Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2011-116 (Knit Cowl Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 456 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/12 10:01 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
Nice work; great review.! Love that 60's style print.
7/11/12 10:49 AM
Kemish said...
Wow! What a great print. The dress fits you perfectly. Great review.
7/11/12 11:23 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Cute dress and clever idea with the boning!
7/11/12 11:49 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Groovy--love the way you tamed the cowl with the boning/snap/stay.
7/11/12 12:07 PM
Dale C said...
Nice dress. The snap for the cowl is a wonderful idea.
7/11/12 2:32 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh cute! Great pattern. This style looks good on so many people and is very popular now, and looks terrific on you! Great work.
7/11/12 4:58 PM
moonthirty said...
Awesomely cute dress -- and great idea with the snaps!
7/11/12 7:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
A cute dress. You've done well to get that cowl under control.
7/11/12 9:32 PM
Nan Kay said...
The work was worth it! This is a great dress.
7/11/12 11:07 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dress. Love the cowl. Great way to get it under control with the boning. Fun fabric. As usual I enjoyed your review very much.
7/11/12 11:36 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Please don't call me a troll but I don't like this dress on you. Clever fix with the cowl but you shouldn't have to fix things like that. I love all your other dresses but I have to be honest here - this one just doesn't work. Great review as always.
7/12/12 0:33 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Looks great on you though, i wouldn't have guessed all the problems with the sticks and boning in your finished version
7/12/12 2:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress in spite of all the fitting issues. Great ideas and thanks for sharing your methods for fixing the fit better.
7/12/12 5:29 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I loved reading your review and your blog post. This is a great looking dress!
7/12/12 9:04 AM
cleverkitty said...
real nice dress I love the print on you...
7/12/12 10:11 AM
grays08 said...
Thanks for the cowl information. I liked this dress but wasn't sure how it would do. It helps so much to have this info!
7/17/12 6:58 PM
Levone said...
I love your dress and think it looks great on you (so I guess I love sack dresses, LOL). Anyhow, I went back to look at your McCalls dress...gorgeous as well!
8/30/12 11:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8825
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7800
photo
Review by morzel on 5/6/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us