SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jean Hardy> 630 (Misses' Riding Jacket)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/12 2:04 PM
Last Updated:8/31/12 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
How very lovely! My mother made me one of these coats in my riding days and I think it was the best fitting coat I've ever owned (the proportions you mention describe me well). I know it was a labor of love and frustration for her. Your DD is so lucky to have a bespoke original of her own!
8/31/12 2:23 PM
grays08 said...
Very beautiful jacket. I'm sure your daughter loves it!
8/31/12 2:31 PM
Sue Anfang said...
This is a gorgeous jacket, well done! And your daughter and her horse are gorgeous too!
8/31/12 3:24 PM
PattyE said...
Wow, what a great jacket.
8/31/12 3:40 PM
nancy2001 said...
The equestrian jacket is stunning and fits your daughter beautifully. I'm sure she will be the Belle of the Hunt. Very Saville Row.
8/31/12 4:06 PM
Aroura said...
A really amazing jacket in every way, great fit, great details, great job! What a lucky daughter. :)
8/31/12 4:46 PM
chenille said...
Wow! That is one awesome jacket!
8/31/12 6:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow!
8/31/12 7:06 PM
MNBarb said...
This is so beautiful. What a lucky daughter to be able to wear such a perfect garment for her competitions. The purchased riding jackets are such poor quality. It was really worth it to get the bugs worked out of this pattern.
8/31/12 8:03 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Wow! Great job - I do think sewing jackets is a true $$$ saver. Who would know that there is a shop dedicated to equestrian buttons!
8/31/12 10:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
Most impressive, and a very fine effort. Well done.
8/31/12 11:15 PM
loti said...
What a beautiful jacket, your daughter looks very professional. Great job.
8/31/12 11:16 PM
Athene said...
Your review was wonderful to read the the photos fabulous to view. Such a beautiful jacket and looks so wonderful on your daughter.
8/31/12 11:27 PM
cmcarr said...
Ditto to all the above comments.
9/1/12 0:16 AM
karen n said...
I'm not a rider but I really enjoyed your technical details and comments on the classic and modern approach to these coats.
9/1/12 1:09 AM
pdiddly said...
your work on this jacket is impeccable - your daughter must be delighted
9/1/12 3:28 AM
Scheri said...
How beautiful. Love the fit.
9/1/12 3:50 AM
Sarsez said...
Well done on cracking this pattern! I enjoyed reading your first review of it as well. Jacket and horse are lovely!
9/1/12 7:30 AM
froggiegirl said...
I'd never know the pattern drafting was poor since your version looks fantasic. Your daughter must be so happy with her beautiful new jacket.
9/1/12 8:59 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very, Very, Impressive! Congratulations!
9/1/12 9:49 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Absolutely fabulous. Wonderfully stylish and beautifully done.
9/1/12 10:22 AM
rozzybabe said...
SPECTACULAR!
9/1/12 10:25 AM
Bernadette W said...
Ok- You had me at"Out-of print (copyright 1974) Jean Hardy pattern #630 Misses Riding Jacket Olympic Frock Coat" -- then you destroyed me with "foxhunting "fox mask" buttons". Will you adopt me?
9/1/12 10:56 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous work!
9/1/12 6:18 PM
poppykettle said...
Wow. Everything about the look of this jacket it impeccable!
9/1/12 9:52 PM
Marge99 said...
Ow, if my sister saw this she would demand one too!
9/2/12 2:56 AM
velosewer said...
That's a quality job:)
9/2/12 5:09 AM
geebo said...
gorgeous! Where did you find the softshell? I'd love to make one for my daughter out of this material. thx
9/2/12 6:51 AM
Jrhee said...
I can't see what is not perfect about this jacket, because it looks perfect to me! My daughter also rides, and while her jackets are not as expensive as foxhunting ones, they still add up as she outgrows them quickly. You've inspired me to look into making them.
9/2/12 10:43 AM
MaryDB said...
Geebo, you can buy softshell fabric from Seattle Fabrics (seattlefabrics.com). The softshell I have for another jacket was purchased in NYC by DD last spring, and I don't know what store it came from - I think it was a small place in the Garment District. I, too, would like a better source for softshell, and have been looking specifically for Schoeller in black with no luck.
9/2/12 3:23 PM
MaryDB said...
Jrhee, - "You've inspired me to look into making them." I feel your pain over the expense of the jackets! When you start yours, let me know. We could start a Riding Jacket Sew-along.
9/2/12 3:27 PM
iridaea said...
That came out beautifully - especially doing it in a month! Very well fit. Three cheers!
9/2/12 7:11 PM
sewnaomi said...
The jacket is beautiful. What a perfect compliment to your DD! PS. Pretty horse also.
9/3/12 2:16 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, absolutely outstanding. Up your skills to Advances/Couture.
9/7/12 5:08 PM
Maree P said...
Your perseverance is well rewarded - this is absolutely gorgeous.
9/8/12 8:03 PM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Mary for winning the Lined Jacket contest with your beautiful and impeccable equestrian jacket. Bravo!
9/10/12 0:03 AM
ArtAttack said...
Congrats on winning the contest! Super cool jacket and beautiful job!!
9/14/12 8:27 PM
pdiddly said...
You got my vote and I am so pleased you won - well deserved.
9/15/12 5:22 PM
valerie sews said...
A stunning jacket. I love the fit and the cool fox mask buttons. Congratulations!
9/15/12 5:28 PM
sewme47 said...
What can I say? You're amazing!
9/17/12 6:05 PM
rose4524 said...
STUNNING! Lucky girl to have her own bespoke jacket, and I hope this jacket continues to place well in future competitions! :>)
9/18/12 4:08 PM
wadette said...
Excellent, good job.....
9/20/12 7:43 AM
Jupiter, FL said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! Wonderful, wonderful fit! Congratulations on such a superb result! I am not an advanced sewer, and my foray into foxhunting apparel is just hunt vests. I have been toying with the idea of trying a coat, but haven't summoned the courage yet. Thanks so much for your review -- Based on your experience, I think I will hold off for now. I don't have a lot of time, and I think working through the difficulties you encountered is beyond what I can deal with, so you've spared me a bunch of frustration! I have a purchased hacking jacket that I am going to try to tailor for a better fit. If that works I may reconsider trying to sew a jacket.
9/20/12 9:45 AM
whatlarks said...
Absolutely stunning. I am seriously impressed.
9/20/12 10:39 PM
sstoval3 said...
Gorgeous jacket and a great fit. I will suggest, Suitability.com for all your DD's riding needs. As a rider myself I have used their patterns and they turned out wonderful. I didn't even know anyone else had made riding patterns.
9/21/12 3:39 AM
thepattyc said...
As a former equestrian I know how expensive the clothes are. I hope your DD is honored to wear the coat. A major labor of love.
9/21/12 9:51 AM
tugboatannie said...
Awesome fit! You should be very proud of this---it's a "blue ribbon" in my estimation!
9/23/12 10:28 AM
wildberrymom said...
What a beautiful jacket! Being a "horse mother" in my past life who made all of my daughter's Western outfits I can appreciate the satisfaction you must feel at being able to see her dressed in stunningly good fashion for reasonable $$. Bravo!
10/3/12 10:45 AM
Mufffet said...
I have just now seen this review - it is wonderful. The jacket is superb. Consider though, that you rate yourself as Intermediate. :) NO - you should be putting that at Advanced. This is just a lovely job.
5/17/13 1:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5584

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Simplicity 8488

photo
by: bluenines

Review
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now