Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 131 (Bonnie Blue Holly Jumper) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)
Review submitted in Sewing For Children Contest    printable version
Viewed 241 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR
About Sew Nannystarstarstar
MS USA
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/12 12:29 PM
Last Updated:1/11/14 11:43 AM
Project Photo:Other: 131 by Sew Nanny

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by Sew Nanny

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Fully lined Jumper/Dress and fully lined Play Suit for girls and boys.
Pattern Sizing:
12, 18 and 24 months; 3, 4, 5 and 6 years. I used a size 5 for my granddaughter who's in kindergarten. I should have used a size 4 as the 5 was 2-3 inches too long for her. That's what I get for not measuring her first. She wears a size 6X in RTW. I made an identical jumper in a size 4 and it fit her perfectly. These independent pattern makers do not run consistently in size like the Big 4.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, with added trim and applique.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Very easy, clear and straight forward. It's worth mentioning that this pattern uses 1/4" seams throughout.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love that the jumper is fully lined and that it goes together quickly. There are only 4 pattern pieces. The plain style is perfect for adding applique or machine embroidery designs and other embellishments. You really need to check the measurements on this pattern as it seems to run long, at least it was too long for my granddaughter.
Fabric Used:
Cotton fabric and lining.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added a row of trim with an appliqué by Olivia Anne Designs.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I'm sure I'll use this pattern many more times.
Conclusion:
This is an easy pattern that goes together quickly and allows the garment to be personalized and customized for any occasion.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
61sew4fun said...
Love the polka-a-dots and the adorable mouse, some little girl is going to be thrilled.
12/4/12 12:49 PM
Terri A said...
Super cute!
12/4/12 1:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Beautiful work! It is very high end looking.
12/4/12 2:53 PM
Holmar said...
Adorable jumper...so well made, it looks like something you would buy in an expensive children's boutique...I love it!
12/5/12 3:27 AM
gneebee said...
I'm not familiar with this pattern brand. Love the pattern and how you embellished it. Where did this pattern come from?
12/5/12 5:58 AM
Sew Nanny said...
Thanks for the nice comments! The pattern is made by Bonnie Blue Designs. She has a website and lives in Mississippi.
12/5/12 7:34 AM
cowgirlbb said...
This is darling and you did a terrific job. I am going to look into these patterns, thanks.
12/5/12 12:15 PM
ThreadsofFaith said...
How adorable! Your applique and trims are perfectly chosen and placed.
12/5/12 1:28 PM
SusanKW said...
Beautifully Made
12/5/12 3:29 PM
Ceidhle said...
Isn't sewing for grandchildren the most fun!! That little jumper is just darling.
12/5/12 7:40 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely ADORABLE jumper! I love your added embellishments. You have a very lucky granddaughter to be the recipient of your lovely sewn garments!
12/5/12 9:31 PM
busymomof3 said...
So cute!!
12/8/12 1:32 PM
ggf2005 said...
Cute!
12/9/12 11:21 PM
velosewer said...
I love the embellishment. So cute.
12/15/12 3:11 PM
cowgirlbb said...
Awww, too too cute. Love the color combo.
12/18/12 3:13 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Adorable!
12/27/12 4:42 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is gorgeous!! Looks like a dress one would pay upwards of $50 for in a kids boutique!!
12/28/12 1:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2005-117 Moto jacket
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5415
photo
Review by Anniinbc on 12/20/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Library Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3506 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us