SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8648 (Misses' Dress)

32 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 782 times 
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Riesiestar
MD United States
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/12 6:44 PM
Last Updated:3/1/12 10:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Klutzy said...
Wow, very thorough and helpful review! The dress looks great, but your review convinced me I'm not ready for a pattern this complicated, even with a class. I'm sorry I can't figure out how to send private emails--would you mind telling me where you got your industrial strength bra? We're similar sizes and I need one!
5/5/12 5:50 AM
Tina Lou said...
Thanks for an excellent review - you look wonderful in your dress! I too have signed up for the class and am anxiously waiting for time to devote to it. Thanks also for letting us see how wonderful this looks in a knit - I love the comfort of knit dresses, and your thoughtful tips for changing the fabric type will certainly come in handy!
3/10/12 3:35 PM
Soliel said...
It looks more chic the way you did than on the pattern.
3/8/12 10:09 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress, excellent fit, and the color looks wonderful on you!
3/4/12 4:32 PM
magpie57 said...
Loved reading your review-the fluffy and industrial strength parts cracked me up! I never would had thought that that would fit on a lady that is 'fluffy' like you and me! It is very flattering. You have given me the courage to try a dress.
3/4/12 1:49 PM
waikikimum said...
A lovely dress and very flattering.
3/3/12 4:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Your dress turned out great, and even better, I have the pattern in my stash. You look really good in it. I'm sure you're smiling on the inside. ;D
3/2/12 9:21 PM
nicegirl said...
What a fantastic fit! This looks great on you.
3/2/12 10:16 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks great on you.
3/2/12 7:00 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress
3/2/12 6:44 AM
jo lin said...
Thank you for your review. I have this pattern and hope mine turns out as great as yours.
3/2/12 6:31 AM
Scheri said...
Great dress. Glad you did the review have this pattern and have signed up for class online. Enjoy your dress!
3/2/12 1:56 AM
BeaJay said...
Love your dress. I might try this pattern myself - very flattering. Great job.
3/1/12 3:36 PM
mangoflavor said...
Great job - it fits you really well!
3/1/12 2:53 PM
4u2cme said...
I also signed up for the class w/Susan. Thanks for reviewing this dress. Now I feel like I will have success with the pattern. Usually the dresses are too short so I'll be sure to check the length before cutting my dress. Your dress is flattering.
3/1/12 1:42 PM
cmarie12 said...
Riesie, I signed up for the class but was looking sideways at the pattern, but now that you've made such a lovely dress I feel confident to go ahead with it. This is not the first time I've followed you and ended up with a great pattern and I'm sure the results will be the same this time. Enjoy wearing your pretty dress!
3/1/12 9:18 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is a very chic dress! The fit is great.
3/1/12 6:21 AM
marec said...
Riesie, this is an awesome dress, and looks terrific on you!
3/1/12 0:36 AM
Riesie said...
Yes, I omitted the zipper. I cut it with a back seam, just in case, but there was plenty of ease/stretch so I didn't bother with the zipper. Thanks for kind remarks, everybody.
3/1/12 0:26 AM
marjoriekh said...
Love the color, and it looks like you got a fantastic fit. Very flattering, I agree. I forget that woven patterns can often work well in knits -- I need to look more closely at this one. ETA: Did you leave out the zipper?
2/29/12 8:15 PM
VogueMistress said...
Great fit, and really flattering!
2/29/12 7:46 PM
sewingfoo said...
Great dress and color!
2/29/12 7:44 PM
brissie71 said...
Lovely dress, Riesie. It's such a pretty colour and the fit is spot on. Well done!
2/29/12 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5147

photo
by: busybee cr...

Review
New Look 6102

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now