Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8659 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Tunic, Dress and Pants) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 528 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/12 3:35 AM
Last Updated:10/28/12 4:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very chic and highly distinctive. I love the dark green colour - it's suggestive of the ocean depths - Wide Sargasso Sea and all that. Also your layered look improves on the Vogue original because it avoids the wearer's knee poking out, which I dislike. Well done.
10/28/12 4:08 AM
Dilliander said...
Lovely and very stylish Rivergum! Great dress.
10/28/12 4:17 AM
BillieJean said...
You've made me rethink this pattern. I love your outfit!
10/28/12 6:12 AM
prttynpnk said...
I love this! I'm off to research Lagenlook!
10/28/12 10:07 AM
carolynw said...
Glamorous, elegant and so fabulous I would steal in a nano second - can you tell I love it? I have this pattern - bought for the short style - never thought of the long version until now - thanks for the review
10/28/12 1:12 PM
miausiau said...
I have noticed as well that many patterns put a seam down the center of a bias ...this is a good option for a striped fabric or plaid, but as you mention it can be eliminated if the seam is straight and your fabric is amenable. I tried this pattern after all the rave reviews and realized it is just the wrong shape for me. I looked dumpy and shapeless. Looks chic on you though. The fabric choice is lovely.
10/28/12 2:58 PM
m/m said...
I'm with prttynpnk on this - love the dress with the skirt especially and now need to go hunting for lagenlook!
10/28/12 3:06 PM
paloverde said...
Took a look at your photo and said 'lagenlook' to myself. Started to read your review and saw that's what you were going for. It's lovely!
10/29/12 2:14 AM
arianamaniacs said...
You did a great jo, and I think your version is better than the red. It has more interest, while the red one just drags the eyes down.
10/29/12 7:31 AM
karen n said...
You are art walk ready! Love your pinterest board too. I grabbed a few of your pins!
10/29/12 1:08 PM
Claverie said...
So glad you did this review. Love the fabric choice and styling over long pencil skirt. It now gives me pause to consider this pattern for myself. Great outfit.
10/29/12 4:41 PM
DorothyK said...
Very nice. Great fabric. Good idea to layer it.
10/29/12 6:10 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love this! Beautiful work.
10/29/12 6:42 PM
mmcp said...
Your dress is gorgeous--am also a huge langenlook fan, and I really like the soft ballooning around the bottom, but I love the inspiration dress as well so poked around a bit, and the bottom of the inspiration dress looks a lot like Rhonda's free pattern friday skirt here: http://rhondabuss.blogspot.com/2012/01/fabulous-free-pattern-friday.html. It looks to me as though you would "just" have to raise the waist on Rhonda's pattern and attached it to a top the way you did with the tablecloth skirt to have the French dress nailed.
10/30/12 11:36 AM
rivergum said...
Thanks for the tip, mmcp! Off to check this out...
10/30/12 3:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's M6270
photo
Review by juliesbtw on 6/3/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2795 Hoddie
photo
Review by swirlgurl on 1/4/14
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us