SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1138 (Metropolitan Verano Dress/Top)

Viewed 494 times 
Reviewed by:Speech girl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Speech girlstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 5/11/03
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/12 3:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DementedFairy said... (11/13/12 11:09 AM) Reply
I've made this one up as a top and as a dress, and had similar issues. The body is loooong [and I normally find things make up too short in the body], and the sizing is very generous indeed. On the 2nd run I cut out a whole size smaller than I would expect, it's much better. I had trouble with getting the waist seams to match up the first time too, I think the pieces may have stretched in handling...
Nancy K said... (8/20/12 9:39 AM) Reply
I wish I'd read your review before I made mine! I am a DD cup and didn't need to make any adjustments other than to raise the neckline a bit as well. It fell too low on my waist as well and if anything you'd think it would hike up with my larger bust. I do like your print. I didn't think to take in the side seams, but maybe I will and see if I like it better
Speech girl said... (8/5/12 3:14 PM) Reply
maiausaiu: my knit was thin, and the twist didn't create a lot of bulk, the excess ease is what would be overwhelming I think! Q Valley Mary: red shoes I do have as that is one of my favorite colors to wear. I think I forgot to say in my review that there is elastic attached at the waist except in the very front.
Q Valley Mary said... (8/4/12 12:00 PM) Reply
If I wanted to forget that I was wearing blue, I'd go for a pair of red shoes. You could feel good in them, and they'd add a nice contrast color to the outfit. I do wear blue a lot, however, and I really like your print. Just step out proud in it.
Riesie said... (8/4/12 9:47 AM) Reply
It's a lovely dress. Could you add a waist stay to keep the dress' waist at the right level?
PattyE said... (8/3/12 9:35 PM) Reply
Sorry it did not come out the way you wanted...I really like your fabric though.
miausiau said... (8/3/12 6:11 PM) Reply
Hmmm, the bodice does look much longer than in the drawing. I am attracted to the print and the concept, but all that fabric at the waist could overwhelm a petite figure. Thanks for the heads up!
michellep74 said... (8/3/12 6:00 PM) Reply
Cute dress! Black or metallic shoes should work with that print.
Calama said... (8/3/12 5:43 PM) Reply
I like the print! And the final product too. Black would work as shoes, I think.
JudyMac said... (8/3/12 5:20 PM) Reply
thanks for your detailed review. I think the dress would look cute with strappy black sandals (it looks as tho there is black in the print)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Pattern Details