SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6506 (Misses'/Miss Petite Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 526 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 145
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 10:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mary varcoe said...
Love the dress and Love the Quilt in the background.
11/3/12 6:40 AM
Pinkbird said...
Lovely dress and thanks for all the very helpful sewing tips ;)
10/14/12 11:56 AM
marec said...
What a beautiful dress Barb. I have been absent quite a bit lately and missed this review. I put this pattern on my wish list.
9/16/12 8:56 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Barb, Seeing this dress on you...amazing! Your photo's don't even do justice...your fit in this dress was imppecable and the time you took to make this was well worth the effort. I am glad I have this pattern in my stash because you have convinced me to make it. Unfortunately I'd like to make it in YOUR fabric! it is so pretty. Your pearls...just the right touch. Going back and reading this review was helpful too. I think your skirt has just the right amount of fabric...and lots of good tips here. Thanks for the review!
6/11/12 1:23 PM
Carriekaye said...
I want to make this dress, came on PR and found one review - yours! Well, I started it tonight thanks to your great review and beautiful dress. Now, if I can just get it to look as nice as yours. Thank you for the very thorough review and tip!
4/27/12 1:17 AM
bhadom said...
Barb, a great review and a terrific dress. You did a wonderful job with the fit and it looks so comfortable.
4/22/12 10:00 PM
Raye Ann said...
I don't know what it is...we have so many of the same patterns!! This one is on my short list for a new dress, so your terrific review is very helpful. Great dress in a great fabric!
4/15/12 11:15 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Nice dress and a colorful belt would be a great addition!
4/15/12 5:46 PM
sew2little said...
So cute, Barb. I love shirtwaists. Your quilt is also beautiful.
4/15/12 5:29 PM
sew2little said...
So cute, Barb. I love shirtwaists. Your quilt is also beautiful.
4/15/12 5:28 PM
landstromd said...
This dress is absolutely fantastic on you! Wow you can tell you really took your time. I'm so impressed by your fitting and alternations, haven't gotten up the nerve to really try anything on my own, I will need personal lessons! One thing, where do you put the dart in the shoulder seam to help snug things up? thanks again for a great review!
4/15/12 10:47 AM
Barbara V said...
Nice choice of style and fabric! It looks super on you! Very informative review.....I will use the "thread come-along on pointed collar" tip...thanks!
4/15/12 10:31 AM
cleverkitty said...
Big applause over here in Ohio, this happens to be so fine a dress that you could not find another likeness, it's timeless and the fit is perfect, don't get me started on the fabric, at the moment I am lusting... I would make the belt just to be able to sew the fabric again and possibly use with other outfits/tunics. A contrast belt in another print would put it over the edge with even more style. Thanks for the tip, I'm going to use it with the project I'm working on :)
4/15/12 10:07 AM
prttynpnk said...
This is so classic and all the tips are so helpful- I'm printing this out and putting it with the pattern. Lovely fabric!
4/15/12 5:26 AM
Maree P said...
This is lovely summer dress Barb. beautifully sewn. I still have the 1980's pattern that you allude to ....I made the sleeveless version too. I find accessorising tricky too...a red or black wide belt with wedge espadrilles?
4/15/12 0:33 AM
Christas said...
I have this pattern on my list of ones to buy. I love your version. You really got a nice fit, and the dress looks great on you!
4/15/12 0:00 AM
SewWil said...
So nice to see this sewn up. I have this pattern in my stash. Your dress is beautiful. Belt? I think it looks nice without a belt but I'm sure the self-fabric tie belt would be nice as well. I think you are right about a contrast belt.
4/14/12 10:32 PM
Knitz said...
Very nice!
4/14/12 10:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8623

photo
by: Annette1

Review
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

More Info
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

More Info
Burda 9503

photo
by: rabitgrl

Review