Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2009-111 (Biker Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 575 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About froggiegirlstar
PA USA
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/12 9:19 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Bravo! Gorgeous jacket, nice work.
8/30/12 9:37 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! Super duper and very impressive! Your pattern drafting and sewing skills really are "up to snuff" because this stunning jacket looks even better than the Fossil original!
8/30/12 9:55 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, what a great looking jacket! I am very impressed with your leather sewing.
8/30/12 10:38 PM
PattyE said...
I've been dying to see your jacket...it's worth the wait...so cool.
8/30/12 10:57 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Beautiful work. A very professional job!
8/31/12 0:12 AM
poppykettle said...
This is just totally uber-cool. I knew of the pattern, but you've just totally raised my opinion of it. HAWT!
8/31/12 1:22 AM
Jrhee said...
Looks great!
8/31/12 1:28 AM
Renata said...
A very impressive jacket, both for looks and first attempt at working with leather. As far as difference in colour, I am sure you would be the only one to judge that too harshly, isn't that the nature of leather. I think once it softens up it will look even better than it does now. If not, I will be very happy to take it off your hands. A winner!
8/31/12 3:09 AM
Westy85 said...
Wow impressive jacket looks amazing.
8/31/12 5:26 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
You are so brave...this is beautiful. It takes a lot of courage to cut into $200 worth of leather! The zippers are most impressive of all.
8/31/12 7:00 AM
QueenZ said...
That's a damn good-looking jacket, (am I allowed to say that?)!!!
8/31/12 9:17 AM
Sewlful said...
Your jacket is AHMAZING!! I have this pattern and some faux leather than I planned to make this up last winter. Never got to it. Now seeing your wonderful work, I'm not sure I'm ready. This is an absolute winner!
8/31/12 9:22 AM
wordchick said...
Wow...you go girl! I think it looks fantastic! I love the color and your courage to take on leather @ home! Great job....
8/31/12 9:30 AM
truebias said...
this is amazing!
8/31/12 9:51 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Great jacket!! Impressed with all your alterations...I would have been crying through all that! Fabulous!
8/31/12 9:54 AM
froggiegirl said...
Thanks everyone for your comments! Forgetting how much the materials cost really helped with making the project. When I added the cost up after posting the review I almost fainted.
8/31/12 10:30 AM
Wianno Girl said...
Your jacket is WAY more amazing than the Fossil. The sewing is perfect even up close on your blog. Thank you for listing your sources.
8/31/12 10:33 AM
sewnaomi said...
Your topstiching and sleeve vents are beautiful. Thanks for not setting it on fire:) Looking at it is a treat.
8/31/12 10:59 AM
cleverkitty said...
Incredible, this is gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/31/12 11:10 AM
marec said...
My gosh-that is a beautiful jacket and very nicely fitted. I applaud your courage, persistence and patience, as well as your creativity.
8/31/12 11:41 AM
crisford said...
That is really amazing! What a wonderful finished project, it fits you like a glove and the gorgeous leather begs to be touched. Thank you for the inspiration!
8/31/12 12:25 PM
SavageCoco said...
Ooooh, man, you are BRAVE. And really, really well done! Brava!
8/31/12 12:35 PM
rozzybabe said...
Great effort, you did amazing work in duplicating the knock off. Congratulations!!
8/31/12 12:48 PM
bebro said...
Amazing! I can't believe someone could actually sew a leather jacket and have it look so--so---REAL!
8/31/12 12:49 PM
marymary86 said...
Nicely done! It looks amazing but it also looks amazing on you!
8/31/12 12:54 PM
grays08 said...
Way to hang in there and stick with it...awesome jacket. I think you did an excellent job with all the revisions - truly impressive!
8/31/12 2:30 PM
allycovey said...
You did a great job!!!!!!
8/31/12 4:38 PM
Aroura said...
Totally amazing work, I am so impressed! You did an amazing job both drafting and sewing this up. And your leather is just a gorgeous color, love everything about it!
8/31/12 4:41 PM
chenille said...
I just love this! I am in awe of the work and how professional this looks.
8/31/12 6:15 PM
MNBarb said...
Ahh, I can almost FEEL the softness of the leather through the photos. You did a smashing job with this jacket!
8/31/12 8:06 PM
Maree P said...
Everything about this is stunning...gorgeous style, buttery leather, and your sewing and drafting skills are impeccable. Congratulations on your jacket.
8/31/12 8:31 PM
Barbara V said...
It's beautiful in every way! Congratulations! Wear it with pride!!!!
8/31/12 9:15 PM
Sarsez said...
Really stunning jacket.
9/1/12 7:39 AM
iridaea said...
super! love/hate fabric? Yeah, I get that! Do you think sewing by hand would have been easier? Kudos!
9/2/12 5:47 PM
Nancy K said...
I know what you mean about never wanting to sew leather again and wanting to make another project. Not being able to rip the stitches makes it kind of nerve wracking. You did a great job and it looks great on.
9/2/12 8:45 PM
j Renee Design said...
This jacket is amazing! Awesome tips for working with leather, too.
9/4/12 2:12 PM
montanachic said...
This is AMAZING!
9/7/12 9:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Butterick 5351
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 6/7/09
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Laurel Laurel
photo
Review by Crystal Pl... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Jalie 2918 Pattern
Jalie 2918 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us