Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 6557 (1974 Look Slimmer Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 445 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:lyndle
photo
Friend of PR
About lyndlestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 3/19/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 6:50 AM
Last Updated:4/15/12 8:12 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Looks great! I like it so much better on you then the envelope! I also enjoy your sense of humor! Nora :)
4/15/12 7:22 AM
petro said...
I love the 'nice collar thingy', the seams near the top in the centre front panel and the buttons. Lots of style!
4/15/12 7:42 AM
sewhappygrams said...
I love the style and the dress looks good on you! Love the fact that you used your Aunts old buttons. Isn't it great to access to vintage buttons? Thanks for the review and sharing with us.
4/15/12 9:08 AM
EleanorSews said...
I really love the way you fitted this pattern. It is beautiful on you. Nice to have your aunt's buttons. That's always special. All in all, great! And, what a fun review to read ~ even better, useful.
4/15/12 10:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look so fab in your new dress, which you gave a modern-day edge!
4/15/12 11:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great design lines on this pattern and lovely fit on you. Sorry about the iron, but now you get a new one!
4/15/12 11:55 AM
lyndle said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! It does look better than in the photo. New iron... hmm, the new irons I have tried out at other people's places all suck - I am getting out my screwdriver first!
4/15/12 4:24 PM
KathySews said...
you got a great fit and the dress looks great.
4/16/12 7:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You did a great job on the fit. Now make it in something pretty.
4/16/12 6:13 PM
lyndle said...
Winter here is a pretty sombre dressing time... at least for me. But you're right, I should keep this on the list of possible dresses in something pretty and summery for the end of the year.
4/16/12 10:41 PM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful dress!
4/17/12 11:29 PM
mendospot said...
I think it looks great. Please post it in the Gallery of the wikia vintage pattern board!
4/20/12 7:06 PM
Wianno Girl said...
Agree it looks way better on you than the envelope and I add a great sense of humour keeps your mind open to solutions - Congrats on both.
4/21/12 12:07 PM
StudioCherie said...
Love the details and the fit. Your dress is beautiful.
4/21/12 1:36 PM
brissie71 said...
What a lovely dress! I find it interesting that it's a vintage pattern as it looks so modern and fresh to me. I'm also sympathising with you on the technology fail - what a pain! :-)
4/22/12 3:35 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you! Sorry about the iron!
4/22/12 5:19 PM
magpie57 said...
I think this looks lovely on you!! Sorry about your iron. I had one I loved that my husband bought before we got married. He needed it when he joined the military. It died the day he retired! 20 years and a few days. I guess that is the best they can do, 20 years!
4/23/12 11:38 PM
Adventurer said...
Congratulations on entering a contest! I haven't yet, but hope to. Really enjoyed your humor. Nice details and collar thingy.
4/24/12 11:19 PM
ImListening said...
This is a very attractive dress. I guess it's the combination of style, fabric, fit, and sewing skill that makes it this way. The buttons are a nice detail.
4/26/12 5:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Butterick 5351
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 6/7/09
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Laurel Laurel
photo
Review by Crystal Pl... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Jalie 2918 Pattern
Jalie 2918 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us