SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2012-118 (Side Gather Cowl Dress)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Black Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 9:47 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redside said...
What a beautiful dress! I love the fit on you. Although I don't wear dresses, this might be nice to have in the closet for a special event.
11/28/12 9:56 AM
redrockcity said...
Gorgeous. It does look fantastic with the gold shoes too. The little jacket is pretty spiffy as well!!
11/28/12 10:00 AM
CissieW said...
Perfect LBD! Looks wonderful on you and I love the boots with it!
11/28/12 10:01 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! I think you are ready for any occassion with that LBD!
11/28/12 10:05 AM
61sew4fun said...
I love your LBD and your collage of photos. The dress is classic and fits you so well. Good luck in the contest.
11/28/12 10:07 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress and looks gorgeous on you...the fit looks perfect! Thanks for the great review!
11/28/12 10:22 AM
frame said...
Your dress is beautiful and your review is really terrific.
11/28/12 11:04 AM
clothingengineer said...
Love this! I am dealing with a similar curve in the back and I get the best results when I take out the excess fabric from the side seam of the back piece only instead of the darts.
11/28/12 11:06 AM
annie11 said...
Wonderful dress! It fits you like a glove and looks fantastic!
11/28/12 12:43 PM
Nan Kay said...
Love the Texas orange and cowboy boots!!! Great dress.
11/28/12 12:56 PM
mnitts said...
Stunning work
11/28/12 12:59 PM
Levone said...
Great version of this dress!
11/28/12 1:04 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL! Very very nice. Love this - what a nice style 0 the lines are just designer!
11/28/12 1:11 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this on you! This has to be just about your perfect LBD!
11/28/12 1:20 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Lovely dress! I may have to get this pattern now. The cowl neckline and side ruching make for a much more interesting LBD
11/28/12 1:46 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Beautiful dress and very flattering! The day and night looks are perfect.
11/28/12 2:21 PM
SewWil said...
Lovely LBD! The fit IS excellent and looks great on you. Love the orange tights and boots.
11/28/12 3:23 PM
cowgirlbb said...
I think you look better than the model on the pattern. I like it without the sleeves as well. You did a terrific job.
11/28/12 4:29 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute and versatile LBD. Love the TX version!
11/28/12 7:38 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great job! This is a super pretty dress.
11/28/12 9:06 PM
norie creates said...
Super cute and love the neckline origami : )
11/28/12 11:14 PM
4u2cme said...
Your LBD is lovely! Your reviews are always so helpful and very detailed.
11/29/12 1:25 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review. I like the how you've styled this dress to fit any occasion. Cute and classic.
11/29/12 12:35 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for showcasing this great pattern. Its such a nice restrained cowl. You've put your collage together beautifully, i especially like the Tiffany backdrop!
11/29/12 10:23 PM
Quickie said...
Style is exellent for the purpose
11/30/12 4:32 PM
crazygrad said...
supernice!
11/30/12 5:04 PM
Baja Susana said...
How was your breakfast at Tiffany's. The store as a backdrop is a nice touch. This dress fills the bill and you have styled it well.
12/2/12 8:08 AM
mochimo said...
The dress is beautiful and the fit is great. I'm glad to see that it worked even if you changed the grainline because I have a similar dress (also Burda) in muslin stage since last December. I did not like the skirt on the bias. I think I will try to change the grain and see if it looks better.
12/2/12 9:34 AM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous!
12/3/12 3:09 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress -- basic but with great details! Nice fit too!
12/4/12 9:15 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review, Trena. Love your dress and your styling options. Good luck.
12/5/12 2:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8714

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns V1197

photo
by: Tee Jones ...

Review