Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 3216 (cropped pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3292 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 339
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 240
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/02 6:36 PM
Last Updated:7/28/02 7:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
This is it. making your own clothes the way you want them, good for you Deepika. Pant's look very good.
7/28/02 7:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Those are really cute! Way to go.
7/28/02 8:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow! - you are becoming quite accomplished!
7/28/02 8:27 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow!! These are great. You see these pants in stores all over the San Francisco Bay Area. To me, this is what sewing is all about. Seeing what you like, and making it yours in fit and fabric. Nice job!!
7/28/02 8:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks everyone. Do you have any ideas on how to reduce the leg width of this pattern?
7/28/02 8:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, Lois Cutting's video tells you how to reduce the width of these pants. I have it and would be willing to loan it to you if you email we decide. Lois also tell how to put pocket these pants several different ways. she also makes a jump suit out of it in the video. You did a very beautiful job on these pants I like the details. you have becom very accomplished sewer.
7/28/02 9:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I actually have the original Butterick pattern for thsoe pants and I have made them in a different view. I think I would prefer them in your no side seam version, so I am off to the store !!!
7/28/02 9:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful, Deepika! Your continuing exploration of the possibilities of sewing is an inspiration! Thanks for sharing.
7/28/02 10:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
These look awesome!
7/28/02 11:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the kind offer Linda but Karla is sending me hers. Hopefully I will be able to make these pants even better. I can't wait to see what's in the video.
7/28/02 11:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gorgeous pants! Wonderful job! Doesn't it feel great? Keep up the great work!
7/29/02 0:19 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The pants came out great, Deepika!
7/29/02 0:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oh, Deepika, those are incredible. I love the look and your info on changing a pattern. I need to do that more often
7/29/02 1:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
These pants are really cute, Deepika--love the neat crease and the bow together. Did you use the narrower version of the Louise Cutting pants? I think they look fine in the width you've made, BTW--the slightly wider, cropped look seems to be very in this season.
7/29/02 6:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
thanks Skymom! I made these pants using my Burda 3216 pattern. Karla is sending me her Louise Cutting video in which Louise explains how to alter the one seam pattern to get a slightly narrower leg width. I love these pants. I am wearing them to work today and they are very comfy. I wonder why people dont like elastic waist pants ;-)
7/29/02 6:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cute detail! Isn't it great to create something new from an already proven pattern? :)
7/30/02 0:52 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, you are just TOO much girl!!! No one would ever guess you are a beginner - the pants look awesome!
7/30/02 4:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You are amazing! I can't believe you're a beginner! You must have been a seamstress in a previous life. Those pants are adorable!
7/30/02 10:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, these pants are wonderful. As always, your ideas and work-womanship is inspiring!
7/31/02 1:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I am totally impressed! These look great. I must get up my nerve to improvise my existing patterns instead of always running out and buying yet another one. You're inspiring!
7/31/02 9:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks again for your nice comments everyone. Rennie, you should also just do it. I am telling you no other garment I have sewn (even the difficult linen shorts) have given me so much satisfaction as these pants!
8/1/02 1:30 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, these are adorable! You are going to be an expert seamster in no time - way to just dive right in! Okay, I am going to dig this pattern out - haven't made it in YEARS. First on the agenda are some low-waisted yoga-style pants to wear around the house. DH is sick of my 3X baseball tees that I wear as dresses. :-0
8/1/02 4:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - I missed this while I was on vacation. You did a great job - I want some!!!
8/11/02 10:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Burda 8479 Co-ordinates
photo
Review by Oziroo on 1/8/05
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3797
photo
Review by Gold on 6/10/09
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3762 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7214 Pattern
Burda 7214 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us