SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2290 (Child's, Teens' & Adults' Pants)

11 more reviews
Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mufffetstarstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/12 1:33 PM
Last Updated:7/1/14 11:53 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2290 by Mufffet

Simplicity: 2290 by Mufffet  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2290
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Flannel  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE 2014: I still love this pattern! After several years I am still using it to sew jammies once a year - these lounging jammies are great. I updated the photo because for the second year in a row I made three pair! One each for two grandsons and one for DDIL! She loves 'em too.

Pattern Description:
Either jammie pants or casual around-the-home pants. Actually the fit is better than in my photo! The kids love them long and roomy. I love this pattern.

Pattern Sizing:
It goes from childs 23-24 chest to adult 46-48 chest. Pattern sized as Size A XS-L/XS-XL and it is a Learn to Sew pattern. I used the child's large.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, indeed, though I used no drawstrings.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
They were easy to follow. Lay out is extra simple.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I LOVE that it is a one piece pattern. SO easy if you have nice wide cotton flannel. I made three pair of pants out of the six yards I bought, and had quite a nice length left over. And I bought a light blue plaid because it was so darned hard to find appropriate flannel at Hancock's for boys who weren't tiny ones.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not do a drawstring - I don't like them, and I instead did an elastic waist. I was trying to fit two boys who are two years apart and the waists aren't the same, but I did manage a size that fits them both. ;)

Would you sew it again?
I intend to sew this again - probably for myself and see if I can get a fit, and then for some other sizes in the family. It would be so comfy to have a couple of pairs of these. UPDATE: I have sewn them several years now and they are always a terrific project - easy and fast and wearable.

Conclusion:
LOVE the pattern, so glad I bought it - look for a terrific sale on it at your local Hancock's or JAs. Get it before they take it off the market - you never know - so hard to find the one piece patterns with no side seaming. And YES, I totally recommend it!

Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Violet01 said...
Another pattern with no side seams (AND ITS FREE) is simplicity 0501. Check the Simplicity site and look under "Classroom & Free Projects" then "Sewing 101". The pattern covers XS to XL (Hip 31"/79cm to 49"/124cm). I have also slashed down the side and inserted pockets. Hubby has 4 pairs to date and I'm not done yet. Warning - that pattern runs really big!
7/2/14 4:25 PM
Mufffet said...
You can always add patch pockets! ;)
12/16/13 11:03 AM
lgrande said...
These look nice and easy to do; however, I HAVE to have pockets in any pants I wear. I realize that without side seams there can be no side pockets - it's a deal breaker for me.
12/15/13 9:05 AM
nicegirl said...
Look like the perfect pajama pants! Nothing is cozier than flannel in the winter.
1/2/13 11:22 AM
Warbler said...
Great review! I think DH would love a pair!
12/30/12 9:42 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
These look great - I've made something similar and they do like them roomy and comfortable. Well done.
12/30/12 0:46 AM
Mufffet said...
Sorry about that paragraph in bold...sigh. Well thanks for the nice comments folks, and really - NICE pattern. :)
12/29/12 8:20 PM
sewfrequent said...
Mufffet, will definitely take your advice and get this one before its gone! I much prefer a one-seam pattern like this and an opportunity to use novelty prints!
12/29/12 6:35 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Next pattern sale I'm stashing that pattern. All those sizes in a one seam pattern -wonderful to have around for jammies.
12/28/12 8:08 AM
Maia B said...
THANK YOU for stating it has no side seams!!! I've been searching for one without, as my older son is currently too small for S9871, which I use for adults, and Butterick 4006 the kids' one piece pj pattern I use. I've looked at tons of pj patterns and reviews, and this is the first review I found that makes this clear, so helpful!
12/28/12 4:18 AM
Mufffet said...
Freya - yes it is. There is no text to let one know on most patterns of this sort, so it was a nice surprise.
12/27/12 6:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
They look nice and warm and comfy. A pattern without side seams is a treasure indeed, but sometimes it is hard to tell before you buy the pattern.
12/27/12 3:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member