SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8648 (Misses' Dress)

31 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Riesiestar
VA USA
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/12 6:44 PM
Last Updated:3/1/12 10:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Lovely dress, Riesie. It's such a pretty colour and the fit is spot on. Well done!
2/29/12 7:30 PM
sewingfoo said...
Great dress and color!
2/29/12 7:44 PM
VogueMistress said...
Great fit, and really flattering!
2/29/12 7:46 PM
marjoriekh said...
Love the color, and it looks like you got a fantastic fit. Very flattering, I agree. I forget that woven patterns can often work well in knits -- I need to look more closely at this one. ETA: Did you leave out the zipper?
2/29/12 8:15 PM
Riesie said...
Yes, I omitted the zipper. I cut it with a back seam, just in case, but there was plenty of ease/stretch so I didn't bother with the zipper. Thanks for kind remarks, everybody.
3/1/12 0:26 AM
marec said...
Riesie, this is an awesome dress, and looks terrific on you!
3/1/12 0:36 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is a very chic dress! The fit is great.
3/1/12 6:21 AM
cmarie12 said...
Riesie, I signed up for the class but was looking sideways at the pattern, but now that you've made such a lovely dress I feel confident to go ahead with it. This is not the first time I've followed you and ended up with a great pattern and I'm sure the results will be the same this time. Enjoy wearing your pretty dress!
3/1/12 9:18 AM
4u2cme said...
I also signed up for the class w/Susan. Thanks for reviewing this dress. Now I feel like I will have success with the pattern. Usually the dresses are too short so I'll be sure to check the length before cutting my dress. Your dress is flattering.
3/1/12 1:42 PM
mangoflavor said...
Great job - it fits you really well!
3/1/12 2:53 PM
BeaJay said...
Love your dress. I might try this pattern myself - very flattering. Great job.
3/1/12 3:36 PM
Scheri said...
Great dress. Glad you did the review have this pattern and have signed up for class online. Enjoy your dress!
3/2/12 1:56 AM
jo lin said...
Thank you for your review. I have this pattern and hope mine turns out as great as yours.
3/2/12 6:31 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress
3/2/12 6:44 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks great on you.
3/2/12 7:00 AM
nicegirl said...
What a fantastic fit! This looks great on you.
3/2/12 10:16 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Your dress turned out great, and even better, I have the pattern in my stash. You look really good in it. I'm sure you're smiling on the inside. ;D
3/2/12 9:21 PM
waikikimum said...
A lovely dress and very flattering.
3/3/12 4:12 AM
magpie57 said...
Loved reading your review-the fluffy and industrial strength parts cracked me up! I never would had thought that that would fit on a lady that is 'fluffy' like you and me! It is very flattering. You have given me the courage to try a dress.
3/4/12 1:49 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress, excellent fit, and the color looks wonderful on you!
3/4/12 4:32 PM
Soliel said...
It looks more chic the way you did than on the pattern.
3/8/12 10:09 PM
Tina Lou said...
Thanks for an excellent review - you look wonderful in your dress! I too have signed up for the class and am anxiously waiting for time to devote to it. Thanks also for letting us see how wonderful this looks in a knit - I love the comfort of knit dresses, and your thoughtful tips for changing the fabric type will certainly come in handy!
3/10/12 3:35 PM
Klutzy said...
Wow, very thorough and helpful review! The dress looks great, but your review convinced me I'm not ready for a pattern this complicated, even with a class. I'm sorry I can't figure out how to send private emails--would you mind telling me where you got your industrial strength bra? We're similar sizes and I need one!
5/5/12 5:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8834

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
New Look 6674

photo
by: cequimby

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now