SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5913 (Vintage Dress)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 238 times 
Reviewed by:Sunkissedjellybaby
photo

 
 
About Sunkissedjellybabystar
IRELAND
Member since: 8/15/09
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/12 7:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

boutiquefabric


High end fashion fabrics
Deals!

The Smuggler's Daughter


Online Fabric Store
Web site

Victoria Jones Collection


Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
StudioCherie said...
Very entertaining review. I agree with Norsecross who said "wear it with a secret smile on your face." It looks great on you and will be fabulous belted too.
4/26/12 3:51 PM
Margaret said...
Very cute -- love how you combined fabrics!
4/23/12 12:37 PM
Norsecross said...
Super clever to make the sleeves with a cool looking scarf! You persevered, there is a lot of that sort of adventure in sewing, isn't there! Sheesh! I wish I had a nickle for all the troubles I have had with collars. It is cute, wear it with a secret smile on your face!
4/15/12 12:54 PM
petro said...
Inspired fabric combination!
4/11/12 4:07 PM
Aroura said...
So pretty, love the sleeves also!
4/9/12 11:41 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love what you did with the sleeves on this dress. So 70's looking. Excellent review by the way!
4/9/12 7:55 AM
trudiz said...
Thank you, thank you for sharing your "adventures" with this project. I am currently working on a similar trial and error project and appreciate your words of encouragement. Will share it in a future review.
4/8/12 9:25 PM
Calama said...
Love the fabrics combination, very nice!
4/8/12 9:05 PM
svetlana said...
I put that pattern as 1967 or 1968. My mother made me many variations of this pattern adding elements from other patterns. I had one long sleeved, 2 short straigt sleeves and one with short puffed sleeves, and at least 2 sleveless. Collar variations: pointed, rounded, jewel neckline, high rolled and mandarin. She also added a false short placket with buttons on one and bibbed face bodice front with piping details on another. Mine were not as short as those pictured, though the style of the time was a mini skirt. My mother did not hold with such nonsese.
4/8/12 8:52 PM
velosewer said...
You've been through a great deal with this dress but it really is a classic vintage look. Love the fabrics you've used. You've got more guts than I have, sewing a french seam on a curve...
4/8/12 7:44 PM
facesunderwater said...
I love the sleeves!
4/8/12 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-107

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review
Butterick 4399

photo
by: Lynn67

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now