SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8623 (CASUAL)

4 more reviews
Viewed 660 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/12 10:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Annette, please put this one in the closet and pull it out later. I think you will feel differently about it. Truly, it is beautifully sewn, and I love the simple closure of the pendant. The lining is so gorgeous, as is the color of the jacket. It looks much better than you feel it does; I promise! Bernard looked at the photo and said that he doesn't see a thing wrong with it! :-)
12/5/12 11:05 PM
MondoVox said...
I LOVE this jacket! But I do know how you feel. As a busty gal myself, sometimes I feel like swingy or boxy things are bigger than they are. This jacket is beautiful. I can only hope that my own jacket project turns out this well. The picture frame collar is a good look on you.
12/5/12 11:47 PM
MondoVox said...
Sorry, looks like my double clicking posted twice and delete is not an option.
12/5/12 11:47 PM
michellep74 said...
I agree with the others--this one might need to sit and marinate in your closet for a bit. It's easy to feel that way when something doesn't turn out the way that we were picturing it.
12/6/12 0:52 AM
SewWil said...
I have to go along with everyone else on this one. I looked at your pictures before reading your review and thought what a lovely jacket. Please give it a second chance. I don't think you will regret it. Put it away for a while and take it out at a later date.
12/6/12 0:58 AM
Joan in NM said...
The jacket is lovely, but I agree that it doesn't fit or hang correctly on you. I think there might be two problems. First, I think the fabric might be too light for the pattern and since it kind of "floats" that contributes to the shapeless look. I also think that it is at least one size too large on you in the shoulders but probably too small in the bust. Your review doesn't mention doing a FBA or a sway back adjustment (seemingly unnecessary...ha!), but the jackets you have made with your own adjustments fit much better. The Vogue D size wasn't drafted for you! (Or me either, and now I know! I'm an Elomi F.) If the bust area is actually too small, that is also contributing to it riding up rather than pulling because of the style. What a bummer! Especially so because the fabrics are lovely. Thanks for the review, I really do appreciate it. P.S. I looked at the pattern diagrams again and I am suspicious of the grading, too. The shape of the D pieces suggests that the fullness is distributed in the upper bust, and, well, no one I know is built like that without a push-up bra!
12/6/12 1:50 AM
Renata said...
When I clicked on the photo I thought WOW, what a spectacular jacket. I was therefore so disappointed to read you didn't like it, to put it mildly, and I can understand how you feel. But I agree with Christas, put it away for a while. I think it looks gorgeous.
12/6/12 2:47 AM
sfshaza said...
I clicked the picture before reading your review and I thought it looked nice so I was surprised to see how much you hate it. After reading your review and the comments, I went back and clicked the picture again. Now that I'm alerted to the issues, I can see what you mean - it could fit you better. But, really, it isn't so bad. The color is fabulous on you and you've found another fabulous pin to wear with it. I agree with the others... put it in the closet for a little while and maybe it will grow on you. If not, donate it, because it's beautifully made and has a lovely lining and someone will love it!!
12/6/12 7:23 AM
cmarie12 said...
Annette, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the jacket. This is one of my favs and I'm surprised that I haven't made it again. That being said, I used a much heavier tweed for it and wear it with a turtleneck or a wool crepe dress with it buttoned up. If you don't like it you should let it go and give the pattern away, because nothing we say will make it better. However, it is pretty in red! :)
12/6/12 9:48 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I understand the bit about being too loose to love. I know for my height I can't get away with extra loose clothes anywhere. But, save that collar style. It really frames your face well.
12/6/12 10:45 AM
miausiau said...
Several Easy Vogues with no photos have disappointed me. Put some white fur on the edges and you're set for a party.
12/6/12 12:17 PM
Barbara V said...
Well Annette, it just isn't as bad as you feel about it!!!! However, I do respect and admire your take on it and understand some of the points you make. I do agree that the lighter weight fabric worked out nicely for the back pleats; however for collar structure it was not quite enough. I really like how your opening of the collar frames your face and that is a complimentary style detail that you can be sure to use again. As for your "blasting" of the rest of it - O.K., well we all have sewn our "not so perfect garments", but oh well, chaulk it up to experience, appreciate the completion of another garment whether you end of wearing it or sending it out in the world for someone else to use. Oh, another positive - you look fabulous in red.
12/6/12 12:30 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I agree with the others - red is definitely your color and I was very surprised to read that you weren't pleased with the finished jacket. I especially love the back pleats. We are our own harshest critics, aren't we?!
12/6/12 2:53 PM
BeaJay said...
It is a shame you don't like your jacket. Like some others I clicked on the picture first and though WOW - lovely. However if you don't like it then you won't feel good in it.
12/6/12 3:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Ha! THANKS everybody, you're all so SWEET. Fear not, though, I'm not worried about the jacket! I had fun making it, and I'll move on to the next project, WHICH I'M ALREADY CONTEMPLATING -- ha! Thanks so much for your kind words. :o)
12/6/12 4:17 PM
MondoVox said...
If you do donate it, as suggested by one of the others, I know a great place that would love to have it. (my closet ;-)
12/6/12 7:13 PM
Karendee said...
Oh my, Annette. I hate that you are not pleased with the gorgeous red jacket, for the color and neckline are perfect for showing off your coloring and neck. But I will agree that it looks a bit large, especially on your right side (our left looking at you.) I say you'd need to go down at least one size on this jacket. But you still would look good wearing it. Hope you enjoyed the process , as you said.
12/6/12 7:19 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
The color of this fabric is gorgeous against your face. I agree with others. Put it away for awhile until the creativity bug bites you. If you can't salvage the style, maybe you can create something else with it. You look to good in this color to throw this fabric out.
12/6/12 7:46 PM
sewtime said...
I also love your jacket!!
12/6/12 8:16 PM
annie11 said...
It's the perfect color on you, and in the photos it looks really stylish! Your broach makes it look downright elegant. I think that we all have projects that turn out different than we are expecting, and it just takes some time to readjust our brains. Great work as always!
12/6/12 8:22 PM
Cuffs said...
Outside of the upper chest area, I don't even think it looks too big. But that's me liking the loose style. I love the way it hangs flat in the front, and full and billowy in the back, and has just a little extra swing at the hips. I think you could alter the upper chest area easily enough. It really is a gorgeous jacket.
12/6/12 8:27 PM
becca a said...
I hate when I finish sewing something and realize that I just don't like the fit or feel of it--so frustrating. That said, the color is lovely on you and your sewing is exquisite. The look on your face says how you feel, though.
12/6/12 10:21 PM
KatC83 said...
It is beautifully sewn, and a lovely colour. You've got that right! I understand the frustration about sewing something shapeless though (have experienced this myself, lately). It doesn't look as bad as you possibly feel, but it's sad when you've put the effort in and aren't happy. The jacket itself is gorgeous though!
12/7/12 2:06 AM
kkkkaty said...
It looks great on you, love the collar, frames your face very nicely. Color is wonderful also
12/7/12 3:56 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous jacket!. Beautifully sewn and such a lovely colour.
12/7/12 4:03 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I went straight online and picked this up after seeing yours and reading about Carolyn's version and learning it was oop. I agree with the ones that said magic closet OR donate (like to my closet). Lol! It's very pretty.
12/7/12 5:44 PM
1SewSweet said...
Annette, I totally agree with Carolyn (cmarie)...the top button would help hold the collar up the way it stands in the envelope photo. While I and the others here think this is a great jacket on you, it means nothing if you don't feel good in it! Try it with the buttoned collar first and if that doesn't change your mind, then move on to the next project and let this one go! Good luck!
12/8/12 9:35 AM
carolynw said...
Hi Annette - when I clicked on the photo I thought OMG - am so totally in love with this so I was very surprised to read how disappointed (to put it nicely) you are with this - I think you should put it in the think cupboard and take it out later - you may be surprised. Recently did that myself and when I tried on the jacket could not think of why I had not liked it - could be my memory but it really looks fine now so give it a try. It may not fit as well as your other jackets but it sure looks good on you
12/8/12 11:17 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look fabulous in this color, Annette! I am sorry that you are not fond of this jacket, although I see jackets similar to yours trending now. "They make their sleeve length as long as the inseam on their pants" gave me a chuckle, and this is so true with even non-Vogues that I worked with. Leave this jacket in your "magical" closet...Maybe you will see it in a new light. But anyways, you wear anything with pizzazz!
12/8/12 12:14 PM
wimmie said...
It really is a beautiful jacket. Try giving to a close person in your life, and then count how many times you tell yourself wow, I wish I had keep it. good luck.
12/8/12 1:46 PM
bebro said...
I think it looks lovely on you. But i know what you mean, if it doesnt FEEL right, it wont look good to you. I agree with Chistas, put it aside and try it on again later!
12/8/12 8:17 PM
Margaret said...
I'm so sorry to hear you don't like it! I think it looks nice on you, but if the balance isn't right I know that can be endlessly annoying.
12/9/12 5:12 PM
4u2cme said...
I made this jacket and I love it! I think it looks very nice on you. I hope you like it better in the future.
8/2/13 9:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now