SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2290 (Child's, Teens' & Adults' Pants)

9 more reviews
Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/12 1:33 PM
Last Updated:7/1/14 11:53 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2290 by Mufffet

Simplicity: 2290 by Mufffet  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2290
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Flannel  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE 2014: I still love this pattern! After several years I am still using it to sew jammies once a year - these lounging jammies are great. I updated the photo because for the second year in a row I made three pair! One each for two grandsons and one for DDIL! She loves 'em too.

Pattern Description:
Either jammie pants or casual around-the-home pants. Actually the fit is better than in my photo! The kids love them long and roomy. I love this pattern.

Pattern Sizing:
It goes from childs 23-24 chest to adult 46-48 chest. Pattern sized as Size A XS-L/XS-XL and it is a Learn to Sew pattern. I used the child's large.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, indeed, though I used no drawstrings.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
They were easy to follow. Lay out is extra simple.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I LOVE that it is a one piece pattern. SO easy if you have nice wide cotton flannel. I made three pair of pants out of the six yards I bought, and had quite a nice length left over. And I bought a light blue plaid because it was so darned hard to find appropriate flannel at Hancock's for boys who weren't tiny ones.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not do a drawstring - I don't like them, and I instead did an elastic waist. I was trying to fit two boys who are two years apart and the waists aren't the same, but I did manage a size that fits them both. ;)

Would you sew it again?
I intend to sew this again - probably for myself and see if I can get a fit, and then for some other sizes in the family. It would be so comfy to have a couple of pairs of these. UPDATE: I have sewn them several years now and they are always a terrific project - easy and fast and wearable.

Conclusion:
LOVE the pattern, so glad I bought it - look for a terrific sale on it at your local Hancock's or JAs. Get it before they take it off the market - you never know - so hard to find the one piece patterns with no side seaming. And YES, I totally recommend it!

Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
They look nice and warm and comfy. A pattern without side seams is a treasure indeed, but sometimes it is hard to tell before you buy the pattern.
12/27/12 3:42 PM
Mufffet said...
Freya - yes it is. There is no text to let one know on most patterns of this sort, so it was a nice surprise.
12/27/12 6:13 PM
Maia B said...
THANK YOU for stating it has no side seams!!! I've been searching for one without, as my older son is currently too small for S9871, which I use for adults, and Butterick 4006 the kids' one piece pj pattern I use. I've looked at tons of pj patterns and reviews, and this is the first review I found that makes this clear, so helpful!
12/28/12 4:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Next pattern sale I'm stashing that pattern. All those sizes in a one seam pattern -wonderful to have around for jammies.
12/28/12 8:08 AM
sewfrequent said...
Mufffet, will definitely take your advice and get this one before its gone! I much prefer a one-seam pattern like this and an opportunity to use novelty prints!
12/29/12 6:35 PM
Mufffet said...
Sorry about that paragraph in bold...sigh. Well thanks for the nice comments folks, and really - NICE pattern. :)
12/29/12 8:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
These look great - I've made something similar and they do like them roomy and comfortable. Well done.
12/30/12 0:46 AM
Warbler said...
Great review! I think DH would love a pair!
12/30/12 9:42 PM
nicegirl said...
Look like the perfect pajama pants! Nothing is cozier than flannel in the winter.
1/2/13 11:22 AM
lgrande said...
These look nice and easy to do; however, I HAVE to have pockets in any pants I wear. I realize that without side seams there can be no side pockets - it's a deal breaker for me.
12/15/13 9:05 AM
Mufffet said...
You can always add patch pockets! ;)
12/16/13 11:03 AM
Violet01 said...
Another pattern with no side seams (AND ITS FREE) is simplicity 0501. Check the Simplicity site and look under "Classroom & Free Projects" then "Sewing 101". The pattern covers XS to XL (Hip 31"/79cm to 49"/124cm). I have also slashed down the side and inserted pockets. Hubby has 4 pairs to date and I'm not done yet. Warning - that pattern runs really big!
7/2/14 4:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Neue Mode 22671

photo
by: clothingen...

Review