SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Style> 2940 OOP (Misses' Dress)

Review submitted in Little Black Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! I think it's really nice on, Margaret ;D And especially neat to being adaptable to other looks!! Great--and funny--review ;D
11/28/12 4:05 PM
treefrog said...
Looks great! Well worth the effort you went to with the fitting. It looks great with the different jacket combinations - especially the Folkwear one
11/28/12 4:15 PM
cowgirlbb said...
Looks to me like you did a great job. This dress certainly can be worn for many occasions.
11/28/12 4:18 PM
jannw said...
You look so good in that dress!! Definitely worth the alterations!! Love all the jackets with it, also.
11/28/12 4:26 PM
Renren said...
You are fabulous in this dress! Wow! Great entry and review.
11/28/12 5:06 PM
mmcp said...
It is a very funny review, particularly because I looked at the photos before reading it and thought--ok, is this a pattern to go hunting for? I've really been wanting a plain, fitted basic black dress. Clearly, it is not, but your results are terrific!
11/29/12 6:00 AM
goal100 said...
You look great! (Which I think means that whatever you're wearing is complimenting YOU!)
11/29/12 7:48 AM
NJcowgirl said...
thank you for your thorough review. Great dress.
11/29/12 8:56 AM
sewnotwork said...
Looks good. Thanks for detailed list of alterations and photos. I wonder how French darts are adjusted for women who are petite.
11/29/12 11:44 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks so much! mmcp, I hope there's an easier to find similar pattern out there, that would ideally have a more appropriate fit for a wider demographic... just don't know of any off the top of my head. Sewnotwork, I try to keep the lengthen/shorten line on the side part of the front level with the one that goes across the center, if that makes any sense... if you fold the dart closed and draw a line across where a normal L/S line would be, that should generally work OK. Burda envelope patterns are sometimes better about including all the L/S lines than some other brands.
11/29/12 1:17 PM
Quickie said...
Dress style is very well chosen
11/30/12 4:34 PM
crazygrad said...
NICE-- so classic!
11/30/12 5:15 PM
Ladana said...
You win the prize for versatility. You have achieved so many looks. Great job!
12/1/12 12:01 PM
Baja Susana said...
Very nicely made and your styling is well done as well.
12/2/12 8:03 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Such a versatile dress, and the neckline is really a pretty choice on you.
12/2/12 8:12 AM
cerulean said...
You really look great in it! It's great that it is so versatile too! It's good that you were able to make the adjustments.
12/4/12 10:19 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, this dress looks SO cute in EVERY WAY that you've styled it. I LOVE it with the jackets. I'm going to try a STRAIGHT skirt (or dress) with jackets (or as "straight" as it can be on me) because, like you said, it seems like I never do like jackets with flared skirts. :o( This is PERFECT!
12/12/12 1:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sew Sweet Saffron Romper

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Burda 7214

photo
by: sewing gen...

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now