SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6171 (Misses' Lined Jackets)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:hpsauce
photo

 
 
About hpsaucestar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/3/09
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/12 1:59 PM
Last Updated:5/29/12 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
great jacket, thanks for the detailed review!
1/27/13 11:51 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! It's gorgeous, and I can't believe you only spent $30 on the leather! Did you "crop" the sleeves? How big was the hide?
12/1/12 11:40 AM
kremmer said...
I totally love it! What a wonderful jacket! Well done to you!
6/24/12 11:46 PM
ArtAttack said...
Congrats on placing in the Natural Fibers contest!!
6/23/12 2:13 PM
heathergwo said...
I think you were robbed of the first place prize in this contest. This jacket is AMAZING and I can't believe you've only been sewing for 3 yrs! You're my sewing hero! Fab jacket & LOVE the lining and pocket inside - too clever!
6/22/12 7:03 PM
Aless said...
Absolutely amazing!!!!!
6/14/12 2:46 AM
CConverse said...
Fantastic! Can't decide what my favorite feature is, the ruffles or that awesome lining.
6/8/12 10:09 AM
meggipeg said...
Wow! I thought I got a cheap leather jacket from Bali last year at $150. This is really impressive for $30. Makes me think about making one. Great job.
6/5/12 10:02 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, the ruffles are an amazing touch, worth the trouble. Great jacket, love it!!
6/5/12 7:00 PM
JenniferMM said...
This looks fantastic! Indeed, the ruffles were the perfect touch. Great work persevering with those tricky things. I also adore the lining and the hat pocket. Adorable finishing touches!
6/5/12 8:40 AM
homewerk said...
So full of awesome-ness!
6/4/12 1:55 AM
mangoflavor said...
Great look!
5/31/12 6:56 AM
dawn so cal said...
Wow! Beautiful. And impressive!
5/31/12 6:23 AM
tsedai said...
Fabulous!
5/30/12 7:38 PM
CraftAddict said...
Great job. I absolutely ADORE the camel one!
5/30/12 4:29 PM
MNBarb said...
Why have I not made this pattern? It's in my stash, but perhaps I should just have you make a jacket for me. Your black leather with the ruffles is so professionally done it's unbelievable! I love it and you look fantastic in it. Congrats on your perfection!
5/30/12 1:25 PM
barebear said...
Oh my gosh, this is gorgeous! I love the ruffles! Your seams and topstitching looks really professional. :) Way to go!
5/30/12 12:38 PM
lcdrbetty said...
What more can be said!? This jacket is way cool. Nicely done!
5/30/12 12:21 PM
caper81 said...
Wow, this jacket is fantastic!! Nicely done :)
5/30/12 9:33 AM
redside said...
Wow! That's all I can say.
5/30/12 9:29 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautifully done. You do make it sound easy to work with leather. Very encouraging!
5/30/12 8:48 AM
pdiddly said...
what a terrific jacket and the ruffles were worth the effort - I too am so jealous of your $30 leather - I have some sued still waiting for me to sew - I must get going on it.
5/30/12 3:07 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Amazing and impressive!
5/30/12 2:33 AM
heathergwo said...
Awesome jacket! Love the ruffling - what a pay off from those hours of work! Really good job - you almost make it sound like leather is easy to work with... great review!
5/30/12 0:35 AM
ArtAttack said...
Biker meets elegance...love the unexpected combo!
5/29/12 10:12 PM
hme75 said...
WOW- this is fantastic!! And the leather seems to be great quality as well. I can't believe it was only $30. I love your camel jacket just as much. Beautiful.
5/29/12 9:03 PM
CCQ said...
Wow - that looks awesome and glad you persevered with the ruffles - nice touch! It's in my stash and waiting to be sewn :)
5/29/12 5:10 PM
velosewer said...
Now that was sorth sewing. I'm really pleased you have you sewing motivation back!
5/29/12 4:37 PM
Curly26 said...
That jacket is rockin.
5/29/12 4:08 PM
JuanitaVA said...
Great job! I love the detailing and the lining fabric. The inner pocket was a nice touch. Good for you sticking with it to make those ruffles.
5/29/12 3:27 PM
BexInMD said...
What a fabulous jacket! The ruffles are simply amazing. Love the "mad" lining.
5/29/12 3:18 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is absolutely FABULOUS!!!!! I love the ruffles.
5/29/12 3:15 PM
RadarRadiance said...
What a great touch, love the ruffle on it! Can't believe you got the whole jacket out of one hide for $30, it looks fantastic!
5/29/12 2:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8496

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: unfinished...

Review