Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8648 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest    printable version
Viewed 745 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR
About Riesiestar
VA USA
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/12 6:44 PM
Last Updated:3/1/12 10:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Lovely dress, Riesie. It's such a pretty colour and the fit is spot on. Well done!
2/29/12 7:30 PM
sewingfoo said...
Great dress and color!
2/29/12 7:44 PM
VogueMistress said...
Great fit, and really flattering!
2/29/12 7:46 PM
marjoriekh said...
Love the color, and it looks like you got a fantastic fit. Very flattering, I agree. I forget that woven patterns can often work well in knits -- I need to look more closely at this one. ETA: Did you leave out the zipper?
2/29/12 8:15 PM
Riesie said...
Yes, I omitted the zipper. I cut it with a back seam, just in case, but there was plenty of ease/stretch so I didn't bother with the zipper. Thanks for kind remarks, everybody.
3/1/12 0:26 AM
marec said...
Riesie, this is an awesome dress, and looks terrific on you!
3/1/12 0:36 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is a very chic dress! The fit is great.
3/1/12 6:21 AM
cmarie12 said...
Riesie, I signed up for the class but was looking sideways at the pattern, but now that you've made such a lovely dress I feel confident to go ahead with it. This is not the first time I've followed you and ended up with a great pattern and I'm sure the results will be the same this time. Enjoy wearing your pretty dress!
3/1/12 9:18 AM
4u2cme said...
I also signed up for the class w/Susan. Thanks for reviewing this dress. Now I feel like I will have success with the pattern. Usually the dresses are too short so I'll be sure to check the length before cutting my dress. Your dress is flattering.
3/1/12 1:42 PM
mangoflavor said...
Great job - it fits you really well!
3/1/12 2:53 PM
BeaJay said...
Love your dress. I might try this pattern myself - very flattering. Great job.
3/1/12 3:36 PM
Scheri said...
Great dress. Glad you did the review have this pattern and have signed up for class online. Enjoy your dress!
3/2/12 1:56 AM
jo lin said...
Thank you for your review. I have this pattern and hope mine turns out as great as yours.
3/2/12 6:31 AM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress
3/2/12 6:44 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks great on you.
3/2/12 7:00 AM
nicegirl said...
What a fantastic fit! This looks great on you.
3/2/12 10:16 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Your dress turned out great, and even better, I have the pattern in my stash. You look really good in it. I'm sure you're smiling on the inside. ;D
3/2/12 9:21 PM
waikikimum said...
A lovely dress and very flattering.
3/3/12 4:12 AM
magpie57 said...
Loved reading your review-the fluffy and industrial strength parts cracked me up! I never would had thought that that would fit on a lady that is 'fluffy' like you and me! It is very flattering. You have given me the courage to try a dress.
3/4/12 1:49 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress, excellent fit, and the color looks wonderful on you!
3/4/12 4:32 PM
Soliel said...
It looks more chic the way you did than on the pattern.
3/8/12 10:09 PM
Tina Lou said...
Thanks for an excellent review - you look wonderful in your dress! I too have signed up for the class and am anxiously waiting for time to devote to it. Thanks also for letting us see how wonderful this looks in a knit - I love the comfort of knit dresses, and your thoughtful tips for changing the fabric type will certainly come in handy!
3/10/12 3:35 PM
Klutzy said...
Wow, very thorough and helpful review! The dress looks great, but your review convinced me I'm not ready for a pattern this complicated, even with a class. I'm sorry I can't figure out how to send private emails--would you mind telling me where you got your industrial strength bra? We're similar sizes and I need one!
5/5/12 5:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us