke said...
They look great!
1/30/12 5:50 AM
tess said...
Your jeans look amazing!
1/30/12 5:51 AM
kjcaron said...
They look fantastic! Your topstitching is so straight!
1/30/12 8:25 AM
fractal said...
Thank you all for such kind and encouraging comments! I have added something about the stitching technique to my review. Yes, I did rip out some topstitching and bar tacks and re-do them :)
1/30/12 8:42 AM
ArtAttack said...
WOW! Super fit! They look awesome on you. I'm just getting up the courage to even BUY this pattern!
1/30/12 11:06 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Nice Job!
1/30/12 11:55 AM
Dei said...
Fantastic job. Don't you feel great making your own jeans!
1/30/12 12:31 PM
homejewel said...
I am so impressed. Nicely done!
1/30/12 1:09 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great job on both fit and construction! Love the pocket design too - well done :)
1/30/12 2:21 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great jeans and the back pockets are very creative.
1/31/12 2:19 AM
Jrhee said...
Amazing jeans, and I LOVE the fractal pockets.
1/31/12 9:54 AM
allycovey said...
Beautiful jeans........you did a great job
1/31/12 1:46 PM
bijou90 said...
Exceptional top stitching, do like your back pocket design. Fabulous
2/3/12 10:10 AM
annakeeton said...
Cute pocket lining and the back pocket embroidery is very cool.
2/6/12 6:58 AM
Terri A said...
Cool back detail!
2/15/12 8:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
Trying to read all reviews before voting. I'm sorry I missed yours when it came out, because it's fabulous. I don't know that I would say sewing the zipper on top of the center front seam is a mistake, but I do agree that Sandra Betzina's method of butting the zipper up against that seam is much better. (I followed S Betzina's method, too, for my Jalie 2908 jeans.) You definitely have a winner in these jeans.
2/16/12 7:50 PM
KathleenS said...
Very nice. I particularly like your pocket detail. Thanks also for the encouragement to make jeans - I've also had this pattern and fabric for a while - I just need to jump in and make it.
2/17/12 6:17 PM
Margaret said...
They look great on you!
2/19/12 9:03 AM
KathleenNW said...
Great Job on your jeans, fit and sewing.
2/28/12 12:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us