SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6000 (Misses' Dresses)

32 more reviews
Viewed 920 times 
Reviewed by:style inspired
photo

 
 
About style inspiredstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 6/4/10
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/12 7:53 PM
Last Updated:2/2/13 9:48 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie K said...
My gut feeling is that you will need to make a small tuck in the pattern at the neckline. I am smalll thru the front chest area and have to do this. Hope someone else comies along side to help if this isn't clear.
12/8/12 11:26 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Can you post a few more pictures from different angles (including the back)? Honestly I think it's really good and no non-sewing person would probably notice, but I know we're often perfectionists of fit!
12/9/12 11:59 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I'm assuming the main issue you want to address is the slight gaping at the neckline? The shoulders also look a *tiny* touch wide (upper shoulder seam placement and small creasing under the arm). I have two thoughts initially, first would be to cut the upper bodice 1/2 to 1 size smaller and just grade out below that. The other thought is to place several small tucks along the neckline. Here's a good article http://www.sewnews.com/content_downloads/Fit_for_You_Hollow_Chest_May1999.pdf. I'm sure there are many others with much better advice; I've been sewing for many years but am just now starting to work toward fine tuning fit.
12/9/12 12:10 PM
MondoVox said...
I love this pattern and am so jealous every time someone makes it. Wish it came in my size but I'm not sure I could adjust it upward well enough. The details on this dress are what make it a looker.
12/18/12 0:27 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, looks great! Every version I've seen of this dress is wonderful; I think I must have this pattern!
12/18/12 9:20 AM
newmama said...
Love this dress! The collar and cuff details are really cute, and I like the dark blue you chose.
12/23/12 12:24 PM
jgmafpw said...
Great looking dress, very flattering!
12/27/12 4:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 244038-1003

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Butterick 5425

photo
by: Viviette

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now