Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 244612-1000 (my ideal jeans) - Type:Pants
Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 325 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:argiope
photo
About argiope
NY USA
Member since: 1/8/11
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 4:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
I'm jealous! They all fit perfect!!! What a great job making this pattern fit you so well. You're stitching is fantastic too!
2/11/12 4:56 PM
EleanorSews said...
Wow, you got a really nice jeans fit on those! Impressive. And, I like you shoe!!!
2/11/12 4:57 PM
Sew it seams said...
Very nice! I really want to give it a try, but making jeans is just so intimidating to me! Yours are perfect. I like dark unadorned jeans, too.
2/11/12 5:17 PM
treefrog said...
3 great pairs of jeans. You are very talented with your drafting skills
2/11/12 5:25 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jeans, amazing how you drafted then yourself, perfect fit. Love all three!
2/11/12 5:26 PM
Alexruthe said...
awesome job
2/11/12 5:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
Fantastic! The fit and finish is terrific. Good work!
2/11/12 5:42 PM
coudcoud said...
VERY nice work! Love them all!
2/11/12 6:04 PM
margk said...
I also like basic jeans. Yours are Fabulous!
2/11/12 7:33 PM
Claverie said...
Perfect!
2/11/12 8:12 PM
annakeeton said...
Great job on all of these jeans.
2/11/12 9:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Very nice. I so wish I could do this.
2/11/12 10:56 PM
poppykettle said...
Looks like a great pair of jeans! Any particular reason why you prefer a straight waistband to a curved one? I'm curious as I just made my first pair of jeans and the pattern had a curved waistband.
2/12/12 2:08 AM
argiope said...
Thanks everyone! Poppykettle, the reason I like the straight waistband better is because I have a very gradual curve from my high hip to my waist. Curved waistbands tend to dig in at the top edge and be too big below that, plus the partial bias makes them prone to stretching out and sagging with wear. A straight waistband (which I usually cut on the lengthwise grain) is a lot more stable, and the little bit of extra room at the top edge prevents it from digging in when I bend or sit.
2/12/12 2:53 AM
sewbarbie said...
You did a great job on these. They look really good and fit very well.
2/12/12 3:10 PM
mtnbluebird said...
These are fabulous. You did a great job fitting them. Well-fitting jeans are so hard to find. It's wonderful that you are able to make your own! They definitely do not look homemade!!
2/12/12 3:32 PM
fractal said...
Really great well-fitting results - excellent drafting!
2/12/12 4:25 PM
jacqui rocks said...
Great job!! I need to try my hand at jeans making.
2/12/12 7:01 PM
Zacky said...
Very nice!
2/12/12 10:20 PM
sewbehind said...
I am impressed with people who can draft their own patterns and have them fit so well. Great job on your jeans. Your sewing skills certainly warrant saving up for a sturdier machine.
2/13/12 10:33 AM
Terri A said...
Wonderful! They fit like a dream.
2/15/12 7:56 PM
CraftAddict said...
Great job and they fit perfect!
2/16/12 9:52 AM
TJSEWS said...
I am impressed that you drafted these perfectly fitting jeans. I believe you should change your rank to "advanced." Great job!
2/16/12 8:41 PM
koo104 said...
You did a stellar job. Beautiful stitching. I would make the belt loops a little shorter on you next pair.
2/16/12 11:22 PM
Quincunx said...
Aha, so there IS someone in the world who takes a straight waistband. Good to know. ;) Am I missing where you said which system you were using to draft your jeans? One which produces a curved waistband as a default is a system I'm interested in!
2/17/12 5:34 AM
JDpenelope said...
You should be very proud of your accomplishment in drafting a great pair of jeans.
2/17/12 5:58 AM
argiope said...
Quincunx, my method was (loosely) based on the one from Suzy Furrer's "Building Patterns: the Architecture of Women's Clothing." But I think most systems would do the trick. Once you have the jeans block with darts, you can cut however much you want for the waistband width off the top and close up the darts to create the contoured shape, similar to what you do for the back yoke. koo104, you're right, the belt loops do stick out a bit much. I wanted to make sure they were long enough to be functional, but it looks like I overdid it.
2/17/12 3:22 PM
KathleenS said...
They look great!
2/17/12 6:19 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice!
2/19/12 9:24 AM
koo104 said...
Sorry you did not win the contest. You were my vote! But you won with some great fitting jeans. I am motivated to go back to my project.
2/25/12 8:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2311
photo
Review by michou68 on 10/18/10
Read Review

Burda 7065 Pattern
Burda 7065 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3076
photo
Review by CarolynD on 1/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us