SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8728 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

33 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 825 times 
Reviewed by:aleah42
photo

 
 
About aleah42starstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews: 82 (patterns: 82)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 29 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/12 4:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (3/4/12 3:31 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress! Looks wonderful on you and I think the vintage style looks great with the print! I've found the same type of lapped seam instructions in a lot of vintage patterns too, usually when there's a curved seam or inset corner, so they probably just copied that technique from the original pattern.
StudioCherie said... (3/2/12 1:21 PM) Reply
I love your dress. You have a lot of pretty things you have made over on your blog. I think the reason the instructions called for top stitching the midriff was to prevent stretching on that curved seam - which could be a problem for anyone making this in a woven fabric. Yours looks fabulous in knit. Great details in your review. I can't wait to see what you do with my gym bag pattern.
annakeeton said... (3/2/12 6:52 AM) Reply
This dress is very pretty in the knit fabric you chose.
tigergirl said... (3/2/12 4:55 AM) Reply
This is the pattern I was doing for the red dress contest too! (Didn't make it in time) I had to make a lot of alterations on my practice dress too. Lovely job - here's hoping mine turns out as well.
aleah42 said... (3/1/12 4:53 PM) Reply
Thanks! The skirt is pretty full (there's a lot of gathering in this dress!), but my knit is heavier and has a nice drape so it lays pretty flat.
ChristmasHills said... (3/1/12 1:59 AM) Reply
That is just beautiful. The skirt on the pattern photo looks much fuller than yours, which would turn me off the pattern but I love the way you've done yours.
marec said... (2/29/12 11:18 AM) Reply
Totally cute on you!
zoe said... (2/29/12 10:31 AM) Reply
It looks beautiful on you!
Levone said... (2/29/12 10:10 AM) Reply
Pretty dress! Lucky find on that knit fabric.
SewWil said... (2/29/12 9:44 AM) Reply
Beautiful dress!
Sassy T said... (2/29/12 6:22 AM) Reply
Very pretty and nice fabric too.
petro said... (2/29/12 6:15 AM) Reply
Nice dress, very feminine and flattering.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Butterick 5672

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
StyleArc Amy Knit Top

photo
by: DementedFa...

Review
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Runaround Bag Paper Pattern

Runaround Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details