SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6518 (Misses' Lined Dress)

14 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 713 times 
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 4:08 PM
Last Updated:9/2/12 2:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda S. said...
Both versions are super cute!!!
9/3/12 2:53 PM
NC Carol said...
Great job! Both of these dresses look great on you! The time spent on fitting issues was well spent!
9/3/12 10:47 AM
zoe said...
Wow- the grey version looks so comfortable, but so classic. Gorgeous!
9/2/12 6:56 PM
Ms. McCall said...
LOVE the gray version- either you've lost weight, or the fabric is very flattering. I also really like the front pleats in the gray version, I hadn't even noticed them in the red dress.
9/2/12 5:14 PM
magpie57 said...
If I had noticed this contest, you would have gotten my vote! I think this dress is adorable.
3/14/12 11:28 PM
Soliel said...
Darling! Very cute!
3/8/12 10:05 PM
jenleeC said...
Very pretty! The ruffle makes a nice detail on the simple lines of this dress.
3/4/12 6:49 PM
cloudyhn said...
Very cute...
3/4/12 5:56 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! I love the contrast inset and how you finished the ruffles. The fit looks very nice!
3/4/12 4:30 PM
JenniferMM said...
Very cute! I love the print you chose! Thanks for the helpful review - I have little patience for so many alterations so, its probably best I leave it alone for now, though it was on my wishlist. You did a great job pushing through yours though! I would have never guessed you had any issues with it.
2/28/12 8:58 AM
annakeeton said...
Great job converting your dress to a knit fabric and making it work for an off-grain print.
2/26/12 9:15 PM
StudioCherie said...
Terrific review. I love flounces and yours look great. Perfect fabric choice. I hope you enjoy your free pattern.
2/20/12 1:54 PM
thimbledore said...
Ooh, I really like this! You did a lovely job. I bought this pattern on sale recently and look forward to giving it a go.
2/17/12 8:52 AM
petro said...
Terrific dress, I love the asymmetric ruffles.
2/14/12 3:19 PM
ltmc said...
Beautiful!!! I love it!
2/14/12 2:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute dress, that is pretty enough to wear for Valentine's day, let alone household chores!
2/13/12 10:29 AM
mtnbluebird said...
Really nice dress. Very complimentary.
2/12/12 3:27 PM
Aroura said...
This is such a pretty dress! Love the print, it's perfect for that contest. And you look great in red!
2/12/12 11:03 AM
NhiHuynh said...
zoe yes, the ruffle edge was done on a serger. I couldn't resist how quickly it could do this edge. zoe & nickle624 great minds... I can't wait to see your dresses.
2/12/12 0:51 AM
nickelc624 said...
love your dress. I'm making the same one for the contest....same pattern, not fabric. great minds...
2/12/12 0:38 AM
zoe said...
Your dress looks beautiful on you! Well, I'm still working on mine ( slow going as I only can do some each Saturday). I too, ( as I told you ) struggled to fit the bodice. Mine is in a handkerchief linen, and those ruffle's tiny hems do take some time! Yours look nice; (I assume that may be from a serger?) Great job!
2/11/12 9:13 PM
coudcoud said...
Very cute on you.
2/11/12 6:07 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
Love that you used a knit. I just picked up this pattern and may have to try it in a knit.
2/11/12 4:34 PM
JTink said...
Very pretty. Great job on the ruffles.
2/11/12 4:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1036

photo
by: TJSEWS

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-109

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

More Info