SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> BV6859 (1950s Tripple Tiered Skirt)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 251 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpegstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 8:47 PM
Last Updated:4/16/12 3:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
magpie57 said...
Will you put a petticoat under it? I expect that is why it is so full?
4/14/12 2:16 PM
Oceanpeg said...
If I wear it for line dancing or square dancing might do so. Can also wear this as an everyday skirt without the petticoat underneath it. Have several more of these hanging up in my closet. Used to wear this style of skirt for squaredancing back in the 1950s when in high school as well to school as a regular skirt.
4/14/12 7:46 PM
Renren said...
Oh, thanks for that detailed photostream. I read the caption to each photo and followed the process. I like how you zigzagged twice and how straight the stitching is AND how perfectly you pinned in those pleats. Good luck finishing this and I will be watching for the grand finale!
4/15/12 11:59 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Renren. Went out to dinner wearing my pink swing skirt on Monday evening with a group of ladies and got a lot of compliments on it. Wore it just like in the photos, without any extra under garments. It really and definitely is for street wear and not just for special occassions and special events related to the 50's. The 50's dance was sold out, so didn't get a ticket to go to it, wearing my swing skirt this coming weekend. Have worn my other skirts, this same style, to many of our monthly meetings etc., at our clubhouse and elsewhere without the extra undergarments, too. This style of skirt is almost identical to the recent broomstick skirts.
4/17/12 1:33 AM
petro said...
I've been following the progress on the skirt, and now its finished! It looks great.
4/17/12 8:29 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks petro.
4/18/12 6:02 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great looking skirt! Excellent fabric choice.
4/19/12 7:18 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Peter.
4/22/12 2:11 PM
Margaret said...
This looks like such a fun skirt! Must have been a lot to hem though! Love the rickrack (and the cat pics too :)
4/22/12 4:44 PM
StudioCherie said...
terrific entry. The skirt looks great on you!
4/23/12 0:40 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Margaret & Cherie. One of my 2 cats always seem to find their way into my photos. Especially when its an item I made up and taking photos of it... :)
4/24/12 0:24 AM
Heatherrique said...
What a stunning swing skirt! Very nice work!
5/6/12 0:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Other corset

photo
by: julibet

Review