SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2012-112 (Godet Pencil Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 291 times 
Reviewed by:tiadia
photo

 
 
About tiadiastar
Member since: 2/21/08
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/12 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said... (11/20/12 12:46 PM) Reply
Lovely skirt! And I appreciate your answer concerning both lining and underlining as i've often wondered what's the deciding factor in that.
sugarduck said... (11/18/12 3:24 AM) Reply
Ooh, I love this! Your version is much nicer looking than the one in the magazine. Great job!
persevering said... (11/17/12 8:39 PM) Reply
Tiadia, Your answer explains everything I wanted to know. And your kindness in responding is also greatly appreciated. Thank you.
tiadia said... (11/17/12 4:11 PM) Reply
@persevering: I prefer to underline my skirts, particularly if they're a lightweight wool crepe, as this was, because it just adds that little bit more of stability to the fabric. I find it also extends the longevity of the garment, and prevents it from stretching out of shape through wear. I like to line my skirts, too, which may seem like overkill, but again, it helps the garment hang properly (not stick to me) and increases the longevity and wear of the garment. Besides, it feels and looks nice lined!
Lucy in Virginia said... (11/16/12 8:47 AM) Reply
This is an absolutely gorgeous skirt!! Thanks for the review. Must try it.
persevering said... (11/15/12 10:24 PM) Reply
Your review is appreciated. The colour of this skirt is great on you. I'm wondering why you underlined the skirt in addition to lining it...could you please explain why? Thanking you. :)
dragon10 said... (11/15/12 10:07 PM) Reply
Beautiful skirt.
CynthiaSue said... (11/15/12 10:01 PM) Reply
Looks way better on you than the model!!;)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Downloadable 11/2011 #106

photo
by: anniemolli...

Review