SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 244612-1000 (my ideal jeans)

Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest
Viewed 328 times 
Reviewed by:argiope
photo

 
 
About argiope
NY USA
Member since: 1/8/11
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 4:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
I'm jealous! They all fit perfect!!! What a great job making this pattern fit you so well. You're stitching is fantastic too!
2/11/12 4:56 PM
EleanorSews said...
Wow, you got a really nice jeans fit on those! Impressive. And, I like you shoe!!!
2/11/12 4:57 PM
Sew it seams said...
Very nice! I really want to give it a try, but making jeans is just so intimidating to me! Yours are perfect. I like dark unadorned jeans, too.
2/11/12 5:17 PM
treefrog said...
3 great pairs of jeans. You are very talented with your drafting skills
2/11/12 5:25 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jeans, amazing how you drafted then yourself, perfect fit. Love all three!
2/11/12 5:26 PM
Alexruthe said...
awesome job
2/11/12 5:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
Fantastic! The fit and finish is terrific. Good work!
2/11/12 5:42 PM
coudcoud said...
VERY nice work! Love them all!
2/11/12 6:04 PM
margk said...
I also like basic jeans. Yours are Fabulous!
2/11/12 7:33 PM
Claverie said...
Perfect!
2/11/12 8:12 PM
annakeeton said...
Great job on all of these jeans.
2/11/12 9:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Very nice. I so wish I could do this.
2/11/12 10:56 PM
poppykettle said...
Looks like a great pair of jeans! Any particular reason why you prefer a straight waistband to a curved one? I'm curious as I just made my first pair of jeans and the pattern had a curved waistband.
2/12/12 2:08 AM
argiope said...
Thanks everyone! Poppykettle, the reason I like the straight waistband better is because I have a very gradual curve from my high hip to my waist. Curved waistbands tend to dig in at the top edge and be too big below that, plus the partial bias makes them prone to stretching out and sagging with wear. A straight waistband (which I usually cut on the lengthwise grain) is a lot more stable, and the little bit of extra room at the top edge prevents it from digging in when I bend or sit.
2/12/12 2:53 AM
sewbarbie said...
You did a great job on these. They look really good and fit very well.
2/12/12 3:10 PM
mtnbluebird said...
These are fabulous. You did a great job fitting them. Well-fitting jeans are so hard to find. It's wonderful that you are able to make your own! They definitely do not look homemade!!
2/12/12 3:32 PM
fractal said...
Really great well-fitting results - excellent drafting!
2/12/12 4:25 PM
jacqui rocks said...
Great job!! I need to try my hand at jeans making.
2/12/12 7:01 PM
Zacky said...
Very nice!
2/12/12 10:20 PM
sewbehind said...
I am impressed with people who can draft their own patterns and have them fit so well. Great job on your jeans. Your sewing skills certainly warrant saving up for a sturdier machine.
2/13/12 10:33 AM
Terri A said...
Wonderful! They fit like a dream.
2/15/12 7:56 PM
CraftAddict said...
Great job and they fit perfect!
2/16/12 9:52 AM
TJSEWS said...
I am impressed that you drafted these perfectly fitting jeans. I believe you should change your rank to "advanced." Great job!
2/16/12 8:41 PM
koo104 said...
You did a stellar job. Beautiful stitching. I would make the belt loops a little shorter on you next pair.
2/16/12 11:22 PM
Quincunx said...
Aha, so there IS someone in the world who takes a straight waistband. Good to know. ;) Am I missing where you said which system you were using to draft your jeans? One which produces a curved waistband as a default is a system I'm interested in!
2/17/12 5:34 AM
JDpenelope said...
You should be very proud of your accomplishment in drafting a great pair of jeans.
2/17/12 5:58 AM
argiope said...
Quincunx, my method was (loosely) based on the one from Suzy Furrer's "Building Patterns: the Architecture of Women's Clothing." But I think most systems would do the trick. Once you have the jeans block with darts, you can cut however much you want for the waistband width off the top and close up the darts to create the contoured shape, similar to what you do for the back yoke. koo104, you're right, the belt loops do stick out a bit much. I wanted to make sure they were long enough to be functional, but it looks like I overdid it.
2/17/12 3:22 PM
KathleenS said...
They look great!
2/17/12 6:19 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice!
2/19/12 9:24 AM
koo104 said...
Sorry you did not win the contest. You were my vote! But you won with some great fitting jeans. I am motivated to go back to my project.
2/25/12 8:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Burda 7493

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1328

photo
by: MissMarnie

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now