SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Scarves (Scrappy Ends Scarf)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 103 times 
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/15/12 1:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said...
This is an incredible scarf! Very creative use for all of your scraps.
11/25/12 7:39 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Thanks, JEF. SewPelican, I used Superior Threads' Rainbow, variegated, in a random up, down, and diagonal free-motion stitching. I tried to hit all the strips but without over stitching to make it stiff. Rainbow's a poly, which I generally avoid, but this one's super high-quality. I heart Superior Threads!
11/17/12 8:25 PM
sewpelican said...
I love how you used up even skinny leftover scraps. What type of thread did you use and what stitches did you choose?
11/17/12 8:17 AM
JEF said...
Agree it's cute - so colorful and pretty.
11/16/12 9:13 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Thanks, Sherril. A rotary cutter will do the job. Marlene, thanks for your Wow-some response! The strips vary: some are just 1/8" wide tapering to nothing. With stabilizer top and bottom, like a sandwich, you can basically do what you want as long as you stitch it enough (lengthwise and crosswise).
11/15/12 1:36 PM
Marlene J said...
WOW! Really cute! I'm going to give it a try. It's just so colorful. WAY better than all of the browns & blacks I'm seeing out there for winter. Are the strips about 3/8" wide? .
11/15/12 1:08 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That turned out really cute. I don't keep scraps, but I have fabric and a rotary cutter. Thanks for the idea.
11/15/12 2:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 4659

photo
by: Christine ...

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

More Info
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

More Info