SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1312 (Misses Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1446 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 5:06 PM
Last Updated:9/3/12 2:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathleencramer said...
Nice job!
8/29/12 5:32 PM
kkkkaty said...
so cute, but darn it, we want to see the pose too!
8/29/12 6:11 PM
Nrs4lyf said...
Good job. I'm inspired!
8/29/12 6:20 PM
Barbara V said...
Totally cool dress, Dorothy! Where's the pose????!!! Your alterations on length proved to give good proportion and choice to omit the zipper was smart. You look great in it!
8/29/12 6:37 PM
DorothyK said...
OK, I guess I'll have to take a picture with the pose. Will repost when it's ready.
8/29/12 7:01 PM
jenleeC said...
Great dress! I am a shorty too so it is good to see this style still works when shortened. I second the request for some crazy poses!
8/29/12 7:40 PM
mm said...
I have ordered this pattern so am delighted to see how well it turned out.
8/29/12 7:53 PM
lamstu said...
What a fun dress!
8/29/12 8:59 PM
Graca said...
It looks great! I really like yours with the long sleeves. I agree with going a size smaller, I thought the ease was generous and I think I will take your advice on that for my next one. Beautiful job.
8/29/12 9:12 PM
marthamyers said...
Great version of this very interesting pattern. I have been wondering about how the bodice would fit without any darts. You were smart to make it in a knit. It looks perfect on you!
8/29/12 9:18 PM
VogueMistress said...
You look great! I like it better on you...pose or no pose.
8/29/12 9:21 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Oh yes, using a knit was clever. I love this dress for all the reasons you've stated and appreciate your review even though I'll be adding inches on to the length! Really edgy and cool. One disappointment though.....no pose........ :( (LOL)
8/30/12 1:57 AM
Renata said...
You have a way of wearing and styling these edgy dresses that makes me want to make them. You look fabulous.
8/30/12 7:11 AM
NVK said...
I can't wait to see the photo in the pattern pose. I would love to hear your DH comments when taking the photo. This dress looks great on you. It goes with your individual style which I love. A job done well.
8/30/12 11:12 AM
Ann Smith said...
Love this. What a great comfort yet edgy dress. Can't wait to make it too.
8/31/12 12:07 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great dress and the pose is spot on! I hope your leg muscles aren't sore in the morning! :)
9/3/12 2:44 PM
AndreaSews said...
Love it, looks great on you!
9/3/12 3:19 PM
pegsewer said...
Love your look!
9/3/12 3:28 PM
rivergum said...
Great looking dress! It's on my list in a knit too, but I am procrastinating because a knit can't be ripped. Last time I made this using Sham's tablecloth method I ripped all the skirt pieces and it was super quick. Having to cut them will be a nuisance.
9/3/12 4:15 PM
zoe said...
Wow! Beautiful. Comfortable too; better and better.
9/3/12 6:15 PM
mhk3boys said...
I love your dress and review! I also LOVE your sense of humor!
9/3/12 6:27 PM
hpsauce said...
You rock, both the dress and the poses!
9/3/12 7:38 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, love your review!
9/3/12 9:38 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, love your review!
9/3/12 9:38 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love the entire look- fun dress, jewelry, shoes. It's a great look!
9/3/12 11:26 PM
Marge99 said...
The glamorous pose shot is brilliant!
9/4/12 1:39 PM
chenille said...
Awesome pose! This looks great on you.
9/4/12 5:21 PM
CypGrl said...
Thanks for a good laugh looking at your poses. I vote for glamorous. Actually, it is glamorous on you!
9/5/12 8:52 PM
jlg said...
Love the dress, fantastic review and great photos.
9/8/12 5:20 PM
Baja Susana said...
The dress looks lovely on you. And I love all of your poses, I had a nice chuckle. Your personality shines through. And you do not need those ugly S $ M shoes that the model is wearing.
9/9/12 1:26 PM
Graca said...
You nailed those poses!
9/12/12 6:11 PM
Gendun said...
As always, love your reviews and you look fab.
12/24/12 12:34 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Another great review and great results from this pattern. Love the poses - Vogue really got our attention with their bizzare poses.
12/28/12 5:25 PM
GinormicaMG said...
Great job Dorothy and i love the pose and YOUR shoes were just right. I am also thinking of making this dress in a knit fabric. However, did you use a serger for this??
1/8/13 4:20 PM
DorothyK said...
GinormicaMG, thank you for your comments. I did not use a serger - I don't even have one. Sometimes I use a small zigzag on knits (a tip from Sandra Betzina), but I'm not even sure if I did that on this pattern. I think you will love the dress in a knit.
1/9/13 1:08 PM
kkkkaty said...
Love this dress, and will be making it in a knit. I have some ponte I'd like to use. Do you think you need as much fabric as the pattern suggests? I have three yards, would some creative thinking on the layout make that enough? Also, glad to see you post, and wondering how Ann is since she also hasn't posted in a while. Pls pass along best wishes from a fan of her reviews....
1/10/13 12:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 7799

photo
by: Margaret

Review