SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2860 (Misses )

31 more reviews
Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo

 
 
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/12 7:45 PM
Last Updated:11/17/12 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
vannie said...
Just made this pattern. I thought they looked huge as I cut them out so laid a good-fitting pair of pants on top and noticed the different and promptly cut them down 2 sizes from what the measurements said I should wear. Fit perfectly. I didn't have trouble with the fly instructions, but did have to read them carefully and really examine the pictures. Yes, wider leg than anticipated--they are straight leg pants.
1/15/13 11:29 AM
JEF said...
Agree that photo is very misleading. Hope your next pants come out closer to expectations.
12/9/12 7:26 AM
KatC83 said...
You are all completely right - the line drawing should have told me what I needed to know, but I guess I wanted to look like the photograph (no chance, hahaha!). Thankfully the fabric wasn't too expensive, and I didn't waste too much time. You're right that I also could/should have checked the ease on the actual pattern pieces... I shouldn't have trusted the envelope measurements! Frustrating that I should have to do this though, when the pattern cost $15. I will give Style Arc a go, it's been suggested to me a few times. Onwards and upwards :-)
11/18/12 2:55 PM
ggf2005 said...
The line drawing is more representative of how they really look. One thing to do before cutting based on your measurement is to look at the amount of ease given on the pattern pieces and if it is not shown then measure. I too have problems because of my bodacious butt and short waist.
11/18/12 1:08 PM
Huntwoman said...
I have this pattern and the Jalie pattern. Thank you for saving me the time and fabric I'd have wasted on these. Hope it was an inexpensive fabric. Size on the big 4 is just crazy, so hard to know. I usually measure the actual pattern pieces but it shouldn't be that hard. Thanks for the picture that was worth a 1000 words! Sure didn't resemble the example they show on the pattern front by any stretch.
11/18/12 6:09 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I had a look at the pattern and I think the envelope photograph is really misleading. The photograph of the pants looks like a slim leg but the drawing is a waaaay different story. Not fair of the pattern company. Have you given StyleArc a go? ( I have nothing to do with the company.)
11/18/12 3:38 AM
KatC83 said...
Hahahaha I know, I know. I just prefer my pants to fit more closely, otherwise I look huge! On to the next pattern I guess - then I can forget about this disaster :-)
11/18/12 2:25 AM
marec said...
I had to laugh at your description of these slacks...not all pants have to cup every curve :-) Sorry you were disappointed in the results. I know the feeling!
11/18/12 0:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

More Info
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
New Look 6433

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern