SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3216 (Vintage Opera Coat)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 1064 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Very nice, and I really am amazed at an opera coat from that housecoat pattern; I wouldn't have made that leap.
6/5/12 8:19 AM
GinormicaMG said...
Peter you are something else! I love the sophisticated 50ís look and your work is impeccable.
5/9/12 2:16 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everyone! They're always fun to create, though running into neighbors in the elevator sometimes raises a few eyebrows.
5/1/12 10:18 AM
Weif said...
Great coat and I love your story board!!
5/1/12 9:26 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
Great coat! Thanks also for the photoshoot. You've made me laugh on a horrible rainy day!
5/1/12 8:07 AM
SewWil said...
Congratulations! Cathy looks marvelous in her opera coat. I enjoyed reading about Cathy's exploits in her new outfit.
5/1/12 0:32 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Yipee skippy...You did a great job...probably first of it's kind. THe opera coat really turned out fantastic, like your collar. Can't wait to see her new bundle of joy!
4/27/12 4:10 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Congratulations!!!! Well done....well done!
4/27/12 11:31 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Beautiful ensemble! Cathy is lucky to have her own personal courtier. I am just a few miles over the bridge (hint hint)
4/26/12 1:02 AM
BMH said...
Lovely, with beautiful details.
4/25/12 11:28 AM
droxy said...
Cathy looks fab. You should see my male cousin. =) Fantastic coat. I have a vintage 80s kenmore and a singer 401. Wish I had time to sew more.
4/24/12 12:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! I love the coat and the stripey smock. The floral lining is a cute and witty touch.
4/24/12 8:03 AM
Aroura said...
You've outdone yourself this time! Cathy looks fantastic, and love the story, glowing mom-to-be. :). Perfect colors for her!
4/20/12 12:01 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Cathy is stunning in the beautiful opera coat and ensemble! Do let us know when the baby arrives.
4/20/12 8:03 AM
jmosew said...
I just love the Cathy photo shoots. That coat is lovely and the maternity top is very pretty too. Cathy wears them so well!
4/18/12 7:30 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm wetting my pants after reading Cathy's story. Doesn't she look lovely with a bun-in-the-oven/baby bump. Hats off to you and your creativity! I want to live in the day when a coat and robe can be cut from the same pattern. Throw those fitting worries out the window.
4/18/12 1:30 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is a wonderful coat!
4/16/12 10:10 PM
portercs said...
Lovely!!!
4/16/12 6:15 PM
Peter in NYC said...
He, he....no. But I did make them all on my Featherweight!
4/16/12 2:14 PM
JEF said...
Cathy is in another stunner. Great sewing Peter! Anyof it done on your treadle?
4/16/12 1:38 PM
Jeffer said...
Very creative!! Wish I could visit the garment district to pick up fabric like that at those prices :). The style of the coat seems perfect for Cathy
4/16/12 11:51 AM
pterion said...
Wonderful coat! Lovely springy color brings out the rose in Kathy's cheeks. Amazing sewing and storytelling. Well done!
4/16/12 9:37 AM
ChantillyDreams said...
Too much fun!!! If I could get my hubby to the opera, I'd be proud to wear that!
4/16/12 8:59 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, folks!
4/16/12 7:32 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful ensemble! I like your collar and cuff changes.
4/16/12 6:19 AM
Bonnie O said...
Fantastic ensemble!
4/16/12 5:51 AM
rivergum said...
Gorgeous! I love this coat and Cathy looks stunning in it.
4/16/12 5:41 AM
Cerisa said...
That is one gorgeous coat and Cathy looks radiant in it.
4/16/12 2:49 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful coat Peter. Love your fabric color choices.
4/16/12 2:42 AM
petro said...
I remember these, seeing my mother in that shape of coat. I always loved them. Lucky Cathy.
4/16/12 2:17 AM
Athene said...
A very lovely coat, and I continue to enjoy the adventures of Cathy.
4/16/12 2:08 AM
sew2little said...
Kathy is glowing!
4/16/12 0:57 AM
lyndle said...
Have been following progress on your blog. How do you fit in so much sewing? This looks fab, and multifunctional - do you think Peter could borrow it from Cathy for a night out?
4/16/12 0:34 AM
velosewer said...
OMG. What a beautiful coat.
4/15/12 10:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now