Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6000 (Misses' Dresses)

34 more reviews
Viewed 975 times 
Reviewed by:style inspired
photo

 
 
About style inspiredstar
Canada
Member since: 6/4/10
Reviews: 67 (patterns: 65)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/12 7:53 PM
Last Updated:2/2/13 9:48 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by style inspired using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jgmafpw said... (12/27/12 4:47 PM) Reply
Great looking dress, very flattering!
newmama said... (12/23/12 12:24 PM) Reply
Love this dress! The collar and cuff details are really cute, and I like the dark blue you chose.
prostheticsgirl said... (12/18/12 9:20 AM) Reply
Wow, looks great! Every version I've seen of this dress is wonderful; I think I must have this pattern!
MondoVox said... (12/18/12 0:27 AM) Reply
I love this pattern and am so jealous every time someone makes it. Wish it came in my size but I'm not sure I could adjust it upward well enough. The details on this dress are what make it a looker.
prostheticsgirl said... (12/9/12 12:10 PM) Reply
I'm assuming the main issue you want to address is the slight gaping at the neckline? The shoulders also look a *tiny* touch wide (upper shoulder seam placement and small creasing under the arm). I have two thoughts initially, first would be to cut the upper bodice 1/2 to 1 size smaller and just grade out below that. The other thought is to place several small tucks along the neckline. Here's a good article http://www.sewnews.com/content_downloads/Fit_for_You_Hollow_Chest_May1999.pdf. I'm sure there are many others with much better advice; I've been sewing for many years but am just now starting to work toward fine tuning fit.
prostheticsgirl said... (12/9/12 11:59 AM) Reply
Can you post a few more pictures from different angles (including the back)? Honestly I think it's really good and no non-sewing person would probably notice, but I know we're often perfectionists of fit!
Bonnie K said... (12/8/12 11:26 PM) Reply
My gut feeling is that you will need to make a small tuck in the pattern at the neckline. I am smalll thru the front chest area and have to do this. Hope someone else comies along side to help if this isn't clear.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Pattern Details