SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1320 (Misses' Coat)

9 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 1752 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/12 2:52 AM
Last Updated:8/31/12 5:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations on sewing your very first jacket! It turned our very well, and just think of all the new jacket sewing skills you learned from this this project. It's definitely time to promote yourself from Beginner to Advanced Beginnner!
8/31/12 5:22 AM
wordchick said...
Great job and I love the fabric!!! Oh...and forgive me--I completely overlooked that you are "striking the pose" displayed on the pattern! FABULOUS!!!
8/31/12 5:38 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great jacket! Can't wait for the photo shoot pics/poses!
8/31/12 7:16 AM
froggiegirl said...
Great Job Chenille! I agree with Nancy, you should up your skill level now. :) Love the fabric and I'm really happy to see this pattern made up. I love it too.
8/31/12 8:18 AM
marthamyers said...
Such courage! Way to go. Interesting and lovely choice of fabric for this jacket. I am anxious to make it so thanks for the review. You've done great.
8/31/12 8:45 AM
MaryDB said...
Very impressive, especially for your first jacket! Love the print, nice work.
8/31/12 9:46 AM
sewnaomi said...
Great pattern and style. Nice job choosing what to match on the design in the front. Your print was challenging yet you did it well. Love it.
8/31/12 11:07 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful project ! Your coat looks great !
8/31/12 11:11 AM
marec said...
This is a wonderful jacket, and I agree that your level should be changed!
8/31/12 11:38 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, you've so upped it up a notch! Well done and it's an absolutlely FAB jacket.
8/31/12 12:31 PM
grays08 said...
I'm so glad you were able to get it done in time. Great job and love the fabric and style!
8/31/12 2:34 PM
VogueMistress said...
Oh, that's just beautiful...what a great fabric!
8/31/12 3:13 PM
Aroura said...
Great job on your first jacket! It is a real show stopper. :) Can't wait to see it on you in more pics.
8/31/12 4:42 PM
chenille said...
new photo shoot..unfortunately my window was too short to stand up in - but I did try! Thanks for all the kind comments :)
8/31/12 5:26 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking coat, you did an amazing job.
8/31/12 5:41 PM
Aixoise said...
Love the Vogue pose! You look much happier in your jacket than the model does in hers. And no wonder - what a great job you did. The fabric's amazing. Congrats!
8/31/12 5:55 PM
nancy2001 said...
Chenille, I love the new photo!
8/31/12 6:07 PM
MNBarb said...
You are really working it! I can't believe how prolific you've been with your sewing...and one cute thing after another. I LOVE this coat and how you've styled it with the leggings and turtleneck. Listen...I think Vogue is calling looking for models!
8/31/12 7:59 PM
PattyE said...
Oh, it looks really great. I'm glad you like this pattern as I plan to make it too. Congrats on finishing.
8/31/12 8:12 PM
Elcue said...
You and your coat are some kind of wonderful.
8/31/12 9:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, beautiful fabric and coat. Looks terrific on you!
8/31/12 10:15 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on making your first jacket. You look fabulous in it - the fabric print is great and thank you for all your great photos to view.
9/1/12 0:42 AM
Scheri said...
First jacket? Its beautiful. Wow cant wait to see your next.
9/1/12 4:03 AM
blue mooney said...
Good job! Thanks for the review.
9/1/12 5:57 AM
Sarsez said...
Fabulous match of fabric and pattern!
9/1/12 7:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
This jacket turned out just great. Your first attempt? Amazing.
9/1/12 9:22 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Thank you for this review! The photo album is super and your jacket is beautiful!
9/1/12 9:47 AM
DorothyK said...
This jacket is a knockout! Much, much better than the jacket on the pattern cover. Your fabric is perfect and I also love the leopard trim. You look fantastic.
9/1/12 11:43 AM
canei said...
AWESOME...I love the fabric and your garment looks like money...again nice pose!!
9/1/12 12:58 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great job! Perfect jacket to show off the fab fabric! Congrats on diving in with a Miyake pattern for your first jacket! Stunning! I love the leopard trim too!
9/1/12 1:30 PM
Ashford said...
You got flair, Chenille. And, your new sewing skills are working. No one would ever know this was your First Jacket. Since I have not sewed a jacket yet, my favorite part of your review is "a flattering shape on many different figures...practice some tailoring techniques without getting too fitted...a good choice for a first jacket"
9/1/12 2:18 PM
KarlaB said...
When you make a jacket that looks that good, you should definitely strike that Vogue Pose! Great Job!
9/1/12 3:29 PM
ChristineX said...
LOL Great jacket! Additional points for the pose ;-)
9/1/12 7:46 PM
CypGrl said...
Too funny! Love your striking coat and that you are striking the type of pose that Vogue is using so much.
9/1/12 9:04 PM
Marge99 said...
Great use of the fabric. Looks like Op Art!
9/2/12 2:54 AM
1SewSweet said...
Nice jacket and I agree, it does look like art!
9/2/12 8:03 AM
Jrhee said...
Oh, you are too hilarious! Great job on your first coat!
9/2/12 6:06 PM
chenille said...
Thank you all so much. Sometimes my fabric choices are a little out there, and it's nice to have the positive feedback on my "vision". DH had fun playing photographer and I was giggling the whole time.
9/3/12 1:53 PM
becca a said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Great poses, too.
9/3/12 4:53 PM
Sewlful said...
Great Jacket! This pattern is my current obsession. When I find a pattern I like, I obsess over it until I get the fabric and get it made. I'm thrilled to see your review in advance of my attempt. I'm looking for Houndstooth for my version but I LOVE your fabric. And the pose is perfect! Excellent work.
9/4/12 9:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Looks fantastic, what agreat job! Isnt winter year round there though? ;) (Im allowed to poke fun, Im a born Alaskan)
9/6/12 5:22 PM
Karine said...
Hard to believe that's your first coat - nice job! It looks great on you - love the fabric! Thanks for the review - I appreciate the tips on the armholes/sleeves.
9/12/12 8:33 AM
jlg said...
Love, love, love this.
9/24/12 7:11 AM
twinkle72 said...
Thank you for all the "in process" photos. The jacket looks great and the fabric is fantastic!
12/11/12 4:48 AM
Anne Cherry said...
I'm plotting to make this jacket...your review has been a great help. Thank you!
8/1/13 6:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6115

photo
by: ConnieBJ

Review