Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 312 (Giorgio's top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 700 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/12 9:46 AM
Last Updated:9/12/12 6:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Thanks for this review. Your top looks very nice although it's hard to see the detail in the black. I do have this pattern along with 3 others from the spring collection, and I have to say I wanted to sew this top but couldn't figure out my size from the size tables. Thanks so much for the info on sizing--it will help me figure out how to proceed. (Love those leopard pants, too!)
9/12/12 9:56 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I sure would love to see a close up of your new top. The picture that opens is super tiny and when I enlarge my screen it's blurry. I hope you can fix it because it looks like you have a fabulous outfit on. :-)
9/12/12 12:51 PM
Restart06 said...
Thanks for the review. I also have this pattern, but haven't cut it do to the size question. It looks great on you. Thanks also for the link to your blog. This will help me on my mockup. Also love your pants!
9/12/12 2:05 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I have this pattern and have been thinking about using it. I've watched several of Peggy's webcasts on tops, and she says to go down a smaller size in the shoulders and to use your french curve. (she must have been having a bad day when she spoke to you). I know her princess seams fall to the side of the bust; that's her 'design feature'; she's also spoken of this on her webcasts. But I'm like you: I prefer to have the seam run down the middle of my bust. As to pattern sizing, I wrap the fabric around me (like a towel), deciding on the visual ease I want, and measure that amount; which then becomes my designated size. I do have some issues with her bicep measurements, though. Thanks for a very informative review!
9/12/12 2:13 PM
PattyE said...
I wish I could see your top better. I just made this one too. I agree the sizing is a little wonky. In fact I noticed on my pattern envelope the waist measurement was bigger than the bust measurement. I did end up having to take 3" off in the waist. I also added 2" to my sleeves. I love how it turned out but her sizing is strange. I have a couple more of her patterns so I'll see how those go. Anyway, your outfit is lovely.
9/12/12 3:52 PM
Elona said...
In spite of your difficulties with sizing, the top is seriously good looking!
9/12/12 4:17 PM
Dilliander said...
Lovely Nancy! I have this pattern but haven't tackled the sizing learning curve yet. Your tops are great, so must give it a go :)
9/13/12 0:05 AM
grey ann said...
Very nice tops that fit well. I agree with all you say on the sizing. I was in a workshop where Peggy was asked about fitting the 'pear-shape' figure with narrow shoulders. She told us to try on more expensive blouses that would fit better! I don't think she gets it!!! The one blouse of hers that I made was huge in the shoulders. But I am going to try to fit this because I like the style.
9/14/12 9:01 PM
PattiinATL said...
Very stylish. Looks like it was worth the fitting struggles!
12/8/12 9:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by mnitts on 11/8/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1194
photo
Review by TheaBerlin on 6/10/10
Read Review

McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us