SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Self-drafted (Au Bonheur inspired sweater)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/12 0:17 AM
Last Updated:5/23/12 3:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
I see what you mean about the dye. The colour still makes this top effective. I can see this pattern being useful for two sided stripe or print.
5/15/12 1:24 AM
Sharonspils said...
Lovely top and you did a beautiful job on the dying of the wool.
5/15/12 2:07 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great job - I am very impressed with all your drafted tops!
5/15/12 2:13 AM
Mel.J said...
Wonderful!
5/15/12 2:24 AM
CCQ said...
Nice job; looks very RTW.
5/15/12 10:19 AM
margk said...
Great work!
5/15/12 7:18 PM
jenleeC said...
Nice top! The collar detail adds a nice interest.
5/15/12 9:42 PM
mm said...
Well done. It looks great.
5/16/12 0:35 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks everyone. Velosewer, I have a striped wool rib that I am considering for this top. I agree the stripes would be quite effective, so may give it a go.
5/16/12 2:47 AM
mmcp said...
Lovely sweater. Someone in France needs to dig up all the leftover Bonheur patterns (they must exist, right?) and throw them on e-bay!
5/16/12 6:24 AM
cleverkitty said...
very very nice, this would rival any designer :)
5/16/12 7:44 AM
VivianZ said...
very nice sweater. I like the design very much.
5/16/12 8:56 AM
sfshaza said...
What a great job you did with this!!! It looks fabulous!
5/19/12 3:07 AM
rivergum said...
Very elegant top. I love the pattern you made and the way it is finished.
5/22/12 1:42 AM
DaisyA said...
Ohh La La! C'est magnifique!
5/23/12 6:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Your sweater came out lighter than expected because if you used Dylon it's "fiber reactive" dye, which is for cellulose fibers. For wool, a protein fiber, you need to use acid dyes, which are actually less fussy to use. Next time :-)..
5/23/12 12:21 PM
Dilliander said...
Thanks again for the kind comments. fuzzygalore your explanation of the different types of dyes is very helpful and I have added a note to your comment in the review. The Dylon packet says it can be used with any natural fibre and explains that wool will be a lighter colour, but in reality there was a big variation in tone.
5/23/12 7:11 PM
meggipeg said...
I just scrolled through the contest entries and this was the one that caught my eye. Absolutely stylish and gorgeous. Love it.
5/27/12 6:37 PM
wendyrb said...
I think this is one of the most beautiful things I've seen on PR! And there have been plenty of greats. Thanks for the well detailed review. I look forward to seeing more variations and wish I could locate that pattern.
6/2/12 1:49 PM
Mufffet said...
That is so lovely!
6/4/12 12:31 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, what a great review and amazing sweater! Very impressed!
6/5/12 6:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive achievement and a lovely garment.
6/15/12 7:19 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous! Love the colour. Your hard work was worth it.
6/16/12 8:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-26

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now