SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Hepburn Riding Skirt (Hepburn Riding Skirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 350 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews: 84 (patterns: 78)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/12 5:00 AM
Review Rating:
Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
BeaJay said... (12/8/12 7:53 PM) Reply
I think this looks good on you. Shame that you are not happy. I have this pattern so thank you very much for the review.
meggy said... (12/7/12 9:47 PM) Reply
Frankly, I think you are seeing things :) This skirt not only looks very well made but great on you! I love it.
FreyaStark said... (12/2/12 4:22 AM) Reply
I think the skirt is better than you think, and it could grow on you with time. The length seems just right to me, and it goes well with that cardie. The gaping pockets obviously must be annoying but don't let them bug you. The whole outfit works well. Just give yourself time to get used to it.
JEF said... (11/19/12 12:12 PM) Reply
Your sweater is amazingly cute and the skirt is certainly wearable. Maybe it'll grow on you a bit more as time passes.
Mary Nanna said... (11/18/12 7:27 PM) Reply
I like it - although I happen to like what others think of as dowdy! I can't see the problem with the pockets from your photo so it may be just the photo or maybe a case of "I sewed it" which means you notice every gape and feel responsible for it. Thanks for the link to your blog - I didn't realise you wrote one, and now I can also see all the lovely other hand crafted items you are making.
wendyrb said... (11/18/12 6:25 PM) Reply
This is very close to being a terrific skirt and wearable as is. You've made/reviewed so many great garments, so take it easy on yourself! There's already put a lot of effort into your skirt and maybe enough? A few suggestions: *** Easiest, wear it with a longer top and cover the pockets. The length proportion might work better? More work: * Pocket gaping open- The skirt is wool; you might be able to "encourage" the pockets to cup over your hip. Try the skirt on and pinch out the amount you want to disappear. Press with steam a-plenty over a pressing ham to see if you can reduce the excess. You might even try a smallish basting stitch to draw it in and then press. 2 other reviewers have less hip curve, so a non-issue. * Pleat opening up- without any ripping, try moving up the pleat underlay only; tug it up at the top. It should bring the outer pleat creases closer together. You'd have to release the waistband a bit to insert that extra you're nixing. That is- if I'm guessing right on the pleat construction.
ClaireEmily said... (11/18/12 6:05 PM) Reply
Thanks guys! Lynmarie, it sounds like you made some interesting modifications. I think it would great without the pleat.
Lynmarie said... (11/18/12 3:58 PM) Reply
I love this skirt, I made one as the pattern and the second skirt I deleted the pleat, I also shortened mine by 2" & stitched each end of the pockets down to stop gaping, made size 8. Your skirt looks great :) Good skirt to wear to work.
marec said... (11/18/12 11:02 AM) Reply
Hi ClaireEmily! It is so frustrating to put a lot of effort into a project and be not so thrilled. The skirt is such a classic style that I would be tempted to undo all your lovely hand stitched hem and shorten it. Don't give up yet :-)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

StyleArc Kate Dress

photo
by: Christine ...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-109

photo
by: Donna Like...

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Pattern Details