SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2012-112 (Godet Pencil Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:tiadia
photo

 
 
About tiadiastar
Member since: 2/21/08
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/12 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Lovely skirt! And I appreciate your answer concerning both lining and underlining as i've often wondered what's the deciding factor in that.
11/20/12 12:46 PM
sugarduck said...
Ooh, I love this! Your version is much nicer looking than the one in the magazine. Great job!
11/18/12 3:24 AM
persevering said...
Tiadia, Your answer explains everything I wanted to know. And your kindness in responding is also greatly appreciated. Thank you.
11/17/12 8:39 PM
tiadia said...
@persevering: I prefer to underline my skirts, particularly if they're a lightweight wool crepe, as this was, because it just adds that little bit more of stability to the fabric. I find it also extends the longevity of the garment, and prevents it from stretching out of shape through wear. I like to line my skirts, too, which may seem like overkill, but again, it helps the garment hang properly (not stick to me) and increases the longevity and wear of the garment. Besides, it feels and looks nice lined!
11/17/12 4:11 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous skirt!! Thanks for the review. Must try it.
11/16/12 8:47 AM
persevering said...
Your review is appreciated. The colour of this skirt is great on you. I'm wondering why you underlined the skirt in addition to lining it...could you please explain why? Thanking you. :)
11/15/12 10:24 PM
dragon10 said...
Beautiful skirt.
11/15/12 10:07 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Looks way better on you than the model!!;)
11/15/12 10:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Can Make This No Tie Apron

photo
by: Pj3g

Review
Vogue Patterns 8534

photo
by: HRigg

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now