Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2443 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Best of Patterns Contest    printable version
Viewed 393 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:UglyCute
photo
About UglyCutestar
CA USA
Member since: 12/29/08
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/30/12 11:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HeyDollface said...
A very helpful review. I got this pattern on sale for a buck and compulsively bought it despite it not really being my style. It sort of looked like a pain to work with but with this knowledge i think i'll skip it to try other patterns that won't drive me up the wall. Your variation is lovely, though, if i do try it i will take your advice and opt for a knit fabric and no zipper.
4/30/12 12:05 PM
S I G R I D said...
Well, the end result is very nice looking even if the construction was a pain. and I love the jacket you made from this pattern.
4/30/12 12:24 PM
waltzqueen said...
The dress is gorgeous so I think it was worth the effort and fuss. Totally looks like a high-end store bought dress amd it looks fantastic on you!
4/30/12 1:55 PM
nicegirl said...
Your neck and armscye bindings look great--not an easy thing to do! The dress is cute, though I think I will stay away from the pattern.
4/30/12 3:44 PM
jlg said...
Great modifications. This is wonderful on you.
4/30/12 4:47 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I hear you. I made this last year and it was a total pain to make. I had trim and notch the facings so much that it is all ready coming apart. Your version looks very nice and am tempted to make another. Maybe if I am really really bored.
4/30/12 8:35 PM
JenniferMM said...
This dress looks fantastic! At least you have a great dress for all that suffering.
5/1/12 12:12 PM
StudioCherie said...
Love your dress. Great work
5/15/12 11:27 AM
petro said...
Those facings on the neck/armscye look very professional. Its made a terrific dress in spite of the construction battle.
5/16/12 12:45 PM
barebear said...
Despite the problems you had with the pattern and instructions, your dress turned out really great. That colour choice looks really good on you too. :)
5/20/12 2:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 6113
photo
Review by Dawnabbey on 4/20/13
Read Review

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1100
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 5/19/12
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us