SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8728 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

31 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 784 times 
Reviewed by:aleah42
photo

 
 
About aleah42starstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/12 4:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Nice dress, very feminine and flattering.
2/29/12 6:15 AM
Sassy T said...
Very pretty and nice fabric too.
2/29/12 6:22 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!
2/29/12 9:44 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress! Lucky find on that knit fabric.
2/29/12 10:10 AM
zoe said...
It looks beautiful on you!
2/29/12 10:31 AM
marec said...
Totally cute on you!
2/29/12 11:18 AM
ChristmasHills said...
That is just beautiful. The skirt on the pattern photo looks much fuller than yours, which would turn me off the pattern but I love the way you've done yours.
3/1/12 1:59 AM
aleah42 said...
Thanks! The skirt is pretty full (there's a lot of gathering in this dress!), but my knit is heavier and has a nice drape so it lays pretty flat.
3/1/12 4:53 PM
tigergirl said...
This is the pattern I was doing for the red dress contest too! (Didn't make it in time) I had to make a lot of alterations on my practice dress too. Lovely job - here's hoping mine turns out as well.
3/2/12 4:55 AM
annakeeton said...
This dress is very pretty in the knit fabric you chose.
3/2/12 6:52 AM
StudioCherie said...
I love your dress. You have a lot of pretty things you have made over on your blog. I think the reason the instructions called for top stitching the midriff was to prevent stretching on that curved seam - which could be a problem for anyone making this in a woven fabric. Yours looks fabulous in knit. Great details in your review. I can't wait to see what you do with my gym bag pattern.
3/2/12 1:21 PM
Margaret said...
Very pretty dress! Looks wonderful on you and I think the vintage style looks great with the print! I've found the same type of lapped seam instructions in a lot of vintage patterns too, usually when there's a curved seam or inset corner, so they probably just copied that technique from the original pattern.
3/4/12 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Designed after Burda 8123

photo
by: julliams

Review
Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now