SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8997 (vintage 1940s) (Nightgown)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 247 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 5:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
And it's pretty, feminine, elegant AND sexy ;D
4/15/12 7:44 AM
petro said...
Very pretty. I have a 1940's nightie pattern too, perhaps I'll dig it out and try it now. For the curved neck/ribbon issue - what about putting elastic with ribbon sewn at the ends of it, so the elastic does the work, and you still get a ribbon to tie?
4/15/12 8:01 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Lovely nightgown, Margaret. And it looks comfortable to wear as well.
4/15/12 9:44 AM
Renren said...
So light and airy . . . and pure and innocent. Very nice vintage nightgown and then as a bonus another great review from the great Margaret!
4/15/12 11:46 AM
jenleeC said...
Lovely nightgown and great review, thanks.
4/15/12 9:01 PM
velosewer said...
I like the off centre bow too.
4/15/12 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! Petro, that is one of the things I was thinking of doing. I'm not sure if 3/4" elastic might still try to curl in the neckline, so I may have to do a double casing with narrower elastic, so that I can make the elastic closer to the edge shorter. But either way, I'd keep the bow (even just tacking one on top if I have to). Have fun with your pattern!
4/16/12 6:14 AM
cindyann said...
I just love vintage nightgowns and yours looks so pretty. I'm sure it will be most comfortable to wear.
4/16/12 10:01 AM
jannw said...
How pretty!! and another great review with lots of info!
4/16/12 9:30 PM
loti said...
So lightweight a wisp of a nightie, very pretty, and romantic.
4/17/12 1:35 PM
StudioCherie said...
Great review. Thanks for being so thorough.
4/23/12 11:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely! That pattern would work well in a dainty print like a Liberty lawn, and it could also work as a peasant-style top or dress if you felt so inclined.
4/24/12 8:08 AM
droxy said...
That is a very pretty pattern!
4/24/12 2:01 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Wow Margaret, this is beautiful! I woud not change a thing on it! Can yu tell me how to get a hold of this pattern (if this is possible?) Great work!
4/28/12 1:03 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks again for all your kind comments! FreyaStark, yes, a Liberty lawn would be great! valkyrie01, I sent you a PM.
4/29/12 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: velosewer

Review