SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8997 (vintage 1940s) (Nightgown)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 247 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 5:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
And it's pretty, feminine, elegant AND sexy ;D
4/15/12 7:44 AM
petro said...
Very pretty. I have a 1940's nightie pattern too, perhaps I'll dig it out and try it now. For the curved neck/ribbon issue - what about putting elastic with ribbon sewn at the ends of it, so the elastic does the work, and you still get a ribbon to tie?
4/15/12 8:01 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Lovely nightgown, Margaret. And it looks comfortable to wear as well.
4/15/12 9:44 AM
Renren said...
So light and airy . . . and pure and innocent. Very nice vintage nightgown and then as a bonus another great review from the great Margaret!
4/15/12 11:46 AM
jenleeC said...
Lovely nightgown and great review, thanks.
4/15/12 9:01 PM
velosewer said...
I like the off centre bow too.
4/15/12 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! Petro, that is one of the things I was thinking of doing. I'm not sure if 3/4" elastic might still try to curl in the neckline, so I may have to do a double casing with narrower elastic, so that I can make the elastic closer to the edge shorter. But either way, I'd keep the bow (even just tacking one on top if I have to). Have fun with your pattern!
4/16/12 6:14 AM
cindyann said...
I just love vintage nightgowns and yours looks so pretty. I'm sure it will be most comfortable to wear.
4/16/12 10:01 AM
jannw said...
How pretty!! and another great review with lots of info!
4/16/12 9:30 PM
loti said...
So lightweight a wisp of a nightie, very pretty, and romantic.
4/17/12 1:35 PM
StudioCherie said...
Great review. Thanks for being so thorough.
4/23/12 11:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely! That pattern would work well in a dainty print like a Liberty lawn, and it could also work as a peasant-style top or dress if you felt so inclined.
4/24/12 8:08 AM
droxy said...
That is a very pretty pattern!
4/24/12 2:01 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Wow Margaret, this is beautiful! I woud not change a thing on it! Can yu tell me how to get a hold of this pattern (if this is possible?) Great work!
4/28/12 1:03 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks again for all your kind comments! FreyaStark, yes, a Liberty lawn would be great! valkyrie01, I sent you a PM.
4/29/12 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1915

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review