Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5890 thumbsup - Type:Coordinates
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2012 Contest    printable version
Viewed 618 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/12 2:22 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
When I first saw your picture I thought "How pretty!" I can't believe you don't like it, but sometimes that's how it is. Let it hang around for a while and try again. It especially looks pretty with what you're wearing it with.
7/22/12 6:10 AM
Mobycat said...
I agree 100% with BillieJean.
7/22/12 8:48 AM
JTink said...
This is lovely! It really doesn't accent the "girls" like you think it does. I've had this pattern for a long time and never used it. But after seeing your pretty cardi, I just might have to put it at the top of my "to do" pile :-)
7/22/12 8:57 AM
RadarRadiance said...
The first thing I noticed is I liked it, love the color and the drape of your fabric. I would also let it sit and try it out again maybe with black pants and an ivory tank or something (color block style), I think it would really pop. I like it.
7/22/12 9:54 AM
mastdenman said...
I like it too. Maybe it needs a little time in the magic closet.
7/22/12 10:43 AM
blondieinparis said...
I think you look fabulous in this - the color, the style, the draping. I'm planning to make this too, and I sure hope mine looks as good as yours!
7/22/12 2:32 PM
JEF said...
Oh dear Sherril, I'm another one who saw the picture and thought - wow that is so pretty. I even thought to myself "McCalls? Am I going to have to buy a McCalls pattern?" If the arms are too tight, you're right, pitch it b/c you'll never wear it. BUT...for the style? It's a winner!
7/22/12 8:21 PM
Riesie said...
I agree with the others that you should let it marinate before pitching, though even if you change your mind about the style, the sleeves might be a deal killer. But the color is fabu, dahling! More things in that color!
7/23/12 2:16 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Well, I was going to say I agree with you. I too made this jacket and it just seemed off to me and tried this and that to make it work. but then I clicked on your picture and like yours way more and think it looks really nice on you. I was going to suggest to take the sleeves off and use it as a vest and wear it more open ...just something you could do if you really can't live with it as a cardi.
7/23/12 3:33 PM
OP Gal said...
I think your cardi is very becoming. I love the color of the fabric. Put it away for a week and see if you don't like it better when you take it out again.
7/23/12 11:00 PM
carolynw said...
Sherril I join the many who say this looks lovely BUT if you are not comfortable with it because it doesn't hang right then nothing will save it - I know many times I have made a top that really looks quite nice but because I can see a bit of my tummy it has been ditched - we all have body bits and parts we just do not like to emphasise in any way. Beautiful fabric so try and re-use
7/24/12 11:06 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I think that's awesome! So pretty, and I think it looks good on you.
7/24/12 9:52 PM
brissie71 said...
I really wish I'd seen your review before I made up this pattern. I get most of the way through this one for the Pattern Stash contest, then had to push through finishing it. I hate it, too. I'm ticked that I wasted good fabric on it. For me, it's not the fit so much as the way the wrong side of the fabric is exposed and the shoddy way the edges are meant to be finished. There are a thousand other cardigan patterns out there that are worth the time, IMO.
8/1/12 5:19 PM
Baja Susana said...
Sherrill the color is gorgeous on you, but the pattern does you no justice. I know how frustrating it is to spend time and money on a sadder. But overall you do a nice job.
8/18/13 10:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us