Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1320 (Misses' Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 671 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/12 1:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $35.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
Great review...I have the fabric for this pattern so I appreciate your tips. Those durn kitties...LOL...your repair looks great. Nice coat!
12/22/12 1:40 PM
BeaJay said...
What a great coat. Looks cosy and very well made. A lovely result. Great colour too.
12/22/12 4:20 PM
miausiau said...
This has been a very popular coat pattern. Others have commented on the odd construction as well. I think it looks expertly done. I've been buying warm coat lining from EOS, and seems of good quality.
12/22/12 4:59 PM
Renata said...
I like the line of that coat, casual yet elegant. I would love it even more if our 30 degree temp was F and not C. Gotta luv them cats!
12/22/12 9:54 PM
Elona said...
Nikki, your work is beautiful!
12/22/12 9:57 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful coat, thanks for the tip on the felting needles. love those buttonholes too :)
12/23/12 9:34 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Your buttonholes look great. Coat looks much much nicer than pattern photo. Great job
12/23/12 2:13 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Absolutely lovely! I did not think there was anyone out there still using horsehair canvas as I do! This is truly a haute couture piece. The shape is fantastic, and the drape. I am glad you perservered despite the challenges such as the collar and the kitty (excellent repair job btw, I would never have known of the altercation)! For what it is worth, Miyake's designs are always unusual; bits and pieces in unexpected places or asymmetrical parts. It makes for interesting designs. I have made up a few of his designs and feel really special in them. Again, lovely coat! Enjoy wearing it!
12/23/12 4:03 PM
roseisarose said...
Your coat looks great. I just finished my muslin for this pattern, and there is a lot of bunching in the back shoulder. I noticed this happens some in your and several other finished versions of this coat. Any tips on how to get rid of some of the excess fabric there? Since it happens where three pieces come together, I'm not sure how to take it in.
12/28/12 7:39 PM
Nikki said...
Rose, I think the extra fabric at the armscye is due to the pattern design with the yoke and the unusual sleeves. I'm not sure that it could be easily adjusted...
12/29/12 10:39 AM
roseisarose said...
Nikki, thanks for the reply. I have excess fabric in the back as well. I'm thinking of putting darts in the back and back of the yoke. Maybe that will fix some of the extra fabric I have in arm scythe. If it works I will post again. Thanks again for the great pattern review.
12/29/12 6:28 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous red coat and great review.
2/23/14 6:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2004-136 Tops, Trousers
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 11/22/04
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by Nancywin on 3/22/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us