SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4043 (Mermaid costume)

13 more reviews
Review submitted in Costume Contest Contest
Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH United States
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews: 16 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:10/29/12 12:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DesignsByDenise said... (11/1/12 11:04 PM) Reply
Cute! That fabric is perfect and scaly.
prostheticsgirl said... (10/30/12 11:37 AM) Reply
KathleenS, the tail wasn't too bad because it has a wrist loop. I just think the bodice makes me look barrel shaped (and the crazy shiny fabric doesn't help)!
KathleenS said... (10/30/12 6:10 AM) Reply
I can't see the problems you had from here. It looks great - like a mermaid, as you say! I've always wondered with this pattern: is it annoying to have to carry the tail around?
Jrhee said... (10/28/12 10:53 AM) Reply
Another cute, fun costume! BTW, I think I have a similar build (but you are smaller through waist and hips). Don't give up on strapless styles - sometimes excluding the shoulders from the bodice block (if that makes any sense) makes the top appear narrower.
Sharonspils said... (10/27/12 6:19 PM) Reply
Amazing mermaid costume!
Passion4Sewing said... (10/27/12 4:03 PM) Reply
You husband will have the best "catch" of the party! I think it looks great!
harpsew said... (10/27/12 10:41 AM) Reply
I agree - the fabric is perfect, and I love the detailed stitching on the tail! Well done!
prostheticsgirl said... (10/27/12 10:38 AM) Reply
Thanks! I actually found the foil fabric at JoAnn's a couple of years ago before Halloween. It's been in my stash waiting for me to have the time to make it. Be warned: it's a stretch fabric but does not like to be stretched. Any stress at all distorts the pattern pieces or cause the fabric to run. I actually lined it with non-stretch satin (and interfaced the bodice) to prevent it from becoming a total mess when wearing.
julibchickadee said... (10/26/12 11:04 PM) Reply
I've never sewn anything as complicated as a Halloween costume, so I think that itself is admirable! I also think the Mermaid tail is great and that fabric you found for the tail is perfect! Where on earth did you find something like that? It's really cool! :-)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7823

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Pattern Details
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 1877

photo
by: nanneke

Review