SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2009-111 (Biker Jacket)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 590 times 
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About froggiegirlstar
PA USA
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/12 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Bravo! Gorgeous jacket, nice work.
8/30/12 9:37 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! Super duper and very impressive! Your pattern drafting and sewing skills really are "up to snuff" because this stunning jacket looks even better than the Fossil original!
8/30/12 9:55 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, what a great looking jacket! I am very impressed with your leather sewing.
8/30/12 10:38 PM
PattyE said...
I've been dying to see your jacket...it's worth the wait...so cool.
8/30/12 10:57 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Beautiful work. A very professional job!
8/31/12 0:12 AM
poppykettle said...
This is just totally uber-cool. I knew of the pattern, but you've just totally raised my opinion of it. HAWT!
8/31/12 1:22 AM
Jrhee said...
Looks great!
8/31/12 1:28 AM
Renata said...
A very impressive jacket, both for looks and first attempt at working with leather. As far as difference in colour, I am sure you would be the only one to judge that too harshly, isn't that the nature of leather. I think once it softens up it will look even better than it does now. If not, I will be very happy to take it off your hands. A winner!
8/31/12 3:09 AM
Westy85 said...
Wow impressive jacket looks amazing.
8/31/12 5:26 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
You are so brave...this is beautiful. It takes a lot of courage to cut into $200 worth of leather! The zippers are most impressive of all.
8/31/12 7:00 AM
QueenZ said...
That's a damn good-looking jacket, (am I allowed to say that?)!!!
8/31/12 9:17 AM
Sewlful said...
Your jacket is AHMAZING!! I have this pattern and some faux leather than I planned to make this up last winter. Never got to it. Now seeing your wonderful work, I'm not sure I'm ready. This is an absolute winner!
8/31/12 9:22 AM
wordchick said...
Wow...you go girl! I think it looks fantastic! I love the color and your courage to take on leather @ home! Great job....
8/31/12 9:30 AM
truebias said...
this is amazing!
8/31/12 9:51 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Great jacket!! Impressed with all your alterations...I would have been crying through all that! Fabulous!
8/31/12 9:54 AM
froggiegirl said...
Thanks everyone for your comments! Forgetting how much the materials cost really helped with making the project. When I added the cost up after posting the review I almost fainted.
8/31/12 10:30 AM
Wianno Girl said...
Your jacket is WAY more amazing than the Fossil. The sewing is perfect even up close on your blog. Thank you for listing your sources.
8/31/12 10:33 AM
sewnaomi said...
Your topstiching and sleeve vents are beautiful. Thanks for not setting it on fire:) Looking at it is a treat.
8/31/12 10:59 AM
cleverkitty said...
Incredible, this is gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/31/12 11:10 AM
marec said...
My gosh-that is a beautiful jacket and very nicely fitted. I applaud your courage, persistence and patience, as well as your creativity.
8/31/12 11:41 AM
crisford said...
That is really amazing! What a wonderful finished project, it fits you like a glove and the gorgeous leather begs to be touched. Thank you for the inspiration!
8/31/12 12:25 PM
SavageCoco said...
Ooooh, man, you are BRAVE. And really, really well done! Brava!
8/31/12 12:35 PM
rozzybabe said...
Great effort, you did amazing work in duplicating the knock off. Congratulations!!
8/31/12 12:48 PM
bebro said...
Amazing! I can't believe someone could actually sew a leather jacket and have it look so--so---REAL!
8/31/12 12:49 PM
marymary86 said...
Nicely done! It looks amazing but it also looks amazing on you!
8/31/12 12:54 PM
grays08 said...
Way to hang in there and stick with it...awesome jacket. I think you did an excellent job with all the revisions - truly impressive!
8/31/12 2:30 PM
allycovey said...
You did a great job!!!!!!
8/31/12 4:38 PM
Aroura said...
Totally amazing work, I am so impressed! You did an amazing job both drafting and sewing this up. And your leather is just a gorgeous color, love everything about it!
8/31/12 4:41 PM
chenille said...
I just love this! I am in awe of the work and how professional this looks.
8/31/12 6:15 PM
MNBarb said...
Ahh, I can almost FEEL the softness of the leather through the photos. You did a smashing job with this jacket!
8/31/12 8:06 PM
Maree P said...
Everything about this is stunning...gorgeous style, buttery leather, and your sewing and drafting skills are impeccable. Congratulations on your jacket.
8/31/12 8:31 PM
Barbara V said...
It's beautiful in every way! Congratulations! Wear it with pride!!!!
8/31/12 9:15 PM
Sarsez said...
Really stunning jacket.
9/1/12 7:39 AM
iridaea said...
super! love/hate fabric? Yeah, I get that! Do you think sewing by hand would have been easier? Kudos!
9/2/12 5:47 PM
Nancy K said...
I know what you mean about never wanting to sew leather again and wanting to make another project. Not being able to rip the stitches makes it kind of nerve wracking. You did a great job and it looks great on.
9/2/12 8:45 PM
j Renee Design said...
This jacket is amazing! Awesome tips for working with leather, too.
9/4/12 2:12 PM
montanachic said...
This is AMAZING!
9/7/12 9:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

No Pattern Used Noodlehead

photo
by: DonnaH

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now